We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate
Ranked #3 of 6 Brenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restful haven”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed her over labor day weekend in the Star Room. This bed and breakfast comes as advertised. It is a great old home with very welcoming owners. Steve is a fantastic host, loves to chat, and has great recommendations for the area. Many of the other guests this weekend were repeat customers, which says a lot as well. The balcony from the Star Room is shaded in the evenings and since the property sits high on a hill, there was a nice breeze so it was nice even in 90+ degree weather. The bed was very comfortable and the whole house was very clean. The pool, hot tub, and grounds are amazing. Although you could see the repercussions from the drought on the grounds, it was still very well kept. The breakfasts are quality as well with lots of fresh fruit. They also have a very nice outdoor kitchen by the pool with a grill that you can use as well (for a small fee). If you have a large party with you, it would be nice to use this to cook a meal poolside! The only negative comment I have is that it was hard to nap here during the day. The walls seemed somewhat thin and we would hear others throughout the house and even outside. They do have quiet hours from 10pm to 6am, so it was very quiet at night, just not during the day. Overall, I would highly recommend, just go nap by the pool during the day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    22
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
73
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Was fortunate to stay at Far View 4/22-4/24 while on business. I've stayed at the local hotels in Brenham which leave a lot to be desired. The grounds, house, and pool/spa areas are unbelievable. Didn't expect to wake up with birds chirping and trees shading the room from heat. Steve, the host, is absolutely terrific. Rooms have charm. I have absolutely nothing negative to say and would recommend this to couples, business and solo travelers alike.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

One of many B&B's we have visited during our trips to Brenham and the BEST one yet! We stayed in the Pool suites and felt as if we were in our own little B&B, yet Steve's wonderful breakfast was just across the court yard and his hospitality "Top Notch". Will make this our home away from home when visiting Brenham.

Go and Enjoy, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Pool rooms felt secluded, yet close enough to the main house for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I have never stayed at a B&B so we did not know what to expect. To our pleasant surprise, Far View was a great getaway. We spent a few days there and truly enjoyed the ambiance, landscaping and history of the mansion. The owner, Steve, was most welcoming and accommodating. The home cooked breakfasts were better than restaurant meals.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We felt like we were in a secluded resort on the large property surrounded by flowers, plants and trees. Quiet place with a great pool to escape the heat. Steve, the owner was a fun conversationalist and made a great breakfast, I loved the Flavia coffee maker. Generous discounts. The grounds and home are well done.

Room Tip: Less expensive rooms are a bit small. Blue room was very nice but not enough counter space especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelj77092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

What a great bed and breakfast and great little town. I went to Brenham to visit a friend who just purchased a vacation home out there. Far View was a terrific place to stay - hidden away, quiet, lovely scenery. Steve cooked a fabulous breakfast the next morning. I highly recommend this place. I'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: I was in a room in the main building and was very comfortable but if you want to feel secluded get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed here for our anniversary and had a nice, relaxing time. Grounds are kept clean as well as the rooms and common areas. Friendly inn keeper and stocked kitchen with coffee and tea maker. Nice breakfast, although both mornings it mainly included a type of egg casserole (along with a meat) and we are not egg eaters. I'm sure people who eat eggs loved it though- looked delicious.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AftonNichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brenham hotels
0.6 mi away
Coach Light Inn Brenham
Coach Light Inn Brenham
#3 of 11 in Brenham
210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brenham
1.4 mi away
Best Western Inn of Brenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brenham
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 11 in Brenham
70 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Brenham TX
Super 8 Brenham TX
#4 of 11 in Brenham
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate

Property: Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate
Address: 1804 S Park St, Brenham, TX 77833-4849
Location: United States > Texas > Brenham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Brenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing