We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Food”

Madden's Casual Gourmet
Ranked #3 of 179 Restaurants in Bryan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Texas
Level Contributor
1,329 reviews
851 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,717 helpful votes
“Great Service and Food”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

By way of background, we have dined a Madden's on a number of occasions. Last night, after being "on the road" for a week, and to escape the trick-or-treaters, I took my wife to Madden's for dinner. Taylor was our server and he did an exceptional job of attending to our dining needs. My wife had the spinach salad and crab cakes, while I selected the spring green salad and a filet with grilled vegetables. We selected a very nice Pinot Noir to accompanying our meal. The food was prepared to perfection. Madden's is a wonderful little restaurant that provides delicious food and friendly and competent service in a pleasing atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJTravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    46
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Terrific atmosphere, excellent food, smaller portions”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

LOVE downtown historical Bryan and was very pleased with the atmosphere and all our food choices for a party of 8. Not a morsel was left on any of our plates. Having written this, portions are small and will leave college age sons hungry (or your wallet empty).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank UniversityParkMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful atmosphere and nice friendly staff! The food is simply Devine! I got the Deviled Egg Cobb salad and it is fresh ingredients and very flavorful! My friend got a sandwich soup combo and the bread is amazing and the tomato bisque soup had chunks of fresh made Mozzarella in it! Amazing!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TBuchanan1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Another successful TripAdvisor search in a city far from home. Madden's stood out to us with fine dining without the pretense. Located in the historic downtown of Bryan, close to the World Famous TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY, Madden's was a beautifully designed restaurant that exceeded expectations. A friendly, knowledgeable staff were as helpful and energetic even though our late night arrival. The food; a brilliant menu of fresh, homegrown ingredients matched by the flair of a master chef. To have such flavorful seafood that far from the coast; meat that you could cut with the butter knife; and desserts that only added to the complete fullness of the night... bravo! Hard for me to designate a favorite restaurant but Madden's was well earned!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PeanutGallery1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodway, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Upscale Food In A Casual Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Attached to a decorator's dream (Old Bryan Marketplace), this quaint restaurant makes you feel as though you've taken a seat at an old friends dining table, and are awaiting some homemade cooking. Dining here for lunch, items of choice were the grilled meatloaf and the grilled chicken. Side items for both entree's were more than ample, and complimented both dishes wonderfully. Service was attentive without being overbearing (ie: drinks were refilled as soon as the glass was close to empty).

The only "slight" complaint - we were seated right next to the door, ergo, every time someone walked in, we would become privy to their parties conversation, which in turn, made it difficult to hear each other. I would recommend calling ahead to make reservations (and specifying a table either in the back or towards the side), as this restaurant seems to be a popular favorite of those in the BCS area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Old-World-Traveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Madden's Casual Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing