We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch in the hill country” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant

Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Camp Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Highways 173 & 480
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
530 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great lunch in the hill country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We took our uncle for dinner to Camp Verde. It was a wonderful surprise for being as remote as it is. The appetizer were delicious, we has fried pickles and onion rings. The meatloaf was a hit with our uncle. His son enjoyed a huge, juicy mushroom burger. I was very pleased with the Rueben sandwich. Our only regret is their hours are so limited that we have to plan lunch since not open for dinner

Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    35
    14
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valley Mills, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't go for the Food. Hamburger undercooked, cold and tasteless . But beautiful restaurant with lots of windows.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Got a group of friends to come here and the place was interesting and beautiful. But food was terrible. But cheap. Buildings are beautiful but don't expect to see any camels. Not very historical. No one even tells you the story of the camels. Just a bunch of fancy new buildings. It's all about the gift shop. That is the only emphasis. Restaurant is so beautiful. But meatloaf and hamburger was so bad that I was embarrassed that I brought my friends here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandera, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had read about Camp Verde General Store & Restaurant. I must say it lived up to all the great reviews. We got there about 10:30 & the restaurant doesn't open until 11am. But the general store opens at 9:00, so we looked in there a bit first. There's so much to see in the store (they have two floors) that you can't just whiz through there. We look a little bit, then went to the restaurant when it opened at 11. (no reservations) We had a wonderful waitress named Debbie. She kept an eye on us the whole while we were in there. She was personable, helpful when I asked questions about some of the food, and very attentive to us the whole while we ate, without bothering us. The restaurant plates their food like expensive places do. The wait staff are all dressed like they do in expensive restaurants. The only difference was the prices were NOT expensive! It was wonderful! We both had more than we could eat at one sitting, so we took home enough for supper that night. Their attention to detail is supurb; from the super nice "to go" boxes to the quality of the "take home" bag you carry your "to go" boxes in. Debbie put a thank you note on top of each "to go" box. A nice touch :-) My husband ate the Camp Verde Club Sandwich with chips and I had the Hotsy Totsy Sandwich (without the hot sauce) and homemade fries. My sandwich & fries were delicious!! After eating, we finished looking in the store. It was a lovely place & we definitely will return when we're in the area. We will be happy to take any visitors who may be visiting us, also.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank retiredAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great setting and great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I ate lunch here with family and friends on March 15, 2014. The room is big but not noisy and nicely decorated, there seems to be a patio for when it's warmer. The service was very good, the food was also. I had a pulled pork sandwich, everyone else loved their food also. The portions are large, coleslaw was very good, a little spicy. Very good! Would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelloverMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerrville
Level Contributor
105 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great food in a beautiful setting in Texas Hill Country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

You get everything you expect in a great restaurant here: quality food, generous portions, reasonable prices, beautiful atmosphere, friendly wait staff. Never had a bad meal here and we've been dining here ever since it opened, at least once a month. Always take home 1/2 of what I am served because it's so delicious and more than I can eat at one sitting, so I get two meals out of the one!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lilela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant also viewed

 
Bandera, Bandera County
Bandera, Bandera County
 

Been to Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing