We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat disappointing Spring Break trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Burnet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canyon of the Eagles Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Burnet
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointing Spring Break trip”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We took our two kids here last Spring and found the resort to be not anything special. The rooms are clean and comfortable enough but have about as much charm as a dorm room. The restaurant was TERRIBLE, extremely slow and very expensive, and there aren't many alternatives in the area so they have you trapped. They also nickel and dime you, charging $3.00 for smores around the fireplace in the evening, while other resorts give you these things at no charge. The area is pretty, but we would not go back to this resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    63
    33
    17
    19
See reviews for
71
89
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Went with friends over the Labor Day weekend, staying in their camper at the rv park. The place is pretty nice, with my biggest issues being there was a no burn ban, the grass and ground coverage was so brown and crispy and Lake Buchanan which surrounds the resort was so low and dried out it was sad. But none of these issues was the resorts fault. Saturday night the house band of Doug and Shoogie was out on the patio. Really enjoyed listening to them and Doug was awesome to me, playing a mean guitar. The place is dog friendly and we saw quite a few of them. I'm a dog lover so I enjoyed all the four legged friends, but the friends we were with do not feel the same as I. The restroom/shower facilities were always clean, just wish they had a/c in there - nothing like taking a shower just to sweat before you get out of there. Since the lake was so low we went to Inks Lake State Park Sunday and Monday and just had the best time there. We went to a local winery, Fall Creek Vineyards and did a little wine tasting, which was my first tasting and had nothing to compare but I enjoyed it. The resort had a long list of daily activities and is very kid friendly having a movie on the patio and smores to make yourself. All staff we came in contact with were friendly and informative. There was a pool but it was smallish and way too crowded for me, so i didn't bother. I will be going back, just may go in the cooler weather - jeez Texas gets hot, and I'm a native Houstonian and know this. And I think I will check out the drought conditions next time before I go. All in all, a good time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights in August and had such a wonderful time. We wanted to get away from the city and enjoy the hill country. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we really loved spending time on our porch in the rocking chairs. We ate at the restaurant a few times and loved every meal. The service was always great and the food was very yummy. We also spent time at the bar and enjoyed some cocktails on the porch while playing checkers. The pool was great - clean and relaxing. Even though the lake was low, we still had a great time kayaking and watching the sunset. This place isn't a "resort" in terms of luxury - if you want a true resort, you will spend $300+ a night, This place is a "resort" in terms of having everything you need while on vacation. There is so much to do and you have everything you need for a fun getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLE04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I went last weekend for a quick getaway. We were excited they were dog friendly. The grounds and rooms were clean. There isn't much water in the lake, but we were not expecting any. We were very disappointed with the restaurant and overall management. The posted hours are from 8AM-10PM, closed from 3pm-5pm each day. We went over on Saturday morning around 10:30AM for breakfast and were told they had already closed the buffet but we could wait and they would see if they could help us. We waited a few minutes and then were brought lunch menus. We declined lunch and went to the park store where were were told we might find other options but there are no other options except packaged snack type foods. We made coffee in our room instead. At 12:30PM we headed to the restaurant for lunch only to be told they were doing cold cuts and salads that day since they had run out of propane. Really? Very poor planning to be 30 minutes from town, be the only food option at a "resort" but be out of propane. We noticed a taco buffet was set up and we asked if we could have some of that instead and were told it was for a group meeting and all the food had been put away already. I am not sure if it there really was food or not. We could see all the condiments, taco shells, etc still there. It is very disappointing they did not plan ahead for propane, then have the capabilities to make hot food but only have it for special meetings, not resort guests. We discussed going into town for food but did not trust the resort to have hot food for our dinner reservation later that evening. Instead of risking it we chose to check out immediately and came home, receiving a credit for the second night we had booked. We really wanted to love it here but we will not return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpiogirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Surprised mother-in-law with a night here-Every person we spoke to in planning-from the Complimentary Champagne to the chef made dark chocolate birthday cake-was accomodating, sweet, cheery and friendly. Each staff person made us feel like guests and treated us amazingly! The grounds were impeccably kept and we loved the scenery, nature trails, food, drinks, checkers on the porch of the Eagles Nest Bar, the natural rock pools, the clean rooms and above all else the lazy, wonderful feeling that takes over when you walk onto the grounds. Disconnect and Reconnect-that's what the resort should be called! Thank you Shawn and Sarah for the most amazing time, like Arnold said "We'll be BACK" Shauna

Room Tip: If you want more privacy request a room away from the pool-although everything is in walking distanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shauna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We planned a 2 day getaway here because the price was right and the dogs could stay free. It says "resort" in the title, and we knew it would be primitive but it was not what we were looking for to escape the city heat. The staff was very helpful and managed to move us when we said we wanted a better view. They even rounded up a micro-wave for us after we figured out the restaurant food would not satisfy our dietary restrictions. We always take back-up food and it was nice to warm it up. It was so hot we all collapsed after our walk at dusk and we never did cool off. The AC unit was directly next to one of the beds so we had to build a pillow barrier to deflect the air overnight. The staff could not have been more helpful. We simply chose to be there at the wrong time of year.

Room Tip: Request a view if it matters to you. Go when the eagles are there, maybe Oct - May. Dont go when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheoCleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I feel this resort is terribly over rated. The restraunt is not all that great compared to what I've read. The website advertises a beautiful lake side resort, but they fail to mention that Texas is in a drought and that there is not much water in the lake. You can't even fish from the pier because it's out of water. I have to say the rooms were very nice but, the staff could be more friendly. We tried to cancel 7 days prior to our stay due to family emergency and they said we couldn't get a refund that we would just have to pay even if we didn't stay. I wouldn't reccommend this place to anyone. In the last several months we've stayed at lots of resorts and motels and were able to cancel with just one days notice, so not being able to cancel with 7 days notice is just ridiculous.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnet
15.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Burnet
14.3 mi away
Best Western Post Oak Inn
23.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Marble Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Best Western Llano
Best Western Llano
#1 of 3 in Llano
184 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Inn at Lampasas
The Inn at Lampasas
#2 of 3 in Lampasas
149 reviews
21.3 mi away
Markward Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon of the Eagles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon of the Eagles Resort

Property: Canyon of the Eagles Resort
Address: 16942 Ranch Road 2341, Burnet, TX 78611-3168
Location: United States > Texas > Burnet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Burnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northeast shoreline of Lake Buchanan, Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park and Resort is an ideal Texas Hill Country get-away that offers the comforts of a full-service nature resort and the tranquility of a scenic, 940-acre nature park. Uniquely nestled in the Upper Highland lakes region of the Texas Hill Country, Canyon of the Eagles takes its name from the American Bald Eagles that winter in the area. The park showcases the flora and fauna of Lake Buchanan and provides a refuge for the endangered Black-Capped Vireo, Golden-Cheeked Warbler, and American Bald Eagle. Common wildlife sightings include rabbit, deer, roadrunner, snake, bobcat, feral pig, and armadillo. Throughout the spring and early summer, wildflowers bloom in abundance! Relax and enjoy one of our 61 eco-friendly guest rooms. Each room’s decor comfortably reflects its natural surroundings with southwest style furniture, stained cement floors, and sustainable amenities and linens. A cozy retreat from modern life; we encourage you to unplug and re-connect, with yourself, your family and nature. Guest rooms are located on a hillside above Lake Buchanan with a variety of private and scenic choices for your stay. "Where the Road Ends, The Adventure Begins. . ." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canyon Of The Eagles Lodge And Nature Park Hotel Burnet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing