We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average this time”

Ochoa's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 75 Restaurants in Canton
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: 903-567-3373
Restaurant details
Description: 903-567-3373
detroit, texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“average this time”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

food was ok. pico/salsa had a fresh taste. plates came out hot and looked fine but food just seemed a little bland. street tacos were my favorite, the sides were just not as good. we have been here a few times before during first monday trade days and thought the food was better then.
The roof seemed to have a couple of leaks as water dripped on the floor near our table, so it may be time for a little upgrade. the service was fine. we will probably give this one more chance.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texasdetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    33
    16
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We miss our Houston Tex mex”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Face it refried beans can be screwed up. Here they use them as paste to glue the taco salad to the plate.

Stale salad tortilla and the chicken fajita looked old. I think we are spoiled to gringos and iguana joes.

Service wAs great and the sitting is nice compared to the walking we did.

Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great service and food ain't bad!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Ate lunch here on our recent visit to Canton. Haven't been here in a while but the service was amazing and the lunch plate was great. Complimentary pico when we sat down...It was great. The waiter was very friendly and we will definately be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yuck....busy, kids, poor food”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Not going here again. Just not worth the trip. Open place with kids running around. Food was slow to arrive and tasteless. Too many other places to eat to give this a second chance

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Where local eat and it's cheap”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Locals eat here. It's cheap and good. I don't particularly like their sopapillas. Nice selection of lighter Mexican food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LDIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ochoa's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ochoa's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing