We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems to be heading the wrong direction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin South - Buda
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buda
Reviewed March 20, 2013

So I have been staying here since its opening and while it is still nice on the inside, it seems like things are going the wrong direction. On this trip I booked same day so the Hampton was sold out. I decided, having stayed at this express, I would again. Easy online booking and a great. Hotel is still looking real nice and the room is clean. My problems . . . No hot water in the afternoon. Is this normal? Cost savings? Not sure. Both the faucet and the shower head must have such a build up of hard water deposits, that neither did anything but barely spray (and I mean spray) water. Morning time, only merger hot water and when your "spraying" water, it doesn't feel very warm. Mix this in with an AC unit that doesn't really do what the thermostat says, and it appears this hotel is more concerned with trying to cut costs and not concerned with customer satisfaction. So all in all, I don't mind this hotel since in a place like Buda, what you really need is a quick stop place that is clean and reasonably priced, but I will not be staying here again personally.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donut44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin South - Buda, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear donut44,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Your comments about the air conditioner has been documented and will certainly be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 104 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

New building, clean rooms, good breakfast, no surprises. All is good in Buda. Decent location between Austin and San Marcos. There is really nothing more to say ... but reviews have a 200 character minimum, so I am still typing...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBoingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The room I walked in was dirty that we checked in. The manager rash was rude. The milk was spoiled for breakfast, I asked the morning worker, Maria to check the date and the milk was one week old and towels in room were stained and dirty, not white!!! There's nothing to do at this hotel. The Internet service sucks too! I wouldn't recommend it to anyone!!!

Room Tip: No kid activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin South - Buda, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Mina R,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. My apologies for your disappointment with your room accommodation and the services you received during your stay. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent 2 nights here in early January 2013. Hotel is only a couple of years old and is located along the interstate about halfway between Austin and San Marcos. The entrance is a little tricky to find off the service road, but just look for the carwash and turn there. The room was VERY clean and VERY comfortable and included a ceiling fan and a small work desk. There was also a small wet bar area with sink, fridge and microwave. The beds had soft mattresses and various pillows. There is an outdoor pool, small business center, and (I believe) a workout room. Wi-Fi and breakfast are included. Breakfast was consistent with the HI Express brand (sausage, eggs, cereals, yogurt, breads, milk, juices, etc.). The night clerk was friendly but not very helpful. Asked for a "nearby" steakhouse and she referred us to Austin, several miles away. Later found there was a chain steakhouse almost directly across the interstate. Oh well. Price was comparable to other area hotels. Overall a great stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel for the Austin / San Marcos area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Friendly staff, great breakfast, and super clean room.As soon as you walk in ,you can tell its a clean place.The location is great,shopping, food,and entertainment are all close by. Staff was very attentive during check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neveragain52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

It appears to be a new hotel and was very nice throughout. A large suite, comfortable bed, and a good hot breakfast made for a comfortable stay. A good location and away from the congestion of Austin. The dining area is large with plenty of room to spread out. No complaints during this stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toomanydaysontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located just off IH-35. On the west side of the underpass are all the stores you could need: Cabela's, A Super Walmart, an H-E-B, and several fast food joints as well. there's even a Starbucks right outside the hotel.

The outside of the hotel doesn't look like much and to be frank the breakfast area wasn't too impressive rather, the the rooms were well appointed, clean and had the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in.

It's a darn good choice for the Buda area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny_James82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buda hotels
0 mi away
Comfort Suites Buda – Austin South Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Buda Austin Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin South/Buda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buda at Cabela's
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Buda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin South - Buda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin South - Buda

Address: 15295 Ih 35, Buda, TX 78610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Buda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buda
Price Range: $89 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin South - Buda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the tranquility and high quality of life of a small town in Buda, home of the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Buda. Located just south of Austin, State Capital of Texas, & the Live Music Capital of the World; Buda is both rich with historical heritage and southern charm. Whether here on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Buda is the perfect place for you. Stroll through historic Main Street, visit Carrington House/Gazebo & Park, Cabela s Outfitters or enjoy the tasting room at Jardine Foods, one of the premier specialty food makers in the state of Texas. Within a short drive experience the Lady Bird Wildflower Center, Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail or go boating on Lake Travis. Buda is where the new frontier for business begins. Jardine Foods, Namasco Steel, Night Hawk Frozen Foods, AHI Supply, and Proto Fab are just a few companies that call Buda home. University of Texas at Austin, Austin Bergstrom Airport and Seton/Hays Hospital are only a short drive away. Whatever your reason for journeying to Buda, we want to make your visit at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites as enjoyable as it can be to unwind in a contemporary decorated guest room or spacious suite and receive the Express Smart Start Breakfast. Free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel. So take time to explore and enjoy Buda and our Texas hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin South - Buda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Buda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing