We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Buddha Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Phra Thong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Paradise on Earth”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Ever wanted to get that 'Previously on LOST' feeling?
A 15km long beach, all yours?? Hardly anyone in sight?
Well this is the right place you then :)

We stayed in the Baan Naga house (I think they call it the honeymoon villa).
It's 10 minute walk from the club house / restaurant / bar / reception and only 1 minute walk from the Blue Guru Diving club.

Our house was by far the best (in my humble opinion):
- it was beach front (best lullaby ever)
- it has hot water (not all houses do but that one has solar panels)
- it is isolated (i.e. the other houses tend to be really close to one another)
- it is spacious, comfortable, nicely decorated, a pure delight

The restaurant offers good food, in good quantity and is not repetitive at all.

The whole Golden Buddha team is friendly and will make you feel at home as soon as you set foot on the island. Special thanks to Pina who pays attention to details and makes sure your stay is as pleasant as it could possibly be.

If you don't like insects, lizards, or monkeys than this place is not for you! This an eco friendly hotel where nature greets us rather than the other way round :)

And bring your flash lights, power goes off at 11pm, isn't it magic???

Don't miss really, it's a long journey but you won't regret it. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Baan Naga is the best choice if the only neighbours you'd like in sight are monkeys :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie B, Manager at Golden Buddha Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Golden Buddha. We are really happy to hear that you loved your stay with us so much! Golden Buddha is a special place, and it is our aim to create a friendly atmosphere for all our guests. We hope to welcome you again very soon. Kind regards, Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    3
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
42
59
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

The island is very isolated . And I mean VERY! But we were looking for the place like that , so -very pleased . Electricity was available from about 6 to 11pm then it's all dark :)), kinda fun . Just enough time to recharge the battery in camera :) Good yoga instructors , ashtanga style . The food was not bad , not the same every day . Internet was decent .

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VikaZiegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie B, Manager at Golden Buddha Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, it is very helpful of you. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Golden Buddha, and hope we will welcome you again very soon. Kind regards, Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the Golden Buddha Beach Resort but we wished we could have stayed longer. It was a truly wonderful retreat away from the crowds - just luxurious bungalows, the sound of birds and the ocean, delicious food and friendly staff. This is luxury at a very affordable price!

I loved it so much, I blogged about it here http://www.goodtrippers.co.uk/golden-buddha-beach-resort-koh-phra-thong-thailand/

Don't come here if you're looking for a lively nightlife - this is a complete escape from that! The resort has a clubhouse with bar and restaurant (romantic at night for dinner, bright and breezy in the morning for breakfast) serving a set menu each evening (there's no choice of dishes but all the food is plentiful and delicious) alternating between vegetarian and non-vegetarian (although the kitchen can cook something off-menu).

During the day you can hire kayaks or snorkel gear to explore the surrounding sea or inland mangroves. Blue Guru Dive Centre also organises full scuba diving trips beyond the island. Green turtles live around here and nest on the beach - you can offer to help the resident conservation team with their daily nest monitoring or talk to them about their work. The resort also offers Thai cookery lessons (recommended!) and spa treatments. The resort can also offer trips to the local village.

The bungalows are so lovely we were happy to hang out on the large deck reading or sunbathing inbetween our swimming, walking and kayaking. You can sleep (with privacy) with the whole wall open to the sea to enjoy the sounds and sea breezes.

They take low-impact tourism seriously here with all jobs going to local people, recycling and waste minimised, local food grown and cooked, wildlife protected, minimal energy use and much more. This area was devastated during the Boxing Day Tsunami so it's amazing how the place has regenerated - both ecologically and for the local community.

Room Tip: All bungalows offer privacy - some are closer to the ocean/beach than others but you're never mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goodtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie B, Manager at Golden Buddha Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hello and thank you for your detailed comments! it is always useful for us to hear how our guests experienced life at the resort. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again very soon. Kind regards, Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We travelled with our two young daughters (6 months and 3 years of age) and although Koh Phra Thong is off the beaten track, it was definitely worth it.

We stayed at Baan Dee which was ideal for our family. It felt like home and the outdoor kitchen and small solar power driven fridge came in handy to make and store food for our daughters.

The staff was excellent and very helpful, and the food was good and authenthic.

The big attraction is, however, the long golden sand beaches, the savanna, the wildlife and the proximity to some of Thailand's best dive sites. If you plan to dive, we suggest that you ask the Blue Guru dive centre to provide you with scheduled dive trips to plan your diving.

The only downsides are that it takes an effort to get there, that it is rather expensive going there (due to the remoteness and the Golden Buddha's dedication to sustainable tourism), and that the diving was rather expensive.

It was, however, definitely worth it and we hope to go back the Golden Buddha sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christian K A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie B, Manager at Golden Buddha Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to file your feedback. It is always helpful for us to hear from guests and we are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. Golden Buddha is a remote location, but it is part of its unique charm. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon. Kind regards, Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Phra Thong
0.8 mi away
The Moken Eco Village
The Moken Eco Village
#2 of 4 in Ko Phra Thong
46 reviews
24.4 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 69 in Khao Lak
763 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tawan Bar and Bungalows
Tawan Bar and Bungalows
#1 of 5 in Ko Phra Thong
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Andaman Princess Resort & Spa
13.2 mi away
Ocean Breeze Residence
Ocean Breeze Residence
#5 of 6 in Ko Kho Khao
12 reviews
14.5 mi away
Kuraburi Greenview Resort
Kuraburi Greenview Resort
#47 of 69 in Khao Lak
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Buddha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Buddha Beach Resort

Property: Golden Buddha Beach Resort
Address: 131 Moo 2, Ko Phra Thong 82150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Phra Thong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Phra Thong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Buddha Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Buddha Beach Resort has long been regarded as one of Asia's finest eco-resorts. It benefits from a spectacular location on the edge of the Ko Phra Thong National Park. Our island boasts one of the last unspoiled coastal areas in Thailand, and rewards guests with an experience that is both unique and completely in touch with nature. Accomodation is provided in the form of 28 privately villas, generously dotted across our vast and lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Buddha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Buddha Beach Hotel Phang Nga
Golden Buddha Beach Phangnga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing