We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad Given the Alternatives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Canton
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Canton
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not Bad Given the Alternatives”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Overall my husband and I had a decent stay - even on Trade Days weekend it was around $100 per night and the property was decent. Not luxury by any means, but none of the motels in Canton are and many are much worse than this so we were satisfied.

Good:
-Check-in was fast and friendly
-Pool area was very clean and in good shape
-Bed and linens were clean
-Complimentary toiletries if you forget something
-Continental breakfast included (we didn't go down so no review on that)

Bad:
-Couch had unappealing stains on it
-Bathroom had moldy-looking spots on ceiling and in cracks around tub and in middle of some grout
-Housekeeping took our used towels from the sink and floor, refolded them and put them back on towel rack near the sink. I know because my makeup was still smeared all over one I'd used to wash my face. (eww) - We did get new towels for the shower at least.
-They don't monitor parking and several trucks with tow-behind trailers took up 5 spots each so there was nowhere for my compact car to park when we returned one night. Mgmt should be monitoring and giving special permission for those vehicles to park along the side of the property in the "no parking" lanes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GallavantingGalleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny d, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Canton, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We strive to give you a great experience, and I am pleased to learn that we were able to meet your expectations in many ways; though I regret to hear that you weren't thoroughly impressed with our accommodations and services. We appreciate the compliments and the comments regarding areas where can improve. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    14
    5
    16
See reviews for
12
18
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Started with checkin. Live in clerk immediately started complaining about Expedia (reservation booked through them). We had booked non smoking and he had none available. He claimed that this was Expedia's fault repeatedly even though I had not made an issue of this..

Wifi did not work. TV had a snowy reception. Called front desk multiple times but they did not answer. I finally used my cell phone and called directly to the hotel's listed number. It was answered with "Hello". I had to ask if this was the Quality Inn and was told that it was. I told her of the problem. She blamed some East Texas cable company and said this was the cable company's fault. It never was fixed.

Room was substandard. Dead roaches on floor. Broken safety latch. Broken commode seat.

Dirty towels were taken but not replaced. Called front desk. No answer. Wife went to desk and fresh towels were brought at 4:30pm,

Used coffee packet was not replaced. Walked to office at 7am to get a cup of regular coffee.

Quality Inn needs to revoke this hotel's franchise. This place is ruining an otherwise pretty good reputation for the Quality Inn chain of hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. Get a room at some other place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hclause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny d, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Canton, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We are deeply troubled to hear that your experience with us was not at all a pleasant one. We apologize for the inconvenience it has caused you. Please know that we will meticulously check the concerns you raised so that we may impose prompt corrective measures. Rest assured that your reviews pertaining to the cleanliness and sanitation, the lack of towels as well as the staff demeanor will definitely not go unnoticed. Please know that there will be an escalation of this issue for we are truly determined to correct the deficiencies you’ve mentioned. We hope that we may be able to change your perception of our hotel in the future should you reconsider and stay with us again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We took our fifth wheel to canton days converter went out no heat had to find place to stay quick...no choice ended up at quality inn...no quality with this place...lady at desk was very nice...however our heat went out in room took hours to fix their first solution was to bring a little portable heater and put on chair by bed. Really!! Told us they would discount our stay...they only took $15 and said we won't charge you for your dog which they knew about up front...horrible horrible ...we waited to take showers back at trailer because bathtub looked like you could get a fungus!!! If you have a choice don't stay there if you don't have a choice take your own sheets for bed and flip flops to use in shower!!! There was also a stack of their plastic cups in hush outside of pur room probably fell off cleaning cart. That was probably there for days I saw the maintenance guy pick up and say we can still use these. Gross!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3dagent2913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny d, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Canton, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
It is brings us deep regret to hear that you experienced such poor service at our hotel. We understand your disappointment with regards to the room condition and the overall maintenance of cleanliness, and we wish to let you know that we are deeply sorry for the inconvenience it has caused you. Our goal is to make each guest feel the comfort and convenience we can offer, and we apologize if we have failed you on that aspect. Please know that your concerns will not go unnoticed and we will definitely find ways to correct the deficiencies you have mentioned. We hope to give you a far better experience should you reconsider and give us another chance next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's cheap. And the other good apect..... It is cheap. But that, like most Canton hotels is not on Trade Days Weekend. We stayed at this QI this weekend as we had some work to do locally. Did I say it was cheap?. If you are just looking for a place to sleep for the night this is that type of hotel. I am sure it is independently owned. Obvious corners are cut, fridge not working, light bulbs out, not clean etc. But again if was $64. We did report the fridge, but there was nothing they could do and would not relocate us to another room although the hotel was not full. But, on Trade Days Weekend this room is $189. It would be tough, no matter the location to stomach that kind of price for this. But it was one night, we survived. Juts not much good that can be said.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfgod1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny d, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Canton, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for making the effort to share to us your hotel experience. Please know that we are grateful for the opportunity you are giving us to improve and correct the deficiencies in our services so that we may better serve our valued guests. The feedback regarding the functionality of our facilities and amenities as well as our overall cleanliness is indeed troubling, as we also share the belief that the satisfaction of our customers is our primary goal. We wish to sincerely apologize for our shortcomings, and we assure you that this issue will be subject for evaluation so that proper modifications will be implemented. We hope that we may be given a chance to better serve you should you reconsider and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

the town was all booked due to a dog show. this hotel had many dogs staying in the facility, which is fine with me, as long as the place is properly cleaned afterwards. friends had made this reservation for us and we arrived at 10 pm for check-in. no one was around. we stayed outside and pounded on the door until a minivan pulled up. a guy jumped out of the minivan and apologized and then took us through the check-in process. we arrived to room 204 and were pleased with the new beds and linens. furniture & lay-out is the typical standard fare. our room had a microwave & fridge. the shower head and curved shower bar allow for a good shower with adequate room in a small bathroom. sink is separated from/outside of the bathroom. the tub appeared to have been cracked, then repairs were made by applying an epoxy and then grinding it down to make it smooth. the plug for the tub was not functional. upon use of the toilet, it was discovered that the toilet did not flush. I removed the lid to the water tank and saw the little water saver tank inside. the problem is: enough water is required in order to create a suction that can clear the toilet plumbing's trap. adding these "water-saving" devices do not save water when your guests are required to flush the toilet 10 times - each with negative results. there was not enough water to flush the toilet paper down the drain, much less the turds as well. also, a very much used toilet plunger was right there beside the toilet. I have stayed in some very ratty hotels in my day, but never did I see a toilet plunger out in full display. when you see that, it makes you wonder what else in the room is actually dirty. the used toilet plunger in full display also tells me that the management/ownership knows that this room has a non-functioning toilet and they chose to rent out the room anyways. so, to flush the toilet I removed the bag from the garbage can and filled the can twice and manually flushed the toilet with the garbage can. I alerted the desk staff and they said they would notify the management. I am confident nothing will be remedied in this situation. when I asked for a refund, the desk staff replied they were not authorized to provide one. indeed, a functioning toilet is a basic requirement for any hotel room. I have no intentions of ever using this "quality inn" again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hipntrippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny d, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Canton, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
We sincerely aim to always make the stay of our guests as comfortable as possible, which is why it troubles us to hear that we have failed to give you that experience. We wish to let you know that we are indeed very sorry for the inconvenience the entire experience has brought you. Please know that your voice means a lot to us, and we seriously take all your feedback and evaluate the points we need to do to correct and improve in the delivery of our services. Rest assured that the opportunity you have given us will not go to waste and we will certainly act on such matters to better serve our valued guests. We hope that you reconsider and visit us again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Hey this place was clutch! My dad and i scrolled in in the '56 chevy late night... Approx 1:45 am. We pressed the doorbell and much to our surprise, an iranian answeres the 3" glass window (there must be some extracirricular late nite activity in these parts) we issued id/Aarp and military identification which was heavily scrutinized. Got into the room and at first glance all seemed legit. Negatives included the security lock that was missing and the lack of shower caps as there were 2 of us and only one cap provided. Not that big of a deal we still were able to get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idratherbefishing87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny d, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Canton, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
We certainly value the time you took to share to us your great experience, thank you for the sincere appreciation you gave for all the hard work we exerted to give the best service there is to offer. It is truly inspiring to hear that you have noticed the value for the money and the comfort we wish to offer our valued guests. Thank you for the motivation and the inspiration to further excel in the delivery of our services. We couldn’t wait to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked online with Choice Hotels for a King Size bed and suite and when we got there they had us in a double queen with no suite. We called the front desk and complained but all they had was a smoking King Size suite and we don't smoke. They said that the double queen cost more than the King but we didn't have anyone with us to take advantage of the other bed. We went ahead and took the room because everything was booked in the area because of the Canton trade days. When we went to take a shower we could tell that the shower was not very clean and after running the shower the water would not drain out of the tub, the sink was missing the lever to open and close the drain and the TV picture and the voices were out of sync, the next afternoon I went to make some coffee and there was a old coffee bag in the coffee maker, I had to wash everything. You can tell that they are not properly cleaning or maintaining this property. Because of the Canton Trade Days to stay in the area without having to drive a good distance we paid more than the usual amount. (our choice) Oh I forgot the cement stairs going to the second level were cracking and looked like they could break and then we noticed one of the other stairwells the next day where one of the stair treads had fell out, so they had to tape off the complete stairwell. Do not go to this hotel when going to the Canton Trade days or for anything else.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny d, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Canton, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
We are deeply sorry to hear that you have been put through such a very upsetting and inconvenient experience following your stay with us. Please know that such matters will be seriously taken into consideration and be thoroughly assessed and evaluated so that such instances will be avoided in the future. Room accommodation, its functionality and cleanliness in total will undergo meticulous assessment so that correction of deficiencies will be better implemented. We sincerely hope that we may be given another chance to give you a far better experience very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canton
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Canton Inn
0.0 mi away
Motel 6 Canton
Motel 6 Canton
#3 of 6 in Canton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
20.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Emory at Lake Fork Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Near Cedar Creek Lake
21.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mineola Inn
23.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gun Barrel City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Canton

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Canton
Address: 2406 N Trade Days Blvd, Canton, TX 75103-9544 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Canton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Canton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Canton Hotel Canton
Comfort Inn And Suites Canton
Comfort Inn Canton
Canton Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing