We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total dump / owner has no integrity”
Review of Super 8 Canton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Canton
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Canton
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Total dump / owner has no integrity”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Don't make the same mistake I made, I read the other reviews and stayed here anyway! BIG MISTAKE. The room was a dump, it was what I refer to as a "polished turd". A little paint and patch work here and there. The owner / manager would not honor their own policy of a 24 hr cancellation for my final night. Total lack of integrity. I got the run-around from customer service also. The desk clerk said to call customer service, customer service said see the desk clerk. I will never stay in a Super 8 or any other Wyndam Property again. The price for my business was a minimal $60!! Pretty sad in a poor economy. If you read this review and stay in the place, shame on you. Only positive note is that desk clerk and housekeeping were friendly, they just appeared to have no authority to follow policy. It had to be done by the manager/owner, who was conveniently MIA at all times.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0uthernTraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    32
    22
    39
See reviews for
41
27
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 10, 2012

wet floors from room next door odor in both rooms down or on first floor ! needs remodling . rooms need checking . the rooms on second floor cleaner and smell better they also look better!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Louisiana
Level Contributor
290 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Room was clean and pleasant. Bed and A/C was good. Someone's kids ran the 3rd floor hall until after 1 am. Calls to front desk returned a "so sorry, I'm by myself". After that, rest was good. Seems that clerk could have managed some means to corral guest's kids during bedtime hours.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenfrogtrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

A friend and I ended up staying here in a pinch. Booked it on Hotwire and found that the price was for 1 king bed. Even tho there was only about 8 rooms taken staff wasn't very helpful in getting us two beds. Room was clean but dumpy. Guess you can't complain for under $60. Breakfast was included and we also had a microwave and mini fridge in the room. Not much else to say about it really.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finnegan9107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I recently went to Canton, TX for meeting at the Civic Center. A friend told us that he was staying at the Super 8 motel. We were running late for the meeting, so we checked into the Super 8 motel and went to the meeting without checking out our room. When we finally got to our room, it was disgusting. It was very dirty. I'm okay with things being old or outdated, but this was nasty. ( I would have slept in my car before I would have slept in that bed!) We had already paid for two nights. So we asked for a refund for the second night and just took a loss on the first night. We ended up at the Best Western which wasn't fancy, but very clean. Our friend did stay at the Super 8, which really makes me question his judgement!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canton
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Canton
Motel 6 Canton
#3 of 6 in Canton
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Canton Inn
20.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Near Cedar Creek Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Emory at Lake Fork Inn & Suites
23.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gun Barrel City
21.9 mi away
Best Western Mineola Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Canton

Property: Super 8 Canton
Address: 17350 Interstate 20, I-20 & Highway 19, Canton, TX 75103-3559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Canton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Canton 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing