We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best parks in TX”

Inks Lake State Park
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Burnet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 1,200-acre state park known for the 803-acre Inks Lake used for fishing, scuba diving and other water sports.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One of the best parks in TX”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We visit and stay at Inks Lake SP at least once a year. It's great for all types of families, couples, etc. There are canoes and paddle boats to rent at the park store. The store has all kinds of things and is like a convenience store. There's also a new small restaurant that has some bar-b-que by the main playground. There's plenty of swimming holes and easy access for all ages. The hiking is great too with a lot of hills and nice rock outcroppings. There's lots of fishing too but I never seem to catch too much. You can rent shelters with bunk beds and A/C but they fill up quick so reserve them early. The kids playground is great and has a large open area where they sometimes have nature talks. The park isn't that big in terms of acres yet it has a lot of great facilities and is kept in great shape.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Aron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    83
    10
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overkill on the "rules"”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you are planning a weekend at this park with the family and think you can sit around your campsite at night and have a glass of wine or a beer and visit (ie, talk in normal voices) with your friends - think again - NO ALCOHOL - and after 10pm NO NOISE - they'll tell you to go to bed because it's "quiet time". If you think you can have the kids ride in the back of the truck with an adult while you drive 10 mph down to the day area for swimming instead of having them all buckled up in their car seats, don't do it - you must follow state highway laws inside the park. Actually, just make sure you go online to their website and familiarize yourself with ALL of the rules, because there are a lot of them, before you decide you want to go here. Now, if you just want to be treated like you are a criminal or juvenile delinquent in general, then maybe this is the place to go.

Let me make a distinction between the "governing bodies" within the park. There are the State Park Police who drive around in white trucks with green logos on the doors, and there are the Park Rangers who are in green trucks. The Park Rangers were really nice and helpful and if you weren't following a specific rule - not because you were trying to be a rule-breaker, but because you just didn't know - and believe me, there are a lot of rules to follow, they would tell you, allow you to correct it and then smile and wave or stop for a chat and answer anything you needed to ask. They were great and what I would expect when you are in a park.

The State Park Police, on the other hand, are extreme - they came by our campsites the first night and gave us a warning at 10:15 pm for a couple of things - that we immediately corrected - but apparently, that didn't make any difference. (Oh, and they don't pull up to your campsite and get out of their trucks to talk to you about the problem, they sneak up into your campsite with flashlights.) From that point forward, the State Park Police trucks would continuously drive by and on a few occasions, would just stop in front of our campsite staring at us for at least 3-4 minutes but didn't get out and say anything or tell us why they were doing this. The kids - ages 11 and under were all scared and freaked out that we were in trouble all the time and I have to say, it was very disconcerting for the adults, as well. This is no way to spend a family weekend. We felt like we were being stalked and that their behavior was crossing the line to harassment - providing security and ensuring public safety is one thing, but this was beyond ridiculous.

I'm sure they don't care, but my family will not go back to this park and I have told and will continue to tell everyone how ridiculous their behavior was. I guess I should have done better research on all of the rules of State Parks - it just never crossed my mind since I'm about as straight-laced as they come and not a rule-breaker - lesson learned.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
29 Thank 3csmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You don't have to cook!!!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

As other reviewers already mentioned, this is a great park! I'm not a very outdoorsy person who likes to camp, but they have cabins with A/C and heater. Also, there is a place where you can get breakfast, lunch and dinner (Chris' landing). They have very good food and the owners are always fun to talk to!.

So, in this park you can still enjoy the fun of being in a park and do all the outdoor activities, but you don't have to sacrifice much :-)

BTW, best sunset ever!!! Way better than at the Oasis (and you can even get better food!).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancycs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salado, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We loaded up the kids and the pop up and headed to Inks for a long weekend. We enjoyed kayaking (they rent them!) and the kids even did a "Kids Kayak Clinic" one day. We visited the Devil's Waterhole and really enjoyed nature that weekend. The general store has most everything you would need and there is also a cafe on the property but we did not visit there, brought our own food to grill. The property was very clean and well kept and was pet friendly! Our pups had a blast as well. Can't wait to go back soon!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetwater, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL LAKE AND CAMPING!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Inks Lake and the State Park, and we'll definitely go back! We loved the sandy beach area - great for playing in the water. We also enjoyed boating and looking at all the beautiful homes on the lake. This is a nice quiet lake where you can feel safe while driving slowly, paddling in a paddle boat, rowing in a canoe or kayak - really a family friendly place!! The camping sites are shady and very well maintained. We were there in a 40 ft. motor home and had a pickup pulling a 19 ft. bass boat and we had plenty of room at our campsite and the boat docks were very nice. We didn't take our fishing gear this time, but we will in the future. Plan a trip to relax and kick back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank n5nar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inks Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing