We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a piece of Heaven in Brownwood!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Brownwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Ive never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before. BUT I will say that the Morelocks have created a very high standard if we ever decide to go anywhere else. The only bad thing about this place is that its over 4 hours from Houston. I wish it were closer!

We arrived Friday night, left Monday, and stayed in the Cottonwood. Right away we were greeted and helped with our bags by Don (and the cats!). He made sure that we knew that the hot tub was ready to go for us. Which was one of the first things we did! What a view of the night sky!

Throughout the weekend, we roamed the property and the trail a few times, had a couples massage, and went into town a few times to the suggested restaurants. Nothing disappointed us.. except that some restaurants and wineries are closed on Sundays. Next time we'll arrive Thursday and leave Sunday.

I cant say enough about the hospitality, and the quality of the attention to details in everything by the Morelocks! The food was great! The accomodations were great! The property and views were great! The pets are great (donkeys, and kitties!)!! I cant say enough really.. You'll have to go and experience it yourself. We will definitely be going back!

We wanted a nice relaxing trip out of the city.. and that's exactly what we got and more! We cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropikchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us, we consider this the highest compliment we can get. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and really hope you will come again. Reviews make me giggle!!! deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 156 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I were married this past Saturday at the Star of Texas B &B and we couldn't be happier with the entire experience. The intimate ceremony was perfect and every detail was taken care of from the hand-tied bouquet to the fantastic wedding cake. Our room was delightful, complete with a luxurious bed and jacuzzi tub for 2. We enjoyed massages, an amazing wine, fruit and cheese tray, a fantastic nature trail walk (with the hilarious donkeys), and a gourmet meal, followed by an hour in the hot tub underneath the stars. Who could ask for a more perfect way to start our lives together? Every meal was absolutely delicious and the local wines provided were outstanding. Don & Deb are lovely people and have out-done themselves with this unforgettable Bed & Breakfast. My husband and I are already planning our return visit and can't wait to stay in every room on the property. Thank you Don & Deb for an amazing wedding weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Sabrina, thank you for your review, we had so much fun doing the Celtic wedding and making it a special day for you all. We do look forward to seeing you all again. Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have now stayed in five different rooms at Star of Texas. It is impossible to pick a favorite. The bluebonnets were beautiful. The breakfast was fantastic. Service was excellent. Always consistently good.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atowndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMStar, Innkeeper & Baker at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

I'm so thrilled to hear that you have stayed with us 6 times! Wow! Consistency is definitely key in running any business. We have been re-decorating some of our rooms, so you will have something new to look forward to on your 7th stay. We appreciate you!
Becca Morelock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was a great place for my husband and me to go! We really enjoyed the peaceful nature walk with our dog, the beautifully decorated Oak Cottage, and the delicious breakfast! We really enjoyed the hot tub under the stars! This will be a trip that we remember and hold close to our hearts forever. Thank you for everything Morelocks!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thanks so much for your review, I love seeing the word "restful", we all need that so much in our busy lives that we do want guest to come and really rest. Hope to see you again soon. deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast was everything I hoped it would be and more. We wanted to get married without the stress that it comes with. Don and Debbie were wonderful, the atmosphere was perfect, and the environment was beautiful! The food was incredible, especially the wedding cake! We could not have picked a better place to start our lives together. Thank you!!

Room Tip: The Wildrose Retreat was very peaceful and secluded. It was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for writing a review for us. We are happy that you were pleased with your stay and do hope you will come again. Becca does an excellent job with baking our wedding cakes, everyone loves them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have found heaven on earth at The Star of Texas B&B in Brownwood Texas! From the second we started down the country road to the B&B I felt my troubles and stress melt away. We stayed 3 days in the most delightful shabby chic cottage that was so romantic we did not want to return to our home. The owners / innkeepers Don & Debbie are very friendly yet not intrusive so you feel at times you are alone on the property. While there we had couple massages to die for, long hikes around the picture perfect property, time in a dry sauna to melt away tension, 5 stars meals prepared by Debbie, a gorgeous canoe trip down the last Bayou in West Texas, and the grand finale was our elegant elopement ceremony performed by Don which was an experience that my husband and I will never forget. I have traveled many places in my lifetime and never have I come across a place I felt more at peace. I would strongly recommend The Star of Texas to anyone who wants a getaway or a couple wanting a romantic experience at a more then fair cost.

Room Tip: The Wild Rose cottage was so romantic with wonderful decor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAMARA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

We are so glad that you had such a wonderful time with us. It was a fun time and great ceremony. We do hope to see you again for an anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This was the first time at Star of Texas B&B. We had such a relaxing time there. The picture window was fantastic to watch the rain and the metal roof echoed the rain drops. The donkeys were so cute and friendly. The breakfast was "yummo". We will definitly keep this place in our file of favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhjaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

That is what we love to hear that you came and relaxed!!! We do hope to see you again and thanks for spreading the word for us. Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brownwood hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Brownwood
Hampton Inn Brownwood
#3 of 7 in Brownwood
245 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brownwood
6.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#6 of 7 in Brownwood
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Knights Inn Brownwood
Knights Inn Brownwood
#5 of 7 in Brownwood
31 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Brownwood
8.3 mi away
Gate 1 inn
Gate 1 inn
#4 of 7 in Brownwood
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast

Address: 650 Morelock Ln, Brownwood, TX 76801-0935
Location: United States > Texas > Brownwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brownwood
Price Range: $240 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our Texas Hill country bed and breakfast for romantic weekend getaways. Located close to Brownwood,TX and Lake Brownwood. We are a premier elopement destination in Texas with several elopement packages to offer. For Texas honeymoon getaways, our peaceful cottages offer privacy with hot tubs.We are also a Texas Hill country wine trail lodging. We have been chosen as one of the "10 Coziest B&B's in America". We offer great packages like wine & cheese or spas for your Texas romantic getaway. Come to Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast in the Texas hill country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing