We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience EVER!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin South/Buda
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Buda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cypress
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Experience EVER!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I am a very frequent traveler both for business and personal. My teenage daughter's soccer team had to be in Buda, Texas the weekend before Christmas for a tournament.This Hampton Inn made the experience amazing. The staff was helpful and friendly. The rooms and bathrooms were all clean, and our girls where able to blow off steam and enjoy the pool and fitness center in December! The breakfast was quite tasty and they changed the menu so we did not have to eat the same thing each morning. We were a large group and I had some problems with billing but one phone call later it was all cleared up. An overall amazing experience, I would recommend for families traveling as well as for professionals on business trip.

Room Tip: Our group had many rooms on various floors and no one complained of noise of other problems. The kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyrk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    112
    40
    7
    7
See reviews for
170
75
20
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We recently stayed here mainly due to the closeness of the Hotel to Cabelas. In fact we could see Cabelas from the room just across the street. I found the hotel to be clean, friendly staff, etc. The room price was higher than Comfort Inn, Holiday Inn, etc but I paid a little more to be off the interstate and convenient to Cabelas. They had a nice continental breakfast within a bigger room than most places provide. The food was good with a variety available. I would rate the breakfast as the best I have had that is included in the package. You get what you pay for, I enjoyed the whole experience and would stay there again. If you stay here, you need to eat at Dan's Hamburgers that is closeby on the Old San Antonio road which Cabelas Drive turns into. Sort of between Cracker Barrel and Walmart. We ate there twice. I don't think it was a national chain. The food was quality. Real meat, real fries, etc. See my review on this also.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanm1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Usually Hampton Inns are pretty close in quality. Some need a bit of updating but even those usually aren't that bad. I spent one night at this hotel during a weekend stay in Austin. If you are traveling to the hotel at night it isn't hard to reach. It was a bit tricky getting to the hotel off the highway but nothing overly difficult. The hotel itself is a bit dated- it isn't in desperate need for an update but could definately use it. What suprised me though were how different the rooms were. The room I had was massive- probably 700 sq feet, had a microwave, and a fridge. Honestly it felt like a suite- now I don't know if I was upgraded or something but this place is definitely somewhere I would stay again if in the Austin area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bittco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Nice enough. Some issues with clean (not clean) carpet. In a "big box, chainy" location. Easy on and off freeway. Overall fine for the short stay we needed. Desk staff not aware of dining options in area. Not engaged or interested. Had to do own research. All told, it was OK for the brief stay we needed. Upgraded to Jacuzzi room -- VERY large, a bit vacant , but nice to have the extra space, and Jacuzzi was nice on a chilly night.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi rooms bigger, would have been great for extra family members. Rooms themselves clean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank definiteopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelousas, Louisiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were looking for a hotel close to Kyle, and this worked out perfectly. Hotel is next door to Walmart and Cabela's, what more could you need :) Several restuarants close by (within walking distance if without a vehicle).

It was a quick 5 minutes to Kyle on the interstate so this was an excellent option for our trip. If you needed somewhere just outside Austin, this is a decent location, especially if a trip to the outlet mall in San Marcos is part of the plan.

We arrived late (past midnight) and they had just cancelled our reservation. I did receive a call earlier that day from the hotel to confirm the reservation, so I provided them with an approximate time for my late check-in, so I'm assuming there was no passdown between shifts. The night shift manager, Luis, was very curtious and apologized for the inconvenience. He quickly entered the appropriate information and got us checked in. He also provided every piece of information needed for our stay.

We only tried breakfast on our departure morning and it met expectations. Cereal, waffles, eggs and a few other hot items. There was even a breakfast-to-go option, a pastry, fruit item, and something else I can't remember.

All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful, and here's another example. One of our keys quit working on the second evening. The manager on duty re-coded our key again and asked us to use the house phone on our floor if it didn't work (he would deliver a new key card to us in person).

We will consider this hotel when needing future accomodations in this area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My family and I have stayed in a fair amount of hotels over the years and, because I'm about as cheap as they come, we've stayed in some real skanky ones. So we were pleasantly surprised when our trip to Austin brought us to the Hampton Inn, Buda. It was a little bit of a drive from downtown Austin (20-30 mins), but totally worth it. The rooms were really nice and the morning breakfast was great. That was a big one for us since I have four kids and eating out breakfast can run us $25-30. Usually hotel breakfasts are doughnuts, coffee, and cereal. Maybe some fruit. But the Hampton Inn-Buda had coffee, juice, muffins, cereal, fruit, yogurt, eggs, sausage, and more. They also had an evening mixer where they offered complimentary soda and beer. And their staff was really courteous. Way more than other hotels we've stayed at. For the price we paid this hotel was a great value. Thanks Hampton.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at this hotel during a recent visit to Austin which is less than 15 miles away. All the other Austin hotels were overpriced and we needed a place to stay after a UT football game. The hotel seems very new and modern. It offers free breakfast which was pretty good and the eating area was nice and clean. Our room was very nice and clean. Only have two small complaints, no mini-fridge in all rooms and too few HD channels on an otherwise very nice LCD TV. overall, very nice stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin South/Buda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin South/Buda

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin South/Buda
Address: 1201 Cabelas Dr, Buda, TX 78610-3421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Buda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Buda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin South/Buda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Buda and relax in a small, "hometown" atmosphere that sits on the edge of the vast cultural wonderland of Austin-the capital city of Texas and the "Live Music Capital of the World." The Hampton Inn & Suites Hotel in Buda is located just south of Austin on NAFTA Highway off I-35, only about fifteen minutes from the University of Texas-Austin and twenty minutes from the Austin-Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin South/Buda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Buda
Hampton Inn & Suites Buda Hotel Buda
Buda Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing