We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canyon of the Eagles Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Burnet
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Willow Point Resort(Buchanan Dam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Antlers(Kingsland)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
86
66
35
17
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
66
35
17
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking trailsget awaylake buchananrv parkrocking chairsbring your owneagles resortdeluxe roomnature preservelive musiceagle eyeplace is greatlake viewfire pithill countryrooms are niceboar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 225 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We spent a wonderful 4 days at the Canyon of the Eagles resort. After reading the mixed reviews on trip advisor, we weren't sure what to expect. But we were pleasantly surprised at what a wonderful place this was!

The cabins are simple but comfortable, clean and well sized. Most cabins have a huge window overlooking the canyon, trees and if it would just rain more, the water. But even without water, we had a nice cooling wind coming in off the canyon that was just perfect for sitting on the porch enjoying the day.

The grounds were beautiful and the cabins just far enough apart that you had a little privacy without being secluded. Within a 5 minute drive (or even walk) are several short and easy walking/hiking trails that take you through beautifully wild and healthy Central Texas nature.

The staff was friendly and provided family entertainment, from movies under the stars to a reptile 'show' where you could see snakes, lizards and frogs from the local area. The restaurant was very nice and the food was excellent. It was a bit pricey but by comparison to heading the 20 minutes into town to get something else, it was well worth it. The little bar was a great place to meet and chat with local ranchers who come out for dinner.

No place is without its faults. It would have been nice if each cabin had a small refrigerator to keep water and left overs cold and the AC vents are really poorly placed, blowing hot air on the porch (just turn them off), but overall we were extremely happy with the experience.

A nice quiet weekend with the hubby and our dogs. We will go back.

Room Tip: Looking at the water, the last cabin on the left has a little more privacy and a great view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just got back from my second time staying at this resort. What a wonderful place! The property is beautiful. The rooms are very nice. Great beds with wonderful down bedding. The bathrooms are very nice and the toiletries they provide are very good as well. The grounds are very well kept. It is a great place for a weekend (or longer!) escape.
The staff is wonderful and very accomodating to ensure you have the best stay possible.
If you have pets, this is a great place to take them, they are very dog friendly! My 2 dogs were greated at reception and given bandanas and treats, which they loved!
The restaurant is top-notch! Very good food and service is good too! There was even a server that came poolside for drink service:)
The trails in the nature preserve are very well kept and marked. The sunsets from the property are absolutely breathtaking!
Yes, as said in many reviews, the lake is disappearing. This has nothing to do with Canyon of the Eagles and it should not deter you. There is still a lot to do at the resort and the dry lake does not detract from the beauty of this resort!
I highly recommend visiting Canyon of the Eagles!!

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room, They are very private and and have nice views. The double bed rooms have sliding glass doors out onto a porch which is very nice!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonOftheEagles, Director of Guest Services at Canyon of the Eagles Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

StarStreak....

On behalf of Canyon of the Eagles, I would like to apologize that you did not enjoy your time with us.

We are a 940-acre nature park located on the north part of Lake Buchanan (approximately 15 miles northwest of the City of Burnet) and take pride in the outdoor experiences that our guests receive while here. The park itself is owned by the Lower Colorado River Authority (LCRA), while the resort, RV and tent camping sites are owned and operated by Calibre Resorts.

Guest Services is our number one priority, and when we are made aware of a guest's concerns, we make it right at the time. As we were not made aware during your stay that you were unhappy, we were unable to correct any of the problems contained in your review. For that we apologize.

Our shampoos and soaps (named Ecossential Elements) are inspired by the wonders and freshness of nature and feature a citrus blend of eucalyptus and lemon myrtle. In the time we have featured them in our rooms, we have not had anyone tell is that they do not produce a lather. We actually have guests who request to purchase additional supplies to take home with them. We apologize that you were not satisfied with our product.

All of our rooms come with either one or two queen sized beds. The bedding itself consists of a plush mattress and set of box springs, along with alternative down comforters and several pillows of different firmness. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your sleeping experience. If we had known that your headboard was loose, we would have immediately sent someone over to make it right for you.

Each of our rooms has a porch with rocking chairs. Our rooms with one queen-sized bed has a porch to itself. Our rooms with two queen sized beds share a porch with the room next door (which also has two queen sized beds). If we had known that you were concerned with your neighbor being so close, we would have been happy to move you to another room.

Our award winning restaurant uses fresh and local ingredients and believes in a farm to table philosophy. Our Executive Chef changes our menus change seasonally to ensure that we only use the freshest products and ingredients. We apologize that your meal was not to your liking, and had we had known you were unhappy at the time, our Executive Chef would have done whatever was needed to make it right.

Lastly, while we do not have a children's activity fee, we do have a Park Fee of $5 per person (over the age of ten) that is assessed each day of a guest's stay. This fee goes towards the cost of our group, interpretive and educational programs, our live entertainment (such as a live band), star-viewing at the Eagle Eye Observatory, Movies Under the Stars, and maintenance of our trails. Information on the fee is located on our website, in a guest's confirmation letter, and given to guests when they make their reservations with our staff. I apologize if this was not made clear to you.

Again, I apologize that your time with us was not what you expected, but we hope that you will come back and allow us the opportunity to make it right.

Cordially,

Mance Bowden
Director of Guest Services
Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a family reunion at the Canyon of the Eagles this weekend and this place is a great place to have it! There were several things to do in the area, rooms were amazing and clean, the staff was wonderful to work with and the on-site restaurant did an excellent buffet for breakfast. Wifi was slow but to be expected with the canopy of trees everywhere. Even though the lake was alarmingly low, our overall stay was fantastic! I highly recommend looking at this place for an out-of-the way getaway!

Room Tip: Deluxe cabin rooms are the best for the awesome porches away from the pathway traffic.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avagigi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in early August. We inadvertently left an item in the room. The next day I called and the hotel acknowledged they had the item. I made four phone calls and never received the item. I even requested the manager call me who never responded. I'm not buying that it got lost in the mail because I order from Amazon on a regular basis and always receive packages through the mail. Poor management!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasGal101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonOftheEagles, Director of Guest Relations at Canyon of the Eagles Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

While we are not responsible for items left at the property, we do our best to reunite our guests with their lost property. Routinely (meaning at least once a week), we receive a call about a lost item and we return the item to the guest. This is the case with you and the pillow you left at our property.

As you mentioned, after your checkout, you did call and speak to one of our Guest Services Representatives (GSR) and your pillow was located. At that time, your pillow was boxed up, addressed to the address we have on file for you, and I myself took the box to the Marble Falls Post Office and mailed your pillow back to you.

Since the time your pillow was mailed back to you, you have spoken to one of our GSR's a couple of other times and have been told your pillow had been mailed to the address we have on file for you. At no time was I made aware that you wanted to speak with me. If I had known, I would have been more than happy to again explain to you that your pillow had been mailed.

While we are sorry that your package has yet to arrive, to call into question our integrity when your pillow has been sent back to you is a bit disingenuous.

Again, we are sorry that your package has not arrived, however, if the package for some reason is returned to us, we will contact you and resend the pillow to you.

Cordially,

Mance Bowden
Director of Guest Services
Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just returned after a 3 night stay. We had 5 cabins. The cabins were extremely clean,beds comfy,and we had unexpected daily housekeeping. The pool is incredible. The overlook restaurant have the best staff, and the chef makes a magnificent plate. There was not a meal, that 10 of us including a juvenile did not love. The staff are friendly look for Grace and Cory. They did stand out. The all u can eat breakfast buffet on Saturday and Sunday has something for everyone. My husbands fav dinner was pulled pork enchiladas. We discovered a new Texas red wine that we came home and ordered for home delivery. The stars at night the quietness of the resort is very relaxing. No complaints. 5 star from us..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews