We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay on Lake Buchanan”
Review of Lakeside Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Burnet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burnet
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here the night before a bike race at Reveille Ranch. The place was clean beyond all our expectations. We needed to leave early, so the small kitchen came in very handy, but they do cook breakfast if you want it.The beds vwere comfortable and the owners were great, able to recommend places to eat and things to do. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lsm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 22 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2011

My husband and I spent our 45th wedding anniversary at Lakeside Lodge. Lest you think we are old, decrepit and sour, I will allay your fears by saying we are hale and hearty and love a good time. The Lakeside Lodge suited us to a tea.

The views from the large deck with comfortable sitting areas looking out over the lake-the level now down because there has been no rain-provided scenes of the boat ramp and numerous boats entering and leaving the lake and duck families waddling about and swimming. The birds were a joy to hear. Each evening as we sat on the deck looking out over the water, cool breezes blew and cicadas chirped. The interesting, well-traveled people we met each evening on the deck enhanced our enjoyment tremendously.

Our room was spotlessly clean with a dining table with four chairs, stove, refrigerator, sink, queen-sized bed, sitting area, TV and bathroom.Very comfortable but not posh. Even though the temperatures were near 100, the room was always cool and pleasant. Even though we didn't cook, the big refrigerator allowed us to store wine, champagne, sodas, and whatever else we bought for enjoying on the deck. Because the water in the lake was lower than usual, the walk to swim in the lake was several minutes but well worth the short trek as the water was a great contrast to the hot temperatures and felt wonderful.

We ate breakfast only one morning as we are generally not breakfast eaters, but the one breakfast we had was excellent. Virginie and John, the owners, provided us with all sorts of tips and local knowledge as well as brochures for restaurants, wineries, and other places of interest in the surrounding areas. Their web site proved very helpful and accurate.

If possible, we will return, and we recommend this peaceful, well-kept lodge to anyone seeking a special place to visit in the lake and hill country of Texas.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mmpbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Love the place, we are bringing Mom & Dad back for the Holidays. Best breakfast ever!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomJones60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

We stayed at this lodge for a weekend family trip. The location is beautiful, yes, but it would be much more enjoyable if you were left alone to be with your family. It's all well and good that these people are friendly, but EVERY time we stepped out our door they were there wanting to engage in conversation. The dining room is very small, and forget about having a quiet meal with your family and enjoying the view, because these people will want to talk and talk to you, and then talk some more. I'm sorry but my definition is of a weekend getaway, is just that GETAWAY. Also the room temperatures are first too hot, then too cold, the linens scratchy, the beds too small, the coffee pot is so tiny you'd be lucky to get one cup, and who wants to be warned to put all food in the fridge because there are bugs??? The friendliness really comes to a halt when you unexpectantly have to leave early because of a work emergency, and the first thing they say is no money back. Will never return, THUMBS WAY DOWN!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank txnr05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We love John and Virginia, they are like family after so many years! The location is so enjoyable being right on the lake and can watch the boats, birds, sunset and people! Boat dock very close! So peaceful and bluebonnets galore in the early spring! Festival is the second weekend of April! Try it you'll love it!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mininan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We almost didn't go, but I'm glad we did. What a great little place. My wife and I went for the July 4th weekend. We stayed out on the dock till well after midnight enjoying the fireworks all along the Lake Buchanan shoreline. What a spectacular show!
That in itself would have made the stay worthwhile. But, the room was immaculate and comfy. The amenities were more than adequate. The AC very cold, even in the 100+ degree Texas heat. Breakfast was so good I'm still thinking about it, My favorite was the really good coffee. Hard to find a good cup of coffee.
My wife is a teacher and it was so nice to be at a place that was not over run with kids.
Do we recommend Lakeside Lodge, you bet. As a matter of fact we made reservations for the July 4th holiday next year. Can't think of a better place be.
Our only complaint is their website doesn't do the place justice.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sailormanCedarPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

There is a stove, but you can't cook. There is no microwave. AC was not adequate, Water on lake so far down, not fishing available, not that great a view. Rooms are very small, only shower, no bathtub. Very limited supplies, dishes, etc. Of course, not being able to cook explains that. People are nice, and breakfast was good, at an additional cost of $7.50 per person, regardless of age. It would be ok, if it were advertised differently, but it is really not what they say.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edjboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnet
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Burnet
10.9 mi away
Best Western Post Oak Inn
19.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Lampasas Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Marble Falls-On The Lake
21.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Marble Falls
21.0 mi away
Markward Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Lodge

Address: 201 Lakewood Drive, Burnet, TX 78611
Location: United States > Texas > Burnet
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burnet
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside Lodge Bed & Breakfast on Lake Buchanan, in Burnet County. Located 55 miles northwest of Austin in the scenic Hill Country. Lakeside Lodge caters to travelers seeking a peaceful waterfront setting with a Bed & Breakfast atmosphere. Guests will find clean and comfortable rooms. The lodge also has the most amazing new patio and dock. Great for star watching in the evening. Lakeside Lodge's award winning Breakfast is served daily in the waterfront dining room. Fun things to do in the area are visit the numerous wineries, take a ride on the Vanishing Texas River Cruise, enjoy 940 acres of hiking, the Eagle Eye Observatory all only 4 miles from the lodge. Birding, antiquing, great local independent unique shops are found throughout the Hill Country. Burnet is home to the Hill Country Squadron Museum and Fort Crohgan Museum. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing