We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Cafe”

Hoover's Valley Country Cafe
Ranked #6 of 40 Restaurants in Burnet
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 13, 2019

Great basic food in a casual atmosphere. Wednesday nights offer a free slice of pie with any entree.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 88 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2019

We were in the area for a long weekend with the family. 7 of us came here for dinner on a Saturday night, on the recommendation of the positive reviews. My mom and I ordered fried catfish - they were out. My son ordered mac & cheese, they were out. Though we were seated right away, we had a long wait until our order was taken, and an even longer wait for the food to arrive. When it can out, some of our orders were wrong (as in, fries instead of mashed potatoes, that kind of thing), but we were too hungry to care so we just ate what we were given. The chicken fried steak was tough, the reuben was skimpy, the burgers were fine. At the end of the weekend, my aunt said we had such a great time in Burnet! Well, except for that one restaurant we went too.... So, we'll pass on this next time, even though it was in a handy location for us, and drive on in to Kingland.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jen850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

Stopped at Hoover's while running around the Hill Country shooting photos of the wildflowers. Located in Burnet County along Park Road 4, this is a worthwhile stop. Large menu selection, but I went no further than the Bacon Cheese Burger and my wife chose the BLT. Both were well prepared and served by a super friendly young lady. Adjoining store can accommodate most of your travel and/or your camping needs.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank dona421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2019 via mobile

This is a quaint little restaurant out in the country between Kingsland and Burnet. The help are very friendly and you will be seated at a table. The menu has a nice array of entree's and they offer daily specials. I had the catfish. ($10.99) It was gently coated and tasted great! It was light and fluffy. The seasoned fries were plentiful. The hush puppies were small and fried a bit too hard. The Cole slaw was fine and the beer prices were reasonable. ($3) heads up! When you check out the transaction has a 15%, 18%, 20%, and 25% tip section on the screen for credit cards.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank stoogeg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2019

Order anything off the menu, it's ALL good. The burgers are exceptional as is the service. Big portions and a cute little restaurant.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ram20172017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hoover's Valley Country Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing