We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant review only.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Villa Bed and Breakfast at Messina Hof
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Bryan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Restaurant review only.”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Wonderful restaurant!! Try the gorgonzola chicken!!! The wine is good and our server (Lisa) was fabulous! This is a great place to go for a special occasion!! I highly recommend taking a walk through the vineyards after your meal, if the weather allows.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daxandthara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    7
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
31
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
College Station, TX
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

The room
We stayed in the Thomas Jefferson room. It had a very old time, antiquey feel. The view wasn't too bad, but the balcony was very small. It was clean and pretty much what I expected. The only weird thing is that we didn't have a doorknob on the bathroom.

The food
The restaurant was very good. The prices weren't cheap, but the food was good. My steak was cooked just right. The wine of course was great. The service was great too.

The food II
The morning we left we were served breakfast in the villa. There was tons to eat. pastries, meats, eggs, juices, and mimosas. And once again the service was great.

The best part about everything was the overall experience. There is a tour with tasting. Nice open wine fields as far as you can see. A pond to walk around. A wine bar with cheese and tons of wines to drink.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tboyd1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

I planned this special event for my mothers 60th birthday. All of my 8 siblings and their spouses came. The attention that we received from Kelly, the Villa manager, was spectacular. We had an upgraded wine tour including artisan cheese from Texas dairies. We tasted the best red wines they made. From the moment we arrived, we were treated as valued VIP's. The upgraded tasting (which we paid $18 each for plus tip and tax) was awesome, the cheese was superb and went perfectly with the wines we tasted. We rented the entire villa, and it was beautiful, charming and perfect for our family gathering. We also enjoyed diner at the restaurant and it too was excellent. Kelly ordered a special cake for our mother's birthday and it was a delightful treat.

All in all, we will CERTAINLY come back. The Villa at Messina Hof was exactly what our family needed for a real re-connecting.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoriLamb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Messina Hoff in general is pretty good and for the location and price it is fine but it is rough around the edges everywhere. The room was nice but there were dead bugs under the bed and in the light fixtures. The staff at the Villas made you feel as if you you were inconveniencing them. The wine bar was fine and the wine is quite good and a good value. The restaurant is average. The steak tasted and looked like it was boiled and the veggies were nearly raw. The service was marginal as well. All in all I would give the following reviews on a 1 to 10 scale:

Hotel Room - 6
Hotel service - 2
Wine bar and wine - 8
Restaurant food - 4
Restaurant service - 5

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

My boyfriend and I drove from Houston and spent one night here. We found it charming and relaxing. The staff were pleasant and friendly. The morning breakfast was very yummy, too. We would definetly go again. The restaurant was nice too.

  • Liked — the serene location
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CCC1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2007

My husband and I just returned from our weekend stay at the Villas of Messina Hof and can't stop raving about our wonderful time! Sammie, the innkeeper, was very attentive and put out wonderful pairings of wine and cheese at the 5 o'clock reception. We stayed in the regal Thomas Jefferson room and were surprised at the enormous size of the room. The balcony was a bit dusty and grimey, but had great views of the rest of the property and some of the vineyard. HUGE bathroom!

We also participated in the Harvest event, picking grapes and stomping them afterward. Such fun!! I HIGHLY recommend coming for this event. All ages would enjoy the festivities.

Perhaps the best thing about the weekend was the owner, Paul. He made the entire weekend extra special. His passion for his vineyard and the wine process was very evident. He was friendly, informative and super funny!! He and his wife, Merrill, have really done a fantastic job with their wonderful winery!! Will DEFINITELY return!!!

  • Liked — too many to choose just one: friendliness of other guests, size of room, view of property
  • Disliked — patio was not very clean
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romasposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for one night and thought the grounds were very beautiful as well as the room and inn decor. The wine and cheese reception and included tour were really nice as well. My favorite parts were the little wine bar (very cool bartender there) and the pond with the fountain water feature. These made for a very pleasant pre-dinner experience.

We ate The Villa Restaurant, which is a part of this facility, and I would not recommend it. My husband's ribeye had absolutely no flavor, and my chicken entree had to be sent back because it was so dry, I couldn't saw through it with my knife. Also, the tomato sauce accompanying the chicken tasted like something poured directly from a can. For 20 bucks and up per entree, we expected much more. The staff was courteous and attentive, but the food was just not good. If you are a guest at the Messina Hof, I would seek food alternatives in College Station/Bryan.

Two complaints about the room (the Venus), specifically the bathroom - the baseboards were covered with a layer of dust, grime and other particles that couldn't have been cleaned in weeks. There was also grime around the toilet hinges. I have seen a Motel 6 with a cleaner bathroom. Also, there were picture hooks all over the bathroom walls with nothing hanging from them. I brought this to the attention of the inn keeper who explained that they had recently done some paint work and hadn't rehung the decorations. I guess that makes sense, but for over $200/night, I expected something a little nicer. It is the little details that make a guest's stay special. The unattractive and unclean bathroom made me want to get in and out as quickly as possible. I would have liked to use the big tub, but wasn't sure what may be lurking there.

So, this may make a nice weekend getaway if they correct these problems, but I would definitely check these areas upon arrival.

  • Liked — wine bar and pond
  • Disliked — food at restaurant, bathroom condition
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercammie, Innkeeper at The Villa Bed and Breakfast at Messina Hof, responded to this review, December 28, 2007
Hello, My name is Cameron and I am the Innkeeper here at the Villa at Messina Hof.
Since I have started we have made a committed effort to assure the cleanliness of each of our rooms, instituting a thorough room inspection policy and an immediate correction policy.
We strive to make each guest’s stay with us as memorable as possible – a stay filled with wonderful experiences and memories.
We have many plans for improvements in the near future. One of the biggest is the opening of a spa in our Villa offering many different spa treatments including hot stone massage and facials.
We are also working with our GM and Executive Chef Ken Ruud to develop a dinner menu for Sunday – Tuesday nights.
Our recently added, Winemaker’s Room features a Wine Bar where you can get your favorite Messina Hof wine by the glass, have a tasting flight, or enjoy one of the many Tapas offerings.
We are available to answer any questions or to take reservations. All youhave to do is call. We look forward to having you as guests and calling you a member of our Messina Hof Family.

Sincerely,
The Villa Staff
Cameron,
Britt, &
Mamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryan
7.8 mi away
The Stella Hotel
The Stella Hotel
#1 of 14 in Bryan
181 reviews
3.6 mi away
The LaSalle Boutique Hotel & 120 Kitchen
2.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Bryan College Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn College Station
4.2 mi away
Ramada College Station
Ramada College Station
#3 of 35 in College Station
574 reviews
5.7 mi away
Vineyard Court Designer Suites Hotel
Vineyard Court Designer Suites H...
#16 of 35 in College Station
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Bed and Breakfast at Messina Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Bed and Breakfast at Messina Hof

Property: The Villa Bed and Breakfast at Messina Hof
Address: 4545 Old Reliance Rd, Bryan, TX 77808-8995
Location: United States > Texas > Bryan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Bryan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villa Bed and Breakfast at Messina Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Texas wine country! Nestled in the heart of Texas, and just minutes away from the Texas A&M campus, The Villa at Messina Hof Winery & Resort hosts 10 beautifully appointed rooms richly decorated with timeless antiques and furnishings from different romantic eras. Included with your stay is a winery tour and tasting, evening wine and cheese reception in the Wine Bar and a delicious European-style champagne breakfast. Experience the romance and the passion of the vineyards, and create some of your own. Come to Messina Hof and join the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Villa Bed and Breakfast at Messina Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa At Messina Hof Hotel Bryan
Hotel At Messina Hof

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing