We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate
Ranked #3 of 6 Brenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Even though I bungled the first nights reservation, we were pleasantly greeted and promptly accommodated despite our late and unannounced arrival. After three very pleasant nights in two beautiful and clean rooms we departed relaxed and refreashed. The breakfasts were delicious with generous portions. With well informed recommendations by the host, we explored the area sights and restaurants with memorable results. The historic house is quite and comfortable with ample areas to sit and walk about the grounds. The balcony off our room provided additional opportunity to enjoy the mornings and evenings. We will definately stay here on our next trip to Brenham as well as recommend it to others traveling in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balcony access provide an extra opportunity to enjoy the outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougFromDalllas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    22
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
73
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West University Place, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We decided to get out of Houston spend a weekend tasting Texas wines on the Bluebonnet Wine and Cheese Trail and needed a place to land on Saturday night. A quick Internet search yielded many options, but this one stood out. It did not disappoint!
The building is a lovingly restored historic home - not restored in that fussy country kitschy way, but tastefully and restrained. The rooms are pleasant and comfortable, and very clean. The grounds are very well maintained. It felt a bit like a sanctuary with wonderful landscaping. There are several small patios and covered areas for quiet time for conversation or reading or watching the big game on the strategically placed televisions. We were only here for a quick overnight, but the pool area and the extensive outdoor kitchen area would make it terrific for a longer stay - maybe a great place for a group reunion.
Breakfast was hearty and enjoyable but the star was definitely the house and grounds. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: the garden room is quite small. Good for a night or two, but it could be confining if you stay for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallaceBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Though I wish we could have enjoyed more for the short time we were there everything was very comfy. We stayed in the Hasskarl room and it was about 10 at night by the time we got there. All of our instructions were at the front door just like promised, it was easy to get in and find our room without making too much noise. A/C definitely worked in room, shower took a little while to get warm and pressure could have been a little better, but that's really my only complaint. Bed and pillows were so comfy and I'm picky. Breakfast in the morning was very good, a nice mix of tastes and not too heavy so we could enjoy a day of walking around downtown. The owners were great showing us everything we could do around town. I would hands down stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXStacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Far View is a charming Inn estate. Very close to downtown Brenham with several restaurant options. We had two rooms with a connecting balcony that was very pleasant to enjoy both morning and evening. They provide a very interesting history about the original family and the building and history of Far View. The grounds had many paths and areas to explore. We felt that we had stepped back to just after the turn on the last century when the house was built. Inn Keeper Steve was friendly and helpful. A wonderful breakfast. Overall a great value and pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greene1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Far View. The Pool Room Suite was lovely, clean, & peaceful. Our breakfast was delightful, & the grounds were enchanting.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEHaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The home is fabulous! Beautiful and restful, lots of places on the property just to hang out and be comfortable. The Blue Room was large and the bed so comfy! It was a wonderful experience! Steve is a great host as well!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This was the first B&B my husband & I have stayed at. It was wonderful! Steve, one of the innkeepers, was very friendly and personable. He offered dinner options in the area to take my husband for his birthday. Our bed in the Blue Room was comfortable and our private bathroom the cleanest we have ever seen. The grounds are well kept even with the lack of rain & we found it very relaxing to sit on the front porch just reading & chatting. The breakfast was hot & delicious. We look forward to the next time we can stay there & would definetly recommend to others!

Room Tip: Look at all the pictures available when choosing a room. They have very good descriptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brenham hotels
0.6 mi away
Coach Light Inn Brenham
Coach Light Inn Brenham
#3 of 11 in Brenham
210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brenham
1.4 mi away
Best Western Inn of Brenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brenham
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 11 in Brenham
70 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Brenham TX
Super 8 Brenham TX
#4 of 11 in Brenham
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate

Property: Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate
Address: 1804 S Park St, Brenham, TX 77833-4849
Location: United States > Texas > Brenham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Brenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing