We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short break”
Review of The Black Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Black Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Fearby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights on a special package £300 for 2 people bed, breakfast and evening meal.Room situated behind the hotel, very clean and large room, good views of the open countryside, and breakfast and evening meal were excellent.Unlike many places that have special deals, we had full choice of the very varied menu,ans staff were very pleasant and attentive. Dont worry about the caravan park behind, as there are only approx 20 caravans/mobile homes, and I estimate that only 6/7 were occupied during our visit.Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 589 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

I took several colleagues to this hotel last week. I was in room 4. It is HUGE ! It also has an excellent view across the Dale. My colleagues each had rooms about which they were highly complimentary.

The decor is good. The bathrooms were all spotless.

Food was excellent. We had a range of evening meals. This is a country pub with an excellent chef !

I would go there for the food alone if I lived close by.

All this and a good price too. Who wouldn't recommend it ? I certainly do.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Famsol67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

After deliberating for several hours over where to stay, we decided on the Black Swan at Masham. Couldn't complain at all, staff were friendly, food was OK, room was clean and comfortable. Would definitely re book in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KogMoorcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed for two nights a thursday and friday in our caravan with our two children 6 and 10. The caravan site has splendid views and was very quiet,in a morning you couldnt hear a thing! There where a lot of caravans on the site but many were seasonal pitches with no one staying in them. The shower block was OK, there is a bucket and mop to clean out the bottom of the shower after you have finished which everyone seemed to use. There are Only two showers but we never had to queue. The water is very hot, I hate to say this but ALMOST too hot! I never saw anybody cleaning the shower block while we where there and it did need a clean. The owner is a pleasant chap. We had breakfast in the pub one morning which was OK nothing exceptional and dinner another night. The food looks better on the website than it does on the plate. It was very tastly though! You get a £5 voucher to spend for dinner for each night you stay, thats £5 per caravan per night. Without this I would have thought the food was overpriced. The service was very good. I would definitely stay here again but with so many sites and such little time probaby wont.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank birdy2235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Before you book here you should know this is right next to a caravan park. This is not evident on the website or when making a telephone booking. I would not have booked this had I known this information and so we were disappointed. The landlord's manner when we asked for our deposit back on arrival so we could go elsewhere was aggressive and rude. He would not refund our deposit and told us we were not welcome to stay a second night as booked. We were so upset we felt we could not go into dinner which had been paid for and so went elsewhere ( The White Bear) and had a lovely meal. At breakfast the following morning he did make a sort of apology for his behaviour and offered £20 refund for the meal he noticed we had not taken. Suggest that it is made very clear on photos and text that this is part of a caravan site so people can make an informed decision and arent disappointed or upset by rude and unwelcoming behaviour from the landlord.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CeliaRosemaryJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Me and my 8 month pregnant girlfriend spent 1 night here. The location is really nice with stunning views out the back, and its soooooooooooooooooooo quiet and peaceful. The rooms are nearly brand new, real nice decor and the beds massive. No problems with a nice nights sleep for us. We booked dinner bed and breakfast. The dinner is all cooked fresh, and you can choose 3 courses whatever you want inc. side orders!!! The food was beautiful and knocked the socks off the 4* hotel we had stayed the previous evening. The chef also came out to see us personally and have a quick chat. Nice ale, nice staff and we wish them all the best. Nick and Kerry. :-) Defo book again and recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burtooon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The Black Swan is a country pub that has grown to incorporate a low key caravan park and a new small hotel building.
We stayed four nights on a very well priced DB&B package (at £100/night). Our larger than average second floor bedroom was basic but of good quality with a large comfortable bed, a superb shower and stunning views. The food was considerably above average for a pub, with an interesting menu featuring some local meats - these were especially good and expertly cooked. Less good was the more exotic wild boar steak which was rather tough and the puddings which were not home made (we kept to the local cheeses!). The Yorkshire breakfast was easily the best breakfast choice, the eggs Benedict was disappointing - the hollandaise tasted very artificial as if from a packet.
The post dinner atmosphere in the pub did not encourage us to stay around for another drink after dinner and we felt that a residents' lounge might have been a good idea.
Overall we had a really great stay and would thoroughly recommend the Black Swan.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fearby
1.5 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
5.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
422 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
406 reviews
2.2 mi away
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
2.0 mi away
Bank Villa
Bank Villa
#3 of 7 in Masham
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Inn

Address: Fearby | Nr Masham, Fearby, Masham HG4 4NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham > Fearby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fearby
Price Range: $81 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Black Swan Public House comfortably nestled in the Yorkshire Dales at Fearby Nr Masham. Our 17 century Public House offers a warm traditional welcome as you would expect in the Yorkshire Dales. Enjoying three continuous generations of the McCourt family our pub now provides guest accommodation accompanying our Ales and food, "An ideal base to explore the Yorkshire dales and beyond" The public bar and majority of rooms overlook the Burn valley with 40 mile views of the Vale of York and local moors. The Bar is well stocked with Black Sheep and guest ales with a host of supporting lagers, bottle beers and soft drinks. Home-cooked bar meals are served during lunchtime and our bistro is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Black Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Swan Hotel Masham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing