We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good wine, ok food!”

Savannah Winery & Bistro
Ranked #27 of 73 Restaurants in Canton
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: TEL# 903-567-6810
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good wine, ok food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

The wine is good and that's about it. The food wasn't all that great. I had the meatloaf. It was overdone, like it had been in the stove all night keeping warm. We also had the bruschetta, which was gross. It was just Ragu sauce over some bread. Our waitress was new and ditzy ! I probably wouldn't eat here again. I would just come back and drink the wine only.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richdeblove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“"Special" seafood”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I had the evening's special on my second (and last) visit to this frightfully overpriced cafe. The blackened tilapia turned out to be the same Sam's Wholesale Club entrees we have had many times at home. It's good....for frozen home fare. The price at the Savannah was $12.95. No I could not get tthe server to admit it was Sam's, but she did admit it was boxed, frozen pre-seasoned filets. They also sell Texas wines....again good....but not worth 5 times the grocery store price.

Helpful?
Thank farout75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An excellent find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Expecting little in the way of excellent food and wine on an early
Saturday morning, we were blown away by the excellent hamburger and the full array of wines that were offered. Canton Tx is a small town that has grown because of First Monday Trade Days. Fast food is the norm. This restaurant is a true find. High recommends to the staff and the proprietor.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovemytravels72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Oak, Texas
1 review
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Three menu items selected.
Burger was full of gristle, dry and chewy It was rare although medium well was requested.
The grilled chicken salad had MAYBE a 1/2 cup of greens with dry, tasteless chicken, a measly amount of veggies and fruits, NO nuts (as advertised) and NO salad dressing. (items were to go so we were without dressing and not inclined to head back just for dressing)
The Monte Cristo sandwich was merely an overpriced, greasy, soggy grilled ham and cheese. NO raspberry jam.............what's a Monte Cristo without the jam? A grilled ham and cheese.
Locals suggested the Dairy Palace...........we should have listened!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Secret on the Mountain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

A well kept secret in Canton is Savannah Winery& Bistro.Not only do the serve yummie wine but their secret is Chef Todd,he is a jewel within the crown!We had tolopia and mauimaui that was to die for! The presentation was excellant and the wine to go with sealed the entire dinner,I popped in today for lunch and the patty melt with bowtie pasta with tomatoes and asparugus with grapes and strawberries that melted in your mouth.Ed and Flo are the owners and add such a wonderful color of fun and mahem to your visit!Saturday is steak night and thats a whole nother adventure.This weekend is Canton weekend go shop and then have a wonderful lunch or dinner at Savannahs tell them Debbie sent you!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IslaholicIslamujeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah Winery & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Savannah Winery & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing