We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Buttermilk's

Buttermilk's
Ranked #2 of 73 Restaurants in Canton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We were in Canton for First Monday, so we figured every restaurant would be packed, and we weren't mistaken. Our innkeeper suggested Buttermilk's and advised us to go early to beat the crowds. We also discovered that if you go late, you run the risk that they may be out of certain menu options. The food was incredible. We had a hamburger and a chicken fried steak, and our only regret was that we simply could not eat dessert. The place was packed, but it's a quaint country-style diner. The service was excellent, even with the crowds. If you're looking for cloth table linens and a maitre'd, this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for great food, a welcoming environment, and fast service, then Buttermilk's is the place for you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    38
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great find in East Texas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were looking for something new to try on our way to pick up kids from camp in East Texas and decided to give Buttermilk's a try after reading reviews. We were not disappointed! Chicken fried chicken with fried okra was excellent. Buttermilk pie was awesome! We will be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Foursome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
171 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Y'all Come for chicken fried ... (Fooled Ya) .. Chicken!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

OK, so it's almost a must at every small town TX restaurant i.e., chicken fried steak - but y'all - a changeroo - this "just like grandma's" restaurant features CHICKEN FRIED CHICKEN. Very tasty large portion, with good gravy and mashed potatoes. We also had the beef with gravy and that gravy was super yum! Now, another side was the house salad, nice fresh veggies and I believe home-made bleu cheese dressing. For me ambiance and presentation really counts ... Buttermilks delivers with turquoise colored jars decorated with burlap and filled with fresh babies breath. AW!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inclusion-equity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GAVE IT A TRY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Buttermilks is fast becoming a very popular hang out for hungry patrons especially at the lunch hour. Food gets raving reviews among town folks.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home cooking done by Chefs that uses local produce.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is a very friendly place. We go weekly and each time order a different meal. Never had a bad choice. The staff and owner are super nice. Get there early and enjoy. I tells everyone coming to Canton. This is must stop place on the list...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buttermilk's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing