We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Texas Town Mexican Food”

Garcia's Mexican Food
Ranked #5 of 55 Restaurants in Buda
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Denton, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small Texas Town Mexican Food”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very good food at cheap prices! This is not a fast food place, everything is freshly made. It was very clean, but a little small. I wish it was closer to home. I will go back the next time I'm in the area.
Very cheap, 5 of us ate for less than $40.00.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margielou3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buda, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good and Cheap”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Not bad for fast service, friendly staff and cheap food. We have been going to this restaurant for years and keep going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average or a bit below.”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Nice small quant place. I had Chicken Ranchero Enchiladas with charro beans. Enchiladas had a lot of chicken but sauce was bland. Added some great spicy salsa verde and it was much better. The Charro beans I'm quite sure came out of a can. Chips were good, red sauce (not salsa), tasted like mildly spicy tomato sauce. I asked for corn tortillas, but was given ONE flour.
Mom had beef taco salad in a taco shell. The shell was extremely greasy. Otherwise she liked it.

We will not return, given the vast other places to choose from. Los Vega in Kyle, just 10 mins south is still who I compare other Mexican food places to, and Garcia's does not compare.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jcsflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Tex-Mex”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

It's not a chain and the dishes are unique. Service is great.
Really enjoyed the food.

Only downside is at the time of our visit they did not server any beer or wine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Willem_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fresh, hot and delicious!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This highly recommended restaurant lived up to it's reputation. The food was so delicious! From the chicken nachos, to their bigger lunch menu items, it was all very good. The staff is so sweet and caring. The place to go when in Buda, TX.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garcia's Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing