We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Manager not a man of his word...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Budget Host Inn & Suites Cameron
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cameron
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Manager not a man of his word...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

We were told we could get a discounted room for a family funeral and had booked the room online. When we got to the hotel, we told the clerk we were getting a discount so she rang up the discounted rate and gave us a receipt. When we got our credit card bill the full amount was charged to us. After disputing the bill with the manager, we went through our credit card company and they told us they would challenge the charge. When the manager continued to fight the discount, we gave in to end the contest. I'll never give this man our business again even if we have to stay in Hearne.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stakeholder, manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites Cameron, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
this person booked room online, at check in he didnot informed about online reservation. he asked to be get room under his familly name. night audit discover that this person checked in as differnt room asked with the clark who check him in. this person didnot informed of online reservation. insted of charging him full noshow rate we just charge him the differance. he protested to credit card company. we provided all information to credit card company they agree with us and gave us online rate. we didnot charge him two time as we shoold have done for no show. we charge him only online rate. and did not charge hom familly rate also as we should have done. when you try to help person they try to be dishonest and take advantege of goodness of management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
5
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cameron
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

We have a ranch just north of Cameron. Our extended family (30 people) came from our daughter's wedding in Austin to continue the reunion for two additional days. We spoke with Neal and Yamini, owner/managers of the hotel, several months ahead and they worked to make our guests welcome and comfortable. All reports on the rooms from our family were excellent including service, a/c, pool, breakfast. Glad to have this facility and warmth close by. We'll do it again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYeoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerrville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

The hotel is very new, clean and comfortable. We only stayed one night, but hope to go back someday. The hotel breakfast area is locked after 9:30 AM, which makes it impossible to get coffee later in the day.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvl4fun57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2007

I stay in Cameron, TX often for buisness and I have to say this hotel is often the highlight of my stay. Nice hotel with friendly staff, nice rooms from bathroom to flat screen TV, free internet, pool, workout room, and breakfast. Truly the nicest place to stay at a reasonable price when visiting Cameron, TX or Milam County.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — The City
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EGibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2007

We travel to Cameron frequently to visit my parents, and have enjoyed our stays at this new Cameron hotel. The rooms are large and clean, with all of the amenities of hotels in larger cities when I travel, including refrigerators, microwaves and flat-screened televisions. The breakfast is good and the hosts are friendly and helpful. A great choice if you are driving through Central Texas, and need a place to stay for the night. A Visitor from Dallas.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — N|A
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TRR_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2007

I stay in so many motels. This is one of the best one i have ever stayed in. Large and Clean Room with Big LCD TV. The staff was really friendly. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank kelly579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crockett
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2007

When I first entered the building I was so amazed that a small town could have such a nice hotel. The lobby is so inviting it is like sitting at home in your own living room. The receptionist greets you as soon as you enter the building. They were very nice and available at our every need. The continental breakfast was more than one I have ever seen. This was an extended continental breakfast. The room had a huge bed with enough pillows to make you feel like a queen, and then there was the jacuzzi, oh my God it even had complimentary wine to make even more romantic. The beds were not too soft and not too hard, I can say I had the best night sleep I have ever had in a hotel. In the past when I have stayed in hotels, I was ready to see my own bed. When I left this hotel I wanted to know what kind of bed it was, because I left Budget Host feeling good and relaxed. Now that was money well spent.

  • Liked — convience, peaceful, everything inside, entire facility non smoking
  • Disliked — none that I can think of.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank junebugCrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cameron
13.0 mi away
Rainbow Courts
Rainbow Courts
#1 of 4 in Rockdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
12.5 mi away
Days Inn Rockdale Texas
Days Inn Rockdale Texas
#2 of 4 in Rockdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
12.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Rockdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 4 in Rockdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
21.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hearne
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn & Suites Cameron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn & Suites Cameron

Property: Budget Host Inn & Suites Cameron
Address: 102 Lafferty Ave, US 190 & 77 at TX Hwy 36, Cameron, TX 76520-3677
Location: United States > Texas > Cameron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cameron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Inn & Suites Cameron 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Budget Host Inn & Suites Cameron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Inn & Suites Cameron Hotel Cameron
Budget Host Inn And Suites Cameron
Budget Host Hotel Cameron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing