We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for visiting local attractions”
Review of The Black Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Black Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Fearby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Angouleme, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Location for visiting local attractions”
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We found this hotel to be very relaxing and felt chilled out. The food was unpretentious and
excellent. The breakfast was not included but at £6.00 odd more than plenty, just right for
setting us up for our trip to Fountains Abbey a walk round the lakes and gardens and then back to Lincoln all on breakfast. We also visited Castle Howard all within striking distance.
Good for Dales and Moors plenty to do. This hotel does have a small camp site but it's not a problem, its very quiet.
The owners and staff are very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindaluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    175
    87
    25
    31
See reviews for
56
381
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

the rooms are large, well decorated and very comfortable. I really enjoyed staying here, especially with the added benefit of the pub which serves great beer and very good food. i look forward to going back.

some people have mentioned the caravan site, but it really isn't an issue. the caravan park slopes off down the hill behind the pub and the views across Yorkshire are fantastic.

Free wi-fi and big tv's too...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rustytrawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fylde coast
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Beautiful room but the web site does not mention the caravan and camping site attached to the pub. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon to a very crowded caravan site and wanted to turn around and go home. Not the place to go for a quiet weekend. The staff were very pleasant and the evening meal was OK, breakfast was excellent. The chamber pots in the dining room were off puting. The pub was very small for the amount of people it was catering for and there was no comfortable seating. The quality of the Theakstons beer was very poor considering the brewery was about a mile away. The Theakstons beer in other pubs in the area was very good. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukeyFyldecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby, liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

I decided to take my wife to the Black Swan for a couple of nights for her Birthday. I have got to say we had a great time and will be returning when i get sometime off work. The views are tremendous and the people are really friendly. Some people are never happy with their views and find time to complain about little minor things like caravans being parked on the site but i found this really petty. My experience was excellent and i have been home to Liverpool and told all my friends that if they want some peace and quiet then this is the place to be. The hotel was excellent ,very modern,clean and kept to a high standard, the rooms are very spacious with the most fantastic shower, i did'nt want to get out. haha. We had a king sized bed with lovely bedding. the rooms where really good. Next we have the Pub restaurant which took me back to a lovely old fashioned public house with all the touches from past gone by. Again after reading some reviews i decided that they are really unfair regarding pots and carpets and would like to say. get a life, some of you need a reality check. This is a pub in the country where all walks of life come in for a quick drink after a hard days work. But some of you have forgotton. I loved it. The Staff were excellent and could'nt do enough for us. The food was brilliant and i was really impressed by the Lamb. I enjoyed it that much i managed to find room for a pudding and i dont usually do puddings.I would like to thank all the people at the swan for a great experience and look forward to another visit. Neil and Sue.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neil270458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

We stayed 2 nights over Easter 2009, the room was great, it appears to be a recently finished block on the back of the pub and the standard of finish is very good. Sadly other aspects of the pub let it down, I have to agree with the other review concerning the state of the pub. The same care needs to be taken with refurnishing the bar and restaurant and the collection of 200+ chamber pots hanging over you in the restaurant was less than appealing. We couldn't fault the food served to us, but plenty of people around us were complaining about the quality.
It's not clear from details provided, but the pub grouunds are also a caravan park, which was full at the weekend, so you're sharing the pub facilities with an awful lot of people.
Great location for exploring Wensleydale, but a long walk to any other pub or restaurant

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamwedgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

Myself and my wife stayed at the Black Swan at the end of March 2009 and we had a great weekend on our first vist to the area.But there are a few things we that we need to say ,First of all the rooms are new and are very clean and fitted out to a very high standard.Sadly the rest of the Black Swan needs work the bar area is very tacky with worn carpet and the seating area need to be replaced The Breakfast was under cooked even the toast, tea and coffee was out of a thermos flasks and the evening meal was average.We ate at other hotels in Masham and they were of a better standard and cheaper staff are friendly but they need to pay better attention to detail when things run out ie bowls tea coffee spoons milk and juice etc on the hole a good weekend the Black Swan needs work to bring it to the standard of the rooms and other hotels in the area

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gollydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2009

We have stayed at The Black Swan twice now, in the short space of 4 months. The rooms are fantastic, excellently designed, huge and comfortable beds with gorgeous linen, very spacious, very clean bathroom with toilet and powerful shower, central heating to set at whatever you need and all with excellent views. I didn't ever want to leave the room. We took the two children, aged 11 and 3 and both of them loved it. We had plenty of things to do as the walks are relaxed and the views fabulous. The kids loved picking up twigs and acorns along the way. The food is brilliant, I couldn't believe how much choice there was and everything was freshly cooked to order, the prices were very reasonible. We live in the city so this is a perfect opportunity to get away from the 'norm' and stresses of every day living. The staff are always on hand but to not intrude on your space.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andi2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fearby
1.5 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#1 of 5 in Ripon
1,257 reviews
20.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
405 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
2.1 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Inn

Property: The Black Swan Inn
Address: Fearby | Nr Masham, Fearby, Masham HG4 4NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham > Fearby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fearby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Black Swan Public House comfortably nestled in the Yorkshire Dales at Fearby Nr Masham. Our 17 century Public House offers a warm traditional welcome as you would expect in the Yorkshire Dales. Enjoying three continuous generations of the McCourt family our pub now provides guest accommodation accompanying our Ales and food, "An ideal base to explore the Yorkshire dales and beyond" The public bar and majority of rooms overlook the Burn valley with 40 mile views of the Vale of York and local moors. The Bar is well stocked with Black Sheep and guest ales with a host of supporting lagers, bottle beers and soft drinks. Home-cooked bar meals are served during lunchtime and our bistro is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Black Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Swan Hotel Masham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing