We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame”
Review of The Radnor Arms

The Radnor Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Coleshill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Quintessential English pub set in a National Trust Village. Traditional for tourists yet forward looking for today. Food served lunchtimes and evenings. All day food on Saturdays. , Real Ale on tap from our own Microbrewery, The Old Forge Brewery. Large garden area with quirky tables and chairs with a stream running through and a children's play area.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“What a shame”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited this pub for Sunday lunch - 3 adults and 2 children. We have visited a number of times over the past 5 or 6 years and always had a very good experience. Unfortunately not today. Probably the only positive aspect was the excellent children's play area which meant that at least they were happy.

Otherwise the quality of the food and the service was poor. In particular:

1. Both the Chicken and Beef were very dry and tough. It was almost impossible to cut the beef with the knife provided.

2. When we arrived there was only one real ale on - however this was very flat and did not taste fresh. This appeared to run out and apparently there was no more ale.

3. The waitresses did not seem to know what they were doing. It took a long time for anything to happen.

4. No one checked back to see if everything was OK with our meals.

5. When the bill came one disk was put down as more expensive than shown on the menu (this was corrected when challenged).

Hopefully we visited on a bad day as this place has so much potential.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexPeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadnorArms, Manager at The Radnor Arms, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your honest comments on your visit to The Radnor Arms. We are a new team here and we are learning all the time and that is why we welcome all comments. The waitresses on the day were doing a great job as for one of them it was her first day. The ales were in stock and I believe all customers were informed that we had 2 ales on but one of them was not quite ready. Both ales were being served throughout the afternoon from 1pm. I am sorry that your visit to us was not what you expected but as time goes on this new team will get better and stronger. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Radnor and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    36
    8
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New management”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We had to visit the pub again
After finding out the previous
Managers had moved on,
The old Radnor is now back!
Good food and beer,and the new landlord couldn't be friendlier.At least he cleans the place! Good luck!!
We will be back more regular

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simongar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yet more staff”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Oh dear. Have been visiting this lovely pub with its friendly staff since April. Jason & steve had just taken over and it was always fun to chat with them and the kids loved it there. Once again there are new staff. What is the owner thinking of. Why do staff managers keep changing. Is this an owner problem? Rather than staff? Would think the national trust would look into this as its nice to see the same managers and feel at home. Not happy, will give up on this place unless I hear the same managers are back and staying. I hope jason and steve come back. The owner seems to not be able to keep staff. I hope the trust look into why this owner does keep changing his staff? Something funny going on there as I know that jason and steve loved it, then gone just like that. It really wasn't fun there this time but rather sad. Look out new staff you won't last long.
NO LONGER A FAN suzieq1521 and family/friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzieq1521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadnorArms, Manager at The Radnor Arms, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
I am sorry that you are not happy with The Radnor Arms at the minute. The previous managers resigned from their position. I as the new Manager, Andy, along with new head chef, Matt are both very enthusiastic about both the pub and the food and will be doing our very best to create a pub with a great atmosphere and great food. I am in the process of building a team of dedicated regular staff who want to work here to make it a friendly pub for all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Yet another useless owner who has lost their marbles!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

With very little beer being brewed and stock of purchased beer always very low, I can only imagine this pub is going to sink quickly and the owner will go down with it.
Very bad decisions have been made here in recent weeks and not listening to the locals is only going to force them to boycott the pub until the day you give it up. I will not be putting any money in your pocket.
I would say good luck, because I believe you will need it, but I would not mean it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadnorArms, Manager at The Radnor Arms, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
As per the answers to colinf and BDUK2013, The brewery will be back up and running very soon. The Halfpenny Brewery in Lechlade, which is the sister brewery, has been supplying the beer during this time. Perhaps we should consider other guest ales while the brewery is out.


The previous Managers resigned and we have managed to replace them with a new Manager, Andy, who is very passionate and enthusiastic about The Radnor Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good pub & friendly staff”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Armed with the 'Good Beer Guide', we searched out this pub whilst exploring the local area. We are very pleased that we made the effort because we think we have discovered a real gem.
On the day that we visited (Tuesday, late lunch) it was fairly quiet. The ale was supplied by the Half Penny brewery, and was good. We were struck by the friendliness of the staff, both those serving at the bar and the manager (Andy ?) who has recently taken over. We enquired about their own mico brewery and expressed an interest in arranging a tour. Andy took the time to sit with us and chat a while about the pub's history (fascinating by the way- place where Churchill's Secret Army met), which we appreciated. The pub was clean, the beer was good. The decor was interesting and unpretentious. We had a good lunch that was fairly priced. Thank goodness it has not become yet another gastro pub! With time, I'm sure the locals will be won over and learn to appreciate how lucky they are to have such a great pub on their doorstep! We'll be back - with friends!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shani33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadnorArms, Manager at The Radnor Arms, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Radnor Arms also viewed

 
Faringdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Radnor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing