We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ultimate Texas Out-of-doors experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palo Duro Canyon State Park

Palo Duro Canyon State Park
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A dramatic 60-mile long and 800-foot deep canyon noted for its excellent hiking, birding, fishing and mountain biking.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ultimate Texas Out-of-doors experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great hiking trails, mountain biking for the moderate/novice is do-able. Didn't expect to gasp for air so badly in some areas wondering if I'd trained hard enough for this, but perhaps it's pressure changes in certain areas because theses spells lasted less than 1/4mile. Carried 1.5L/h20 per person and did fine from 9a-2p with a stop for a small packed lunch on the trail. Photography potential is phenomenal. Camping was great fun, too hot for a fire at 106degrees. Makes ice seem like a gold commodity. Pay attention to park hours, no admit after 10pm, not alot of food options around but there is one store with food/snacks/ice/souvenirs in the park open normal business hours. Sunscreen, a good hat, camelback for water and a snack on hand at all times is necessary. Flies bite too, maybe some spray, they're worse in the afternoons. Park fee is minimal per person.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bronzepalmtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,010
    317
    61
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wells, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Palo Duro Canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The only place I know that when you are driving down the road and the Earth just cracks open to show you her secrets! Wonderful place to visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NessaTRue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

They offer horseback riding tours in the mornings in the summer. The schedule changes throughout the year. We hiked approximately 6 miles in the heat of the day and never really broke a sweat. And I was in jeans. Don't forget water.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beauty to Rival Grand Canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The colors are magnificent, it is a large canyon (second largest in North America) and there is plenty of hiking, biking, picnicking and camping. There is also just sitting and looking at the awesome beauty of a canyon. It is referred to by some as "Spanish Skirts" since the colors are graduated from the bottom up. Lots of family things to do.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wiggintonpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harahan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Who Knew?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

You haven't been to Amarillo unless you have been to Palo Duro Canyon. Neither my husband nor I had ever heard of this canyon let alone that it is the 2nd largest canyon in the US. That's right. Right behind Grand canyon is Palo Duro. If you go to/through Amarillo, you MUST detour 30 minutes and see this magnificent natural wonder. You're driving along farmland, plains when all of a sudden the earth opens up to a whole world below. Albeit no where near as vast as the Grand Canyon, it's splendor is exceptional in the various colors, flora and fauna around. It's large enough to feel swallowed up by the beautiful walls of rock yet small enough to explore in a couple of hours, though I could see how hikers, bikers could enjoy a few days in this wonderland. Although there is a steep grade, we managed to traverse to the bottom even in our 33 foot RV. We didn't spend the night here but you can in a tent or cabin and there are hooks ups for RV. You will not be disappointed even with a $5 per person charge. Nice informative but small visitor's center. Leave the interstate and check this out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank khdonaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palo Duro Canyon State Park also viewed

 

Been to Palo Duro Canyon State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing