We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Black Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Black Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Fearby B&B and Inns
Huddersfield
1 review
“Very relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay. Lovely place nestled in the countryside, great for walking, relaxing or just using as base, as we did for days out. Greeted by Shaun who showed us to our spacious light and airy room, with lovely wooden floors, underfloor heating, a large 6 x 6feet bed and a view for miles. One of the best rooms I have stayed in, We had booked B&B, but as the breakfast was so good we chose to have our evening meal there too. Full english breakfast included lean, thick cut bacon and tasty sausages both obviously supplied by a qualtiy butcher not cheap and nasty supermarket stuff. In the evening we chose the cheaper end of the menu ie. lasagne and chilli, all tasted good, nicely presented and served by friendly efficient staff. All in all we can't fault it. Very enjoyable stay and would return.

Room Tip: There is a room with a jacussi for those wanting a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazzerHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    167
    85
    24
    29
See reviews for
54
368
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We got this hotel via an online deal. We just wanted to get into the countryside for a last minute weekend away from home. The price was excellent.
The hotel rooms are in an annexe at the back, near to a caravan and camping site. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable - it was small - but for the price was perfectly adequate. I understand that there are larger and more well-appointed rooms available. The annexe is right next to the beer garden - which was fine when we visited as it rained incessantly, however I imagine it could get noisy in the Summer. The caravan and camping is right outside your window, as is the car park, if this bothers you - it didn't concern us, particularly considering the low price we paid.
We ate in the pub restaurant - the food was good - nothing outstanding and a little over-priced - but this area of Yorkshire can be pricey.
The pub in general is good - although the ladies' toliets are an absolute disgrace - they were filthy, smelled damp, and the walls and taps covered in black mould - they really need to get these sorted out - I am glad I had already eaten before I saw them! I wouldn't go back here solely for this reason and hence the low score for cleanliness.
I was happy with this hotel for the price - you get what you pay for - had we paid full price I would have been disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy75london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had a superior room which was very lovely. The bed was big and comfy, the bathroom was of a high standard. The food was excellent and compliments to the chef.
I think it was a bit pricey, £90 a room plus £8.95 for breakfast. My friend had the advantage of a groupon deal which was £69 B&B for 2 nights, which sounded much better value.
One little gripe, the owner/proprieter seemed very cool and a bit unfriendly. He did the bare minimum for us when waiting on the table and did not engage in a friendly conversation or smile - therefore it made the restaurant especially feel a lack of atmosphere. The locals can be a bit intimidating in their big groups as well. Overall cant fault the room, but not sure we will go there again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenben66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed at the Black Swan and was very impressed with the accommodation. The rooms are purpose built and very well appointed. There is also a caravan and camping site if that's your preference.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was very nice but in our opinion not the best 'pub restaurant' food we've had, although it was reasonably priced and the service was very good and very friendly. The breakfast was really good, but then I'm a sucker for a cooked breakfast although there was a very good choice of alternatives.
It is however a pub that unfortunately lacks a comfortable area to have a drink which is a great shame, but I think the owner has plans to extend and hopefully he will address this.
The views of the Dales over the valley are fantastic and Fearby is a lovely spot, close to Masham where there are two Breweries, Theakston's and Black Sheep. We did the Black Sheep Brewery trip and it was very interesting, worth a look.
You can sign up to the Black Swan email newsletter and you'll get notification of special offers and events going on at he pub or in the area which is handy.
All in all good value for money and recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsTravelnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We have just returned from a one nite stay. What a lovely place to stay, really homely! The staff were friendly, room was modern,spotless and had a jacuzzi bath. The food tasted fabulous and a very reasonable price for the quality of the food(compliments to the chef.)
The accomodation is situated in a quiet village and has a small caravan/camping site. We would definitely recommend this to others.

Room Tip: Room 9 has the jacuzzi bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Have just returned from 3 nights at the Black Swan. Found the accomodation very well presented and confortable. Setting was excellent. OK there are cars parked outside your window, but you need to park somewhere and the caravan park couldn't be seen from our window. Ate in the restaurant a couple of nights. Food was nicely presented and very tasty and typically priced for pub restaurant food. English cooked breakfast was probably the tastiest I had ever had (and big portions). Staff were very friendly and helpfull. Lovely views over dales. Good walks nearby. Fearby village is a lovely quiet village.
Would recommend the Indian at the Bruce Arms in Masham. Wasn't sure what to expect as it was part of a pub but after choosing some lesser known dishes was very impressed. We went on a monday night and it was fairly quiet. Would also recomend a trip to the Theakstons Brewery. Very informative and cosy bar. Sampled third of a pint of 6 ales/beers between the two of us (included in the price).
Altogether a very good stay. We had a Groupon voucher so it was exceptional value but we would certainly go back at standard price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights on a Groupon voucher.What a lovely time we had. Staff were excellent and breakfast had a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fearby
1.5 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
5.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
2.1 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#3 of 7 in Masham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bank Villa
Bank Villa
#2 of 7 in Masham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Inn

Property: The Black Swan Inn
Address: Fearby | Nr Masham, Fearby, Masham HG4 4NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham > Fearby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fearby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Black Swan Public House comfortably nestled in the Yorkshire Dales at Fearby Nr Masham. Our 17 century Public House offers a warm traditional welcome as you would expect in the Yorkshire Dales. Enjoying three continuous generations of the McCourt family our pub now provides guest accommodation accompanying our Ales and food, "An ideal base to explore the Yorkshire dales and beyond" The public bar and majority of rooms overlook the Burn valley with 40 mile views of the Vale of York and local moors. The Bar is well stocked with Black Sheep and guest ales with a host of supporting lagers, bottle beers and soft drinks. Home-cooked bar meals are served during lunchtime and our bistro is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Black Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Swan Hotel Masham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing