We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible cave-- unlike most you have seen”

Longhorn Cavern State Park
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Burnet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A state park featuring a Texas Hill Country wonder, Longhorn Cavern was created over many years by the dissolving and cutting action of water on the limestone bedrock. Fossils, Texas history, legends and rumors all play a unique part in the story of Longhorn Cavern. Take a tour (fee applies), hike a trail, picnic, or learn about the Civilian Conservation Corps and its work in Texas parks. Gifts and snacks available for purchase in the visitor center. Daily Guided Tours: Summer (Memorial Day Weekend through Labor Day Weekend) Tours are every day, on the hour, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Winter (Tuesday after Labor Day to Friday before Memorial Day) Tours Monday-Friday are at 11 a.m., 1 p.m., and 3 p.m. Saturday, Sunday and holiday tours are on the hours from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Wild Cave Tours: Special Events: Longhorn Cavern State Park is a beautiful location to host your special event. Closed Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Incredible cave-- unlike most you have seen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We were camping at Inks Lake State park, which is 6 miles down the road from Longhorn Caverns. We went to the 1pm tour to escape the heat; the cave is 68 degrees year round. The cave is unbelievable! It was made by water erosion from an ancient underground river and is unlike any cave made by drip formation (think Carlsbad caverns). Our guide was quite knowledgable and allowed us time to take all the pictures we wanted. It's an hour and a half tour on uneven ground, that is slick and muddy in places so wear good shoes with traction.

Helpful?
1 Thank Viva_La_Viajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    116
    14
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Park, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Excellent tour with history of the area! Not far from marble Falls!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian,t
Level Contributor
241 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“waited outside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

I did not actually make the tour . Our son and his wife and kids did
They found it really appealing and well worth the money.
He did say he thought the host made about half or more ofthe trip worth the wait and time it took
He says if you get a host like her that did a lot of studying on the area before goingg towork there and was as mush fun and joked around then you will really enjoy it
This is not a tour if you have bad knees or not the best of health it is an hour and a half plus tour and all standing and climbing it is 52 stairs back up.
The wife and I took a look at the observation tower make sure you go to the second level and thenwe did some riding around for a little while
We then just sat in the shade at the park and enjoyed the birds and scenery
It is a nice drive even if not going into the cave itself
The website shows a big pavillion and a place to set and dine I did not see that .The building on the website does not look the same either you did not have to climb any stairs
Something that is really neat is anyone overthe age of 11 can go on a different tour on Sat with a reservationand climb into the other parts of the cave it is about 2 horus long look at the website there is more info

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank doc191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A must-do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

The cave is awesome! The tour is not too long; even I, a claustrophobic, enjoyed it. The guides are knowledgeable and friendly. Heed the notices about slippery floors, low ceilings, etc. The grounds outside the cave are nice, too.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank vsb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very interesting guided tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our guide and the tour was very interesting. It was nice and cool even though it was over 100 degrees outside. It was a nice way to spend an afternoon.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank SpicegirlTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longhorn Cavern State Park also viewed

 

Been to Longhorn Cavern State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing