We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dairy Palace

Dairy Palace
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Canton
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since 1984, Dairy Palace has been a casual, family-friendly, family-owned restaurant in Canton, Texas, home of the world-famous First Monday Trade Days. We're open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and serve breakfast, lunch and dinner, and over 32 flavors of Blue Bell ice cream all day long. Come visit us before work, on a road trip, after the game, or for a midnight snack!
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
“Just Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I have eaten here a lot in the past 10 years as I have travelled through Canton. I must say I was a little disappointed at the quality of food I was served this time. Not sure I will go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JC J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    70
    36
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edgewood, Texas
1 review
“Worst restaurant in east Texas”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We used to love this place! The food used to be cooked exceptionally! The employment was beyond friendly. Unfortunately, it has went downhill. A lot of the people that worked there during the last year no longer work there. You can see a change in atmosphere. The food is drenched in grease. Either comes overcooked or undercooked. The bathroom is never clean and the food never comes out fresh! Will never eat there again! Hell, they even mess up the shakes! All you taste is ice and milk. Majority of the time it comes out way to thin. If you can go to Denny's. At least your food will be fresh.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kokokokokokoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Favorite Family Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stop here regularly when traveling to visit family, so we've probably eaten here at least 20 times.

Pros:
- Family-friendly atmosphere with games the kids love to play
- Good food at reasonable prices
- Blue Bell ice cream
- Convenient location
- Supportive of military members

Cons
- This is no secret dive (it's always busy, even late at night!)
- Bathrooms are SMALL

They have a varied menu. I haven't tried everything, but my favorites are the bison burger and the BLT. If you really want to splurge, have a Blue Bell shake.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigTxDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I love this place. Its a fav for Cantonites & 1st Monday folk.
Open 24/7 & offers breakfast,lunch or dinner anytime.
Beware it gets very crowded esp during football season & 1st Monday.
The beef is locally raised & perfectly prepared.
The food is great. The service is wonderful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liljc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport
Level Contributor
112 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

At Exit 526 on I-20, this one-of-a-kind, curious place is worth a stop. Go for a burger and some Blue Bell. I'll skip the onion rings next time ... that old-grease taste lasted for hours. The men's restroom wasn't very clean. Would I stop again? Sure.

Dr. Scott says: Check out this Texas local favorite.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FSK-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dairy Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing