We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“always enjoyable”

Longhorn Cavern State Park
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Burnet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A state park featuring a Texas Hill Country wonder, Longhorn Cavern was created over many years by the dissolving and cutting action of water on the limestone bedrock. Fossils, Texas history, legends and rumors all play a unique part in the story of Longhorn Cavern. Take a tour (fee applies), hike a trail, picnic, or learn about the Civilian Conservation Corps and its work in Texas parks. Gifts and snacks available for purchase in the visitor center. Daily Guided Tours: Summer (Memorial Day Weekend through Labor Day Weekend) Tours are every day, on the hour, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Winter (Tuesday after Labor Day to Friday before Memorial Day) Tours Monday-Friday are at 11 a.m., 1 p.m., and 3 p.m. Saturday, Sunday and holiday tours are on the hours from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Wild Cave Tours will be offered every Saturday at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m., beginning June 1, 2017 Photography Tours will be offered at 8 a.m. on the first Saturday of every month beginning June 1, 2017 Closed December 25th, Christmas Day.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Oskaloosa, Kansas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“always enjoyable”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We really love these caverns. We always visit when we go down to see family. The kids really love going in them. The walk is not too long so no one gets tired or bored. They have some interesting stories to tell walking through. I know them by heart but still love hearing it again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    116
    15
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“interesting way to spend a couple of hours”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We enjoyed this tour. The guide was very knowledgable and had some interesting stories about what had taken place in the past in this cave. Saw a few cute little bats. The cave is extensive and interesting historical events took place there. Overall, worth the trip. Shouldn't miss it if you're in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jillaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden Central Texas Treasure”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This was a great pit stop with beautiful scenery! My husband and I enjoyed the cave tour. The guide was interesting and knowledgable about the caverns history. I definately reccomend this for couples and families alike.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TXDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas
Level Contributor
177 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“We love caverns”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The drive out to the park offers many spectacular views of the surrounding area. You can even see the dam on the way out to the caverns.

Our tour guide was a retired Police Officer from a large Texas city and he was humerous and very informative and funny.

The weather was amazing the day we were there, nice and cool and breezy. The walk from the entrance to the caverns is quite nice. I learned a lot about Texas and the caverns that I did not know and I found out that they have different events throughout the month there. Such as ghost tours and concerts and the caverns are privately owned, so they can be rented out for special events.

This tour is not as long as some cave tours that my husband and I have been on, but it was still cool, nonetheless.

It would be nice though if other tour takers would have some respect for the tour guide and either not talk while he is talking or at least talk softly so others could hear the tour guide.
There is a gift shop on site and a small snack bar with souvenir cups available.

The restroom facilities are clean enough, but when I was there other customers lifted their small kids up, so they were standing on the wash basin area. I thought that was kinda gross, considering they were just walking on a bathroom floor.

They do offer a Military discount too!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nomadladymedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun and Amazing”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The drive to the caverns was beautiful. There is a great observation tower with iron spiral stairs that you can climb to the top and take some beautiful pictures of the Texas Hill Country. The cavern tour is amazing. It's about 1 1/2 hour and worth very minute.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longhorn Cavern State Park also viewed

 

Been to Longhorn Cavern State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing