We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Camper's Delight!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park

Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Camper's Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Just returned July 1 from a four day stay in the RV Camping park at Canyon of the Eagles and I'm glad we decided to make reservations at this LCRA partner campground. The check-in clerk, Teri, was very pleasant and professional and gave us the full schedule of events during our stay, as well as the trainee who was on duty the next morning (she also ensured we received our AARP discount which we forgot to ask for upon check-in).

Even though our rig has everything in it, after leaving the pool it was just easier to take a shower at the recreation lodge, and we found the showers and bathrooms exceptionally clean (absolutely no mold or smell). The highlight of the trip was the observatory for viewing the planets! The daily fee of $4 per person is certainly a bargain for campers being able to use all the amenities of the nature park.

This is a campground for people who truly want to enjoy nature and the art of conversation. We highly recommend this campground for RV'ers and will definitely return.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LJohnTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    5
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Beautiful trails, wildflowers, spacious sites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We just got back from a 2 night stay at Canyon of the Eagles. We stayed in a campsite (Tanner), so this is just based on the sites, not the hotel.

The good:
- The site was very spacious and we could hardly even hear or see our neighbors. At night you could only hear the tree frogs and the wind (and that's with neighbors all around). We could walk to a port-a-potty, and drive to the showers. 2 adults, 3 children (8, 5, 3 years old). Great breeze throughout the entire day, very shaded. About 100 yards or more to the water, so you can't fish from site.
- picnic table, grill over the campfire ring
- The observatory was open a couple of nights while we were there. They had 2 of the largest telescopes we had ever seen and there was an astronomer there to guide and teach everyone. It was come and go, so no set time you had to be there. We saw the surface of the moon from one telescope, and Saturn form the other (rings and all). Impressive, and the kids loved it.
- The trails were very nice. 7 of the 14 trails were open. Some were closed due to eagles nesting I think. We went one maybe 3 trails and they were lined with yellow wildflowers and cactus. The trails are wide and are made with pea gravel, so you could take a stroller. A couple of folks we passed had seen a rattlesnake and showed us a picture of it. We didn't see any, but I've heard they are plentiful here.
- not crowded at all on Memorial Day weekend (there may be reason for that though)
- showers and bathrooms were very clean, the cleanest I've seen at a campsite
- port-a-potty's are cleaned every 7 days, but bring your own toilet paper as they only stock it with 3 rolls and that ran out the day after they cleaned it.

The not-so-good:
- I reserved a spot online, then called to see whatt time we should arrive to ensure we could pick a good spot. She said to come early, as it was first come, first served. So I took the kids out of school early to get there and when we drove up to the site, we had already been assigned a spot (no changing). So, we didn't have to get there early at all, as you are supposedly assigned a spot upon reserving. We ended up with a great spot (and most of them are), but we were led to believe we could pick one.
- I also called before we left to ask about fishing, as I know the lakes are low. They said, sure we have bass, catfish, etc. They said kids didn't need fishing licenses. I asked about a pier,as I read about it online. They said "yes, we have a pier and you can buy your bait at the park store". What they failed to mention was that you can't fish from the pier, as the lake is so low that there's not water anywhere near the pier. In fact, the only way to fish is the rent a kayak and go out on the lake, unless you brought your boat. I'n not sure if there would be a boat dock though, considering the level of the lake. We walked out past the pier to try and fish, but it's too low and you can't even cast far enough to get out of the brush and low water.
- customer service upon check-in was very poor. If you want to know anything about the place, then you better ask, because all they do is take your money/reservation and say thank you. They didn't tell us one thing (rules, times to check-out, activities, etc). I finally asked about a piece of paper that was sitting there with activities and she said "yeah, we have things to do listed on the sheet". It so happens they have Movies in the Dark, a nature demo at the amphitheater, a band that plays several times a week, and they even had a Memorial Day barbeque for 6 hours on the Sunday we were there and they didn't think any of that was worth mentioning. She didn't elaborate on anything...just really disconnected. And there were 3 ladies there, all just going about their business and not friendly at all.
We left 2 days early, as the kids were bored with the trails and a campfire after 2 days. There are no play areas, and without fishing, there just wasn't much else to do with kids. This would be a great place for couples or a group of adults to just sit around and play games,etc

I'm glad we went, but I am very disappointed in the customer service and the fact that they led us to believe we could fish when we couldn't. Had we known this, we would have gone somewhere else so the kids could have had more fun. This was one thing they really wanted to do. So we'll come back if the lake levels rise.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Branch29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Listed as one of the most scenic roads in Texas for a reason.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

There is always something to do, everyday for everyone. Don't like live music, then go look at the stars. Got kids, sign up for one of the learning hikes. Wanna be still and watch the nature, open your back door and find a rocking chair to sit in and be quiet. I can not say enough about this place with the exception that mother nature has been cruel here last year by withholding the rain, but that has gotten better I hear. Drive slowly on the road up there and enjoy the view.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank nebulousnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Butterfly Trail was beautiful this time of the year. The wildflowers were abundant and just gorgeous. It's not a very long trail, so is easy to walk. The flowers & cactus and all the greenery were just beautiful. Great for taking pictures.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
699 reviews
313 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Nature hikes were great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Had a wonderful long weekend hiking the nature trails. Lots of birds to see and listen to. Lake Buchannan is very low (right now) and it would be difficult to do much water activities. Got lucky with the weather. Unless you are close by, it is probably best to stay at the lodge on the property because I didn't see too many other accomodations (or restaurants) nearby. Perhaps there are more in the summer.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank dbinhou7511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park also viewed

 

Been to Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing