We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as expected, very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canyon
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Canyon
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I had planned our trip down to the mile and this was the perfect location for us.
The room was large, and laid out nicely. The AC worked great, Check in was easy, they had a breakfast but we were in a rush to get back on the road. Pool looked great but did not get in it. Would not hesitate in staying here again at all.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkroberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 209 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel looks a bit old on the outside but has been recently renovated on the inside. The rooms had nice furnishings and the breakfast was pretty typical for Holiday Inn Express. The location to the WTAMU campus was the best thing about this hotel as we were in Canyon to attend new student orientation and the hotel was only a couple of blocks from campus. The only real surprise during my stay was when I tried to check out, I waited several minutes at the front desk but no employee ever came out to wait on me. It was about 8:00am so I was surprised that the front desk was left unattended. Anyway, I left without the benefit of receiving a receipt.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wajames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This was a great place to stay just up the road from Palo Duro Canyon. Staff was friendly, rooms were very clean, AC worked great! We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cm1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed here for two nights with family. The hotel is very clean. The rooms were spacious and the beds were nice. It is only 14 miles from Palo Duro Canyon which was the reason for the trip. While staying here, don't pass up the opportunity to see the play, Texas, in the canyons. You won't be disappointed. Great bar and grill next door with excellent food and friendly staff. If you need to visit Wal-Mart, it is close by.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank rrteacherCadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

This is a great hotel for the value. The rooms are large, new and clean. There is a small fitness center and a large indoor pool.

We had room service delivered from the near by Tex-Mex Restaurant.

The breakfast in the morning was plentiful and sufficient-- the cinnamon rolls are good!

Overall a great experience and would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Palo Duro Canyon. Canyon is also close to Amarillo and the I-40.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barcatravelerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Walked into room and said "Wow." It was a large room, nicely painted with an accent wall. Great bed! Best night's sleep on our whole trip! Typical breakfast, love the cinnamon rolls! Friendly desk and easy check-in. They are remodeling and are doing a great job if our room is any indication.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Even if this hotel is very well located to visit Palo Duro Canyon, we had a bad surprise! We spent 3 nights overthere and when we moved to Santa Fe I realized thet one of my piece of clothing had disappeared. We called them just to know if they found iit and the answer was no. We travel a lot and each time we leave an hotel, I check the room to see if nothing is left. It is the first time that happens......

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porphyrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palo Duro Canyon Inn & Suites
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South
14.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
14.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canyon

Address: 2901 4th Ave, Canyon, TX 79015-4248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Canyon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Canyon
Price Range: $100 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway to Palo Duri Canyon. Winner of 2009 Best of Canyon Award for 2 consecutive years. Brand new look, same great service! Let the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Canyon show you what 'Great, Texas Hospitality' is all about at our beautiful hotel located in Canyon, Texas. Canyon is a Texas Main Street City. Palo Duro State Park is located 12 miles from our hotel, this is the 2nd largest Canyon in the US, with hiking, biking, horseback riding trails, Jeep rides, and cowboy breakfast on the rim of canyon. It is also the home of the 'Texas outdoor musical drama. There are also many tourist attractions within walking distance, including the Panhandle Plains Historical Museum, which is one of the largest historical museums in the state of Texas. West Texas A&M University is located within one block of the hotel. The WTAMU Event Center is located within two blocks of the hotel. Two eighteen hole golf courses within 10 miles. Amarillo, Texas is approximately 18 miles offering American Quarter Horse Museum, Cadillac Ranch, PRCA Rodeo, Ranch Rodeo, Wonderland Park, Discovery Center, Splash Water Park, Sports World and major shopping malls. Downtown Amarillo is approximately 20 miles from the hotel on I-27. Excellent hunting areas are close by. Buffalo Southwest Café is located directly next door. Visit Canyon, TX and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canyon Hotel Canyon
Holiday Inn Canyon
Canyon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing