We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star of Texas Elopement May 11, 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Brownwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We purchased the ultimate elopement package for our wedding. We were happy with our stay and with the ceremony. However, we were a little disappointed with some aspects. According to the elopement package, we were to receive a photo CD of our ceremony. We did receive this because I chose to pay a professional photographer to take photos. I had no idea that the innkeepers were not taking photos and was really disappointed to not have more pictures. I also had let the innkeepers know that I have a nut allergy and requested a nut-free menu. However, nuts were still placed on our cheese tray. I realize that some people do not have allergies to foods and do not understand how bad an allergic reaction can be. I do and I cannot eat foods that are even touching nuts. My husband doesn't eat nuts either so he doesn't pose a threat to me.
All in all, the innkeepers were friendly and kind but I think I hoped to feel just a little more special on my wedding day. I saw pictures on the B & B website of bridal shoes and tattoos on brides; I had awesome shoes and boots and tattoos but had no photos taken of me.
On a final note, we broke a wine glass on our trip home and Deb was kind enough to replace it free of charge for me. I really appreciate that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

I am sorry for the things you were not pleased with. I tried taking pictures behind the photographer, but being it was in the middle of the afternoon, my pictures had way to many shadows to use, I am sorry, as I stated I am not a professional photographer, but try my best. I know your photos from Brian will be great. On the nuts, that was my mistake, you just said no nuts for you, if the word allergies would have been said, I would have been much more cautious and questioned you on it, as I always try to be aware of that. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 156 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked a room for an impromptu motorcycle trip to the Hill Country in the Cottonwood room. The experience was awesome. Don and Debbie pay much attention to detail in creating a "world within a world". Lighting, music, hot tub under the stars, outstanding breakfast....all made an excellent experience. We will return...it's a repeat! Thanks for a memoriable night!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

We love the sound of motorcycles coming down our country lane. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and let us play with the cycles for some photos. Hope to have you come again sometime and hopefully stay longer. deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We decided to take our vows privately and forgo the time and expense of a huge wedding. Star of Texas Bed and Breakfast was the perfect choice. They offer everything to make your day special. The environment is relaxing and away from the busy city. My groom was super relaxed. We enjoyed our hassle free weekend having breakfast delivered to our room and dinner in our room after our wedding ceremony. They did a great job on the vows. It was as special as it was low key. This is a unique property with little surprises everywhere in the natural landscaping that comes right up to the cabins. Food was great, the chef accomodated my groom's celiac disease diet which is gluten free and wheat free. A relaxing and romantic get away. Breakfast is delivered by the most cheerful voice of the B&B owner. We had a great time. I was not able to find a place online that offered a wedding service, spa package, cake, bouquet, breakfast in the room, dinner in the room, etc. without me doing a lot of running people down. This was one stop shopping and saved me a lot of time and stress. Highly recommend if you want a special weekend for anniversary or nuptials without stress of planning every detail. The price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: I like the oak room because it was the most secluded on the property and near the walking trail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracymiller1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for writing a review. We are so happy that you were pleased with your stay and all the packages we do. We try hard to make it as relaxing as possible. Hope to see you again soon. deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast is a beautiful, secluded and relaxing place just minutes outside Brownwood, Texas and just 1 hr. 45 mins. from Abilene, Texas.
Our daughter and son-in-law were married at the Star of Texas, June, 2011. They enjoyed their time so much they purchased my husband and I a gift certificate. When we got on the website to schedule our stay we were pleasantly surprised by the different packages that were available.
The care and detail that is put into the rooms, food, scenery is pampering to the soul. We enjoyed our stay and hope to go back again. It is all worth it.

Room Tip: When scheduling your stay be sure and look at every room and packages on the website so you can be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

We are glad you came and enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks so much for writing a review. We do hope to see you and your "newlyweds", back another time to stay with us. Maybe even try a different cottage out too. deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I can sum up everything about this b & b and our experience in one word - PERFECT! From beginning to end it was the best way to celebrate our anniversary. We choose the Romance package and stayed in the Cottonwood. The room was great and we enjoyed the hot tub, watching the deer come through at dusk, watching all the animals, and sitting outside in a peaceful, quiet setting. Deb and Don were fantastic... they were always there when you needed them, but never intrusive. Absolutely wonderful hosts and the meals were to die for! I only wish I could cook like that. We will definately recommend this b & b to friends and family and we will definately be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan-and-Jeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for helping us move out the 55, hopefully when you come again, we will have something new and fun in that spot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This place is amazing. I decided to take my husband on a surprise bed and breakfast getaway for our anniversary and I was little timid at first because I had never been to Brownwood. But, as I drove in to the dirt road entering the beautiful place, I was amazed. This is a perfect place for a couple to go and just be secluded from the city life. There is so much privacy here and quiet atmosphere which is what we were looking for. We stayed in the cottonwood suite and it was the perfect place. It is very secluded and private with a outside hot tub. At night, you can even enjoy the outside fireplace which is also just for this suite. We made smores here and got the wood from the forest and it was a great adventure. We went on the nature trail which is a must to go to here. It was some amazing crazy stuff to look at. We added the fruit and cheese tray and the romantic dinner as well. These are a must as well. Don and Debbie put a lot of details into their presentation of the food and makes you feel completely special. My husband do not drink alcohol so I asked for sparkling juice instead which was super delicious. The gift shop has amazing stuff as well. We bought the coffee mugs here as a memory. The breakfast was perfect as well. It wasn't like the same food everyday. We stayed for two nights and we got two different breakfasts. The cottonwood is right next to where the chickens and the donkeys live and also there is a trail next to it that leads you to the tipi (must go to explore). We are for sure going to be coming back here. If you want a getaway from Austin/San Antonio/Houston, this place is only 2-3 hours away and you will be getting the perfect package. Thanks don and Debbie for a great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and all we have to offer here. We do hope you will come again, try us in the fall as it looks so different. deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I were able to escape here for the weekend while Grandpa and Grandma watched the kids. We stayed in the Cottonwood, it was exactly what we needed, quiet, peaceful, and relaxing. The place is thoughtfully appointed and tastefully decorated. The breakfasts were fancy and yummy. You have to try the nature trail. Don mentioned that there is usually a “cat escort”, we were not disappointed. We enjoyed all the amenities that came with the room (The Cottonwood has its own outdoor hot tub.) I am recommending this to my friends and we would love to go back.

Room Tip: The Cottonwood has a hottub and WIFI, it overlooks the pond, we watched the deer come in to have a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank goodness for Grandpa's and Grandma's that know how important it is for couples to have some alone time. We are so glad you came and enjoyed it here. We try to always respect a couples privacy, but be here when you need us. Hope to see you again. Thanks deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brownwood hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Brownwood
Hampton Inn Brownwood
#3 of 7 in Brownwood
246 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brownwood
6.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#6 of 7 in Brownwood
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Knights Inn Brownwood
Knights Inn Brownwood
#5 of 7 in Brownwood
31 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Brownwood
8.3 mi away
Gate 1 inn
Gate 1 inn
#4 of 7 in Brownwood
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast

Address: 650 Morelock Ln, Brownwood, TX 76801-0935
Location: United States > Texas > Brownwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brownwood
Price Range: $240 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our Texas Hill country bed and breakfast for romantic weekend getaways. Located close to Brownwood,TX and Lake Brownwood. We are a premier elopement destination in Texas with several elopement packages to offer. For Texas honeymoon getaways, our peaceful cottages offer privacy with hot tubs.We are also a Texas Hill country wine trail lodging. We have been chosen as one of the "10 Coziest B&B's in America". We offer great packages like wine & cheese or spas for your Texas romantic getaway. Come to Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast in the Texas hill country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing