We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Dining Experience”

Christopher's World Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Christopher's World Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 182 Restaurants in Bryan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 1/2 mile from University Rd.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
1,341 reviews
858 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,718 helpful votes
“Another Great Dining Experience”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We celebrated a significant wedding anniversary at Christopher's, and we could not have been more pleased with the service, ambiance, and quality of food. Our primary server for the evening was Rebecca, and she did a wonderful job of taking care of our needs. My Bleu Filet was excellent, as was my wife's fish special. A special treat, which Christopher's is known for doing on birthdays and anniversaries, was the personalized dessert my wife received. This is a great restaurant for fine dining. My only wish, and I don't want to seem like an elitist, is that the patrons of this excellent restaurant dressed as well as the staff; this is not a restaurant for t-shirts and shorts.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CJTravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    41
    20
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
814 reviews
584 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Tastes just like at home. Well executed, but not special”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is the third visit to Christopher's and the third time that I left with mixed feelings about this place. No, it is not worth a detour like some suggested. If you are driving to Houston, eat in Houston. If you are driving to Dallas, save the appetite and eat in Dallas (French Room). Plenty of options. But for lack of better options, it is worth a visit here and there. I do emphasize, however, that the food served was very good. Well, almost all food served.

I have never been impressed by restaurants that have to list their accolades smack-in-your-face at the entry. Usually, this merely increases my expectations for the food quality, as well as service. Christopher's did not go beyond expectations...

Note that the setting (and music) are quite nice and reminiscent of New Orleans. Overall the perfect environment for Sunday brunch.

The beignets were likely the best dish I tried on this Sunday brunch. Fluffy, light, not too sugary. Having been at Cafe du Monde in Nola, I must say that Christopher's beignets are indeed better. However, the banana fosters french toast was the biggest culinary blunder I have experienced in the last couple of years. Who in their right mind puts roasted potatoes with onions and bell peppers on a french toast plate? Whose palate are you catering to?!? I would typically suck it up and suffer through the ordeal, but I had to send this atrocity back. Why? Because the menu did not specify that the french toast would be served with onions, an ingredient I am allergic to. I do appreciate, however, that the manager made up for this problem by getting me at warp speed a delicious onion-free french toast, as well as having it removed from the bill. Thank you! Back to the food: The french toast was fluffy, sauce delicious. I would have appreciated if the bananas would have been caramelized. Having had a similar dish at Arnaud's where the bananas were flambeed, this was not as good.

To complete the brunch, I had first the lemon tart (excellent), followed by the banana foster bread pudding (just the way I like it, excellent), and finishing off with the cheesecake. The latter was a let-down. Mary Callender's is (cough...) better.

Drinks came a little late (see, this is what happens when you show off your awards!), espresso cup was not pre-heated. Service was excellent, after the potato-onion-bread-pudding gate. Given the good-looking dessert menu, I think I will be back to sample the rest of the options. However, I do emphasize that the dishes served, while mostly excellent, will not catapult you onto a culinary journey.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelmutsFoodPorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Taste just like home”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I have never had this level of excellence in a restaurant before. I recommend Christopher's to anyone and everyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madcity2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“PROVERBIAL HIDDEN GEM”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were passing through this area when we started to look for a place to eat. The GPS was only showing fast food and no one wanted that so when Christopher's came up we said "let's see what they have to offer". What a treat and pleasant surprise that turned out to be.
Since our 4 year old grand daughter was throwing a tantrum we asked to hostess to seat us away from other guests and she went out of her way to accommodate us. We were all alone in a separate part of the restaurant which was great. Fortunately our GD was quietly pouting so we were able to order steak, seafood and chicken. The service was top notch, the food was prepared and presented like you expect from an upscale restaurant. It was excellent and to top it off our GD decided to join us and the wait staff was happy to oblige. We all had a great time and really enjoyed our visit and the food.
We can all highly recommend Christopher's in Bryan, Texas.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calloused_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX USA
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worth A Detour”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Between Houston and Dallas there is an eating place worth going out of your way to visit. Christopher's isn't cheap and it isn't ordinary but it is exceptional in many ways from the comprehensive menu of expertly prepared dishes to the wine list. Add exemplary service and friendly staff in nice surroundings and you have a sure winner. Dishes are prepared using fresh ingredients and herbs from gardens on the property. You will need reservations most evenings which is indicative of what locals think of the place. It is worth a detour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TXDavid937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christopher's World Grill also viewed

 

Been to Christopher's World Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing