We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Spot for Texas Scenery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palo Duro Canyon State Park

Palo Duro Canyon State Park
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A dramatic 60-mile long and 800-foot deep canyon noted for its excellent hiking, birding, fishing and mountain biking.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
201 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Top Spot for Texas Scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Any trip to the Texas Panhandle area is incomplete without seeing the Palo Duro Canyon. No ... it's not THE Grand Canyon, but it's spectacular in its own right and well worth the time to go see. Driving through is easy (during the off season) and you see a lot from your car.

We recommend the jeep tour to complement what you can see on your own. And we recommend going in the off season to avoid the spring/summer crowds.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank SidMonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,006
    317
    61
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Passing through Texas we detoured south of Amarillo to check out this state park and were so glad we did! It really is a beautiful piece of nature with sweeping views and much to offer a nature lover. I wish we could have stayed longer. There is so much to explore! Little wary of snakes, though!

Helpful?
Thank Butterfly_n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Esther, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A beautiful treasure that's rough around the edges”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Palo Duro canyon is an amazing place. Quiet, peaceful, magical. The hiking trails are sublime and there are great places to camp. However, there is some construction going on now that, while will ultimately improve the place, takes a bit of the beauty away. Regardless, for those travelling through the area or locals who have never been there, Palo Duro canyon is a great escape from the boring flatness of the Texas panhandle.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank im_justin_sane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Hill, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hiking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

WOW !!!!! my first trip here and I hope not my last I don't have to many words to describe how I felt. Small like an ant in the in the vast expanse of this great universe. they have camping areas, and years old cow cabins to stay in, and multiple hiking trails, and the view well there are no words for that at all. you just must see to believe.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JuanitaRidgway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUBBOCK, TX
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a beautiful canyon, especially for West Texas - being so flat. Make sure you stop at the visitor's center and look around, and then when you drive down into the canyon, you can stop and look around in the amphitheatre - which is pretty neat also. We also stopped along the road (not sure where it is) and did just a short 15 min hike up into a cave that you can see from the road. We were not expecting to hike, but it was nice to get out and stretch your legs and get the more outdoorsy feel.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nii92002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palo Duro Canyon State Park also viewed

 

Been to Palo Duro Canyon State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing