We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring break getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate
Ranked #3 of 6 Brenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We traveled with our kids on a spring break trip to visit the Blue Bell Creamery and decided to try a B&B with them for the first time. We first checked with another B&B in downtown Brenham, but they did not allow children, which worked out well for us because we loved our time at Far View. We stayed in the carriage house which was perfect for us and our two kids, as there is one king sized bed and two twin beds in a separate room.

It was too cold to swim but we enjoyed using the hot tub, which was nice and clean. The pool looked clean as well and very inviting, nestled in the beautiful grounds.

We ventured downtown for dinner and dessert (Blue Bell ice cream, of course) and it was a short drive through a pretty neighborhood. Our tour at the creamery was only about two miles away, so Far View was very conveniently located.

Steve was very nice and, even though we are not dog people, he had a very friendly dog that even we loved. Our only disappointment was that Steve had to be away in the morning and was not there to prepare breakfast so we ended up with cold cereal and pastries, which didn't really satisfy the "breakfast" part of our B&B experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McKinneymom517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 150 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night as a side trip on our way to Galveston. We really just wanted to grab some Blue Bell ice cream from the factory but I saw the B&B listings on tripadvisor and decided to slow the trip even more by staying one night night in Brenham. Extremely glad we did! Far View is a wonderful B&B in a historic old home! The landscaped grounds were picturesque and quiet. We stayed in one of the pool house rooms which was really nice with a gas fireplace, jacuzzi tub, separate shower, microwave and mini fridge. We didn't try the pool (too cold in Feb of course) or the hottub (just didn't get to it) but both looked great. There was also an outdoor covered patio/bbq area just off pool that would be super for hanging out during warmer times. The breakfast was excellent and our host (Steve) was very welcoming and accomodating. We shared B&B experiences with a very nice couple in the sunlit breakfast area while lingering over the food and coffee. Good thing we weren't in any hurry. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanCinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our first visit to Brenham and we stopped here to break up the drive to the port of Galveston. What a lovely B&B!! Stayed in the Library room (funny tiny sink!) which was really convenient and avoided the bag drag up the stairs. Breakfast was a wonderful quiche served quickly in a beautiful sun room dining area. I would have loved to stayed longer to explore the grounds and the town. Guess I'll just have to come back! Thank You!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Far View and really enjoyed our stay. The room was excellent, breakfasts were a delight, coffee, tea (and even beer!) was available 24/7, our host (Steve) was very friendly and made us feel totally welcome. The property is convenient to downtown Brenham. It is nicely laid out, with many seating areas indoor and out to sit and relax. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AK_SanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I just returned from my third stay at Far View. I've always stayed in one of the two pool house suites. Each has a gas fireplace, a big Jacuzzi tub in the room, plus a shower in a separate bathroom. There is a small butler's pantry with a mini-fridge and microwave in the room. The pool house was designed in keeping with the original 1925 house with open eaves and keystones and stained glass windows. The entire estate is beautiful, wonderfully decorated and landscaped. Steve is a perfect host and breakfast is always fabulous. Looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: I've only stayed in one of the two pool house suites. Each has a wonderful jacuzzi tub in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine_in_Tulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very friendly owner ( Steve) and chef extraordinaire ! The breakfast is to die for, wonderfully presented, I felt like a treasured guest. The room we stayed in was the Library Room, it was cozy & charming, the bathroom is very cozy but functional. This was built in 1925 and the house has all the decor & charm of that period with modern amenities. Beautiful pathways to stroll through and other amenities (pool, covered outside party/BBQ area with kitchen, hot tub, etc) that we might use when we stay there next time. I would really recommend this B & B over a motel/hotel anytime! Great for family or party gatherings as well. A definite A+++ !

Room Tip: On a budget? Or just a couple looking for something different? The Library Room will suit your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsRamirez6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We visited Brenham for the first time and loved staying in this cute B&B that is so close to downtown! We stayed in the carriage house which was perfect for my husband and my toddler daughter. We had room to spread out and it was great having a small kitchen. The house is so cozy and decorated very nicely. The outside grounds are gorgeous with various paths to roam around and there is a wonderful outdoor pool too! Breakfast was delicious and the owner was so friendly. We highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Carriage house has two bedrooms, two full baths, and a kitchen. Great for small family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetJosieCakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brenham
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brenham
1 mi away
Ant Street Inn
Ant Street Inn
#1 of 6 in Brenham
293 reviews
23.8 mi away
Night Bird Ranch
Night Bird Ranch
#1 of 1 in Ledbetter
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Inn of Brenham
0.6 mi away
Coach Light Inn Brenham
Coach Light Inn Brenham
#3 of 11 in Brenham
223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palace Inn Brenham
Palace Inn Brenham
#7 of 11 in Brenham
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate

Address: 1804 S Park St, Brenham, TX 77833-4849
Location: United States > Texas > Brenham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Brenham
Price Range: $106 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing