We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Buddha Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Phra Thong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Being a seasoned traveler, it is hard to surprise me. It happened at the Golden Buddha Beach Resort. Everything was perfect in its symplicity. The respect for environment, animals, food and guests is absolutely top. Nothing 'fancy' or over luxurious.

Room Tip: Check out wether you want beach or in the back. In te back you may enjoy the compay of the monkeys a...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marianne672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Golden Buddha Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 139 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband was surprised when I told him we were taking a flight to Phuket, then a 2.5 hour car ride and a 1.5 hour boat ride to get to our next hotel. I tried to convince him that it would be worth it but it didn't start sinking in until our long tail boat started going through the mangroves then pulled into the bay at the Golden Buddha. He was a trooper about getting into the water and carrying our suitcases to the beach (he usually hates getting into water) and I could sense his excitement growing. Pena met us with a golf cart and whisked us to Baan Chokdee to settle in and then drove us to the clubhouse where we had a welcome drink and a snack. Within minutes, we felt settled in and relaxed. The beach at the Golden Buddha is spectacular and my husband (who really isn't a beach/water person) kept saying how special it was with the golden sand, the blue warm water, the sound of the waves, and most importantly that we basically had the entire expansive beach all to ourselves.
We stayed for 4 nights and quickly settled into the life on the island where your most important choices are: When should we eat? Should we walk on the beach? Should we read? Should we nap? Do you want to get a massage? Needless to say, at the end of our stay we felt very relaxed and pampered.
Yes, this is an eco-resort not a luxurious mega-resort. With that you will get some surprises like lots of bugs; I really hated the coconut beetles that landed in my hair at dinner. But, we did not experience any mosquitos or black flies! We figured out that if you read (hide) in your nets around your bed for the hour between sunset and dinner, you avoid most of the annoying pests. We also thought that our Baan had hot water, which it did not, but eventually got used to simply showering at the hottest point during the day when the cold water felt amazing. However, we felt like these were small inconveniences when put into perspective with the quiet seclusion and breathtaking beautiful of the Golden Buddha Beach Resort!

Room Tip: Do your research to pick a Baan that suits your needs. If you're really concerned about having h...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Me and my family spent Christmas here and it was the best Christmas for many many years. I was so looking forward to it but it was so much better than we could ever have imagined. Dreams really do come true! I cannot think of one negative, everything was amazing, the accommodation, the people, the food, the beaches and crystal clear waters. Pina and the owners partner and her little pug where so friendly, nothing was to much and always with a smile. All the staff were obliging and always happy, a fantastic atmosphere. The menu changed everyday and you never knew what was on the menu until the evening as it depended on what had been bought and sourced on the mainland that day.
Champagne and a to die for buffet on Christmas eve was a wonderful surprise and with the bonfire on the beach and the clubhouse all decorated it was magical setting.
Even better they now allow dogs so we will be back and our son can stay with us this time (He was at Mr Chuois)
The resort and ALL the staff deserve high praise.

Room Tip: Each one is different but all an absolute delight, really depends on how many people want to stay as...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice8883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This place is literally in the middle of nowhere and thats one of the best things about it. After being devastated by the Tsunami, this place has come along way. The book telling the island, and the people on the islands story, at the time of the Tsunami is a poignant read, but it sort of puts everything into perspective for your time there.

The trip from the mainland was interesting, but the experience was good! Arrived on the beach, literally and was picked up by some of the island team. A short drive takes you to a bunch of huts on stilts, ranging from 1 bed open walled sea views to even more spectacular lots of bedroom huts. The club house, the yoga sala and the lovely lovely beach. All the private huts have amazing set ups, open to the elements bathrooms and even though pretty basic, they are just right comfort wise. This place isn't for you though if you're not into noises in the night; bug noises galore but i can honestly say if you sort your bug net out before dusk, you'll be sorted.

I was on a week of detox and yoga, and thats exactly what i did. Beach time, waves, books, yoga, the whole beach to myself and amazing views from the top of "monkey mountain".

Food was good, different but good and i definitely didn't go hungry! I visited a few years ago now, but this place was a lovely retreat then and I'm sure it still is now, even more so I don't doubt. I'd go back for sure.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I had high expectations on this travel, and reality, not only fulfilled them, but delighted me and my family. Staff is great, the director pays attention to everything with great courtesy and competence. It's a very relaxing experience, enriched with great food for every meal. GBBR is a dream!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francesco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you love big hotels with cluster of sunbeds at the beach with lots of activities this is nothing for you. But if you love the Thailand island life in the 90ths and before this is the paradise for you! Long beatuiful beaches with almost no other people, your only company are the crabs, the birds and the monkeys. A wonderful place where you can realy relax and just be in the company of the sound of nature the whole time and beaty for the eyes all around. And even during christmas time when Budda is almost full there is still this feeling that you are almost alone on the island - it is great. The resort is fantastic with all the different houses that blends in nicely with the nature. We stayed in two houses during our stay, Baan C Song and Baan Marina, both very nice and perfekt to stay in with two childen (ours aged 10 and 12). The staff is fantastic and Pheena made us feel very welcome! The food was very good and they manage to change the menues almost every day so you never got tired of the menu (we stayed at Buddha for 8 days). The children loved the pizzas at the beach bar for lunch and extra plus for the lovely staf at the beach bar. Our only regret was that we stayed to few days, but we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamillaMagnusToveSeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Golden Buddha is a sanctuary, it's off the beaten track, and without a doubt the best place you can find to stroll along untouched beaches and find great spots to stop & enjoy a book. Myles and Peena are lovely, and give you the perfect amount of care without being overbearing - this is the island you come to when you're looking to be left in peace. We loved it; our only regret is that we didn't stay for longer!
Just make sure you keep your mosquito net tucked into the mattress from sunset until dawn & brace yourself for getting to know nature (especially waking up in the morning to find that 'nature' has left some surprises for you in the bathroom). It's serene and romantic and we fell in love with it.

Room Tip: If you're not sure which Baan to rent, email the staff in advance to ask their opinion so they c...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmalaplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Phra Thong
0.8 mi away
The Moken Eco Village
The Moken Eco Village
#2 of 4 in Ko Phra Thong
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Horizon Eco Resort
Horizon Eco Resort
#3 of 4 in Ko Phra Thong
36 reviews
24.4 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 70 in Khao Lak
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#6 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
262 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tawan Bar and Bungalows
Tawan Bar and Bungalows
#1 of 5 in Ko Phra Thong
5 reviews
16.8 mi away
Andaman Princess Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Buddha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Buddha Beach Resort

Address: 131 Moo 2, Ko Phra Thong 82150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Phra Thong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Phra Thong
Price Range: $80 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Buddha Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Buddha Beach Resort has long been regarded as one of Asia's finest eco-resorts. It benefits from a spectacular location on the edge of the Ko Phra Thong National Park. Our island boasts one of the last unspoiled coastal areas in Thailand, and rewards guests with an experience that is both unique and completely in touch with nature. Accomodation is provided in the form of 28 privately villas, generously dotted across our vast and lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Buddha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Buddha Beach Hotel Phang Nga
Golden Buddha Beach Phangnga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing