We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woefully disappointing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Burnet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canyon of the Eagles Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Burnet
Certificate of Excellence
Graham, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Woefully disappointing”
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We booked this place because it was supposedly close to Camp Longhorn, where we had to pick our daughter up early the following morning. The camp is actually 20-25 minutes away. That distance also makes it very difficult to get any groceries or simple items, since round trip its 45 minutes.
The rooms or "cabins" are basic and small. We had a "deluxe", which was cooled by a window unit that that was inadequate at best. The blinds are thin white material that blocks minimal light. Not all of the windows are covered.
My wife booked the place and didn't feel the description on the website accurately depicted the place. She fully admitted that she didn't read trip advisor and went on what the website described.
Bottom line: would not stay here again, but somebody looking for one step above camping might find it here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    62
    32
    17
    19
See reviews for
70
87
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
houston texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This isn't a fancy resort hotel.It's more of a "cabin in the woods " type place. The rooms are spacious,but very plain.we found them to be comfortable and quiet.
The resturant,when we were there,was pretty good,with a nice lake view.
We went out on the boat tour,saw eagles,and several herds of feral hogs.It was fun.
After dark,just a short distance from the rooms,the star gazing is phenomanal.There's an astronomy club out there on weekends,and the small red lights on their equipment cast an eerie glow across the area.
My girlfriend and I found this place to be rather romantic,as it's pretty secluded and quiet .
If you're expecting a classic "resort" go somewhere else.If you like an unusual experience,this place is nice.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are nicer.Great sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llamageorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I've stayed at Canyon of the Eagles several times and have always enjoyed my experience.
It's not a "resort" in the sense that they have hot stone massages, a sauna and fancy room service. But the rooms are spacious, the beds are comfortable and the grounds are lovely.

We recently stayed there last weekend. We were looking for somewhere to get out of town that would also let us bring our large dog. Canyon of the Eagles is a short drive from Austin, perfect for a weekend getaway. The resort is family friendly, but still felt like a nice couple's retreat. You can go here for the weekend and not have to get in your car and drive anywhere else unless you want to.

The rooms are quiet, comfortable and basic and ours had a great view of the lake. I like the fact that they don't have TVs, it really contributes to a more relaxing environment. It would be nice if they all had a mini-fridge, so you can bring some of your own food and beverages.

There is a nice trail system if you go in cooler months or get up early to beat the heat. The pool is nice, clean and spacious enough. The only thing it could use are some more chairs, especially the reclining ones.

Another treat is the observatory that's open on Friday and Saturday nights. I would recommend taking advantage of this if you go. The volunteers who operate it are full of information and it's a really interesting, unique experience.

The only reason I can't give COE a 5 star rating is the restaurant. We ate breakfast and dinner there (not lunch) and the food was only okay. Breakfast is a buffet and it was the same food choices both times we ate there. My biggest complaint is the dinner menu. I'm a vegetarian and there was only one vegetarian entree - pasta. They could easily add a black bean patty option for their hamburger and possibly one other entree (a stuffed pepper, perhaps?) to round out their choices. As it is, if you're a vegetarian and you're staying here, you better really like the pasta dish for dinner, because that's what you're eating. Unfortunately, it wasn't that good.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonedoneundone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our family had a fantastic time staying here. The room was simple and rustic, but very clean and spacious. We have a family of 5, plus a Mastiff puppy that stayed comfortably (had enough room to blow up a full size air mattress, plus a large wire cage for the dog). The resort staff was wonderful and helped any way they could to meet our needs, answer questions, or offer up good advice on things we could do as a family. The pool was relaxing just to sit by due to the waterfall running from the spa. The lake was low, but we rented a kayak and canoe and had a great time on the water. At the onsite restaurant, we received excellent service from the staff, plus the food was great (especially the burger and pulled pork enchiladas). It was a bit too hot to go hiking on the trails, but we plan a return trip in the fall to enjoy the scenery and maybe see the eagles when they return in November. All in all, it was a great trip for us!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, the Lone Star State
Level Contributor
338 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I agree with previous reviewers that the term "resort" is a bit of a stretch for this place. You won't feel pampered here. The rooms are plain, the grounds are plain, and the service is plain, too.

They have a pretty little pool, but no hot tub, which is a big minus in my book. The on-site restaurant is a bit of a rip-off, since you're basically forced to eat there, but they do serve good food with a nice view overlooking the lake. The servers, while nice and friendly, are not particularly skillful and seem very inexperienced.

What you do get here is nature, and lots of it. We enjoyed the walking trails and the feeling of being out in the middle of nowhere. Our room had a lovely view of the lake. Sunsets here are definitely worth seeing. We also rented a kayak on the lake, and that was a fun thing to do. Yes, the water is down, but we still enjoyed it.

Obviously I have mixed feelings about Canyon of the Eagles. We had a very nice, peaceful time here, but I don't see us coming back every year. I guess I'd prefer less nature, and more pampering, on my vacations. But if you're a "back to nature" sort of person, you'll really enjoy this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

THE GOOD: Stunning scenery. The lake was a bit low, which is understandable considering the drought Texas had last year. Every cabin has either a porch or a deck with large wooden rocking chairs on them. Most of these face the lake. It was truly peaceful sitting there early in the morning or as the sun went down. In late May, I enjoyed the cool Texas breeze and the wild flowers mixed with the cacti.

THE BAD: This is the worst resort I've ever seen. While the scenery here is lovely, the service at this place was horrible. Firstly, any resort we've ever stayed at in the past had porters to carry your luggage to the room. I appreciate Canyon of the Eagles, in an effort to preserve the serenity of their lodge, doesn't want you parking your near the rooms, but you have to haul your own luggage to your cabin. They had a few wagons available to help with this, but those were practically unattainable during checkout. We ended up hauling our luggage out to the car in three trips, huffing it across the compound as we did. The air conditioner in our room did not cool very well, and the one in the bride's cabin went out completely the day of the wedding. The water in the bathroom was very hard (you'll be lucky to get suds out of the soap). My husband had to shave in tepid water because one short shower used up all the hot water.

THE UGLY: When we arrived, we were asked to sign a form on which was a statement explaining that the lodge was in the process of rennovations and they had recently completed the "linens" portion of that rennovation. In such, they stated that if the comforters had stains or tears in it (alluding to pets - they are pet friendly), you would be charged $110 for a replacement comforter. The first thing we saw when we arrived in our room was a big yellow stain on the comforter. One of the towels in the bathroom also had a bunch of strings hanging from it. Even Motel 6 doesn't put stringy towels in the bathroom. A resort this place is not. I'll not be returning.

THE FOOD: We were there for a wedding, and the meat at the reception was not good. The BBQ chicken was charred on the outside. The brisket was tough (obviously not cooked long enough or slow enough). The beans and potato salad were good, however. The night before the wedding we ate off the very pricey restaurant menu. They kind of have you locked into eating at the restaurant because the closest town is at least half an hour away down a curvy mountain road. We paid $15 for a chicken fried steak for dinner. The mashed potatoes with it were very dry. For lunch the day of the wedding, my husband and I split a $6 salad and a $10 hamburger. The hamburger was the best hamburger I've ever eaten, and if you are eating in the restaurant, I highly recommend the hamburger. We did ask for it well done and had to send it back because it was still pink in the middle, but once they got it cooked all the way through, we enjoyed it very much. Also, the breakfast buffet ($10 per person, plus drink) was wonderful and the coffee was delicious. Be sure to budget plenty of money to eat if you are staying in the cabins.

Room Tip: All cabins are broken into 4 rooms. Rooms 1 and 4 on the ends each have a porch with 2 rocking chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebDoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Quiet, peaceful and full of critters! LOL It is my first experience with a Ranch type lodging area. I must confess that I am a city mouse so this was a liitle bit too country for me, but all in all it was not tooo bad. THe matress are pretty hard. It is a pet friendly etablishment, so there will be bug that your pet might get as well as the patrons. The bar was nice and had a great bartender (FRI/SAT) that mead some tasty beverages. Ask for the Canyon Sunset Martini, it was awesome. The restaurant was stable for the basics, but the dinner was fantastic The chef did a good job with the quality of the food as well as the presentation. The price for dinner was well below what you would pay at your hometown steak house. If you get a thin waiter with long hair (can't remember his name) ask for a different server. The lodging was a little pricey but al in all it was a decent experience.

Room Tip: If you make reservations be suer to ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnet
15.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Burnet
14.3 mi away
Best Western Post Oak Inn
23.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Marble Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
The Inn at Lampasas
The Inn at Lampasas
#1 of 3 in Lampasas
146 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western Llano
Best Western Llano
#1 of 3 in Llano
182 reviews
19.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lampasas Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon of the Eagles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon of the Eagles Resort

Property: Canyon of the Eagles Resort
Address: 16942 Ranch Road 2341, Burnet, TX 78611-3168
Location: United States > Texas > Burnet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Burnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northeast shoreline of Lake Buchanan, Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park and Resort is an ideal Texas Hill Country get-away that offers the comforts of a full-service nature resort and the tranquility of a scenic, 940-acre nature park. Uniquely nestled in the Upper Highland lakes region of the Texas Hill Country, Canyon of the Eagles takes its name from the American Bald Eagles that winter in the area. The park showcases the flora and fauna of Lake Buchanan and provides a refuge for the endangered Black-Capped Vireo, Golden-Cheeked Warbler, and American Bald Eagle. Common wildlife sightings include rabbit, deer, roadrunner, snake, bobcat, feral pig, and armadillo. Throughout the spring and early summer, wildflowers bloom in abundance! Relax and enjoy one of our 61 eco-friendly guest rooms. Each room’s decor comfortably reflects its natural surroundings with southwest style furniture, stained cement floors, and sustainable amenities and linens. A cozy retreat from modern life; we encourage you to unplug and re-connect, with yourself, your family and nature. Guest rooms are located on a hillside above Lake Buchanan with a variety of private and scenic choices for your stay. "Where the Road Ends, The Adventure Begins. . ." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canyon Of The Eagles Lodge And Nature Park Hotel Burnet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing