We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice evening”
Review of Ernie's Restaurant - CLOSED

Ernie's Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
374 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very nice evening”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Loved our table by the window. Loved the mural on the wall. Very good menu, and the food was delicious. The server was very busy, but took good care of us. He recommended a "mystery" wine that we took a chance on and enjoyed very much!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank auvoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    7
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brenham, Texas
1 review
“Poor Service and fair food”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is the 2nd time we went to Ernie's and both times the service was terrible. The last visit was Valentines. We sat at the bar to get a glass of wine while our table was being set up. No one even asked us for a drink. Got to the table and the waiter asked for our food order; did not even bring us a glass of water. Ordered 2 glasses of wine which took about 10 minutes to get. Was never asked for a drink refill during the whole meal. Plates were never cleared when we finished and had to eventually ask for the bill, which upon review had a bottle of wine charged to it we did not have. Food was slow in coming out but was OK; we've tasted better for the price. We talked to a few other individuals who had Valentine's dinner at Ernie's and they expressed the same opinion about the service.
Al and Jean

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always Delicious!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Amazing food in a lovely, casual atmosphere with an excellent staff. Earnie's never disappoints. Our very first date was there and we return to the scene of the crime as often as we can and the restaurant just keeps getting better and better!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank texaschacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool place”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

All was good - service, food, not a long wait, friendly people, atmosphere. We would definitely go again. We liked the variety of the menu, and we walked to/from our hotel on a crisp evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service. Food, so, so.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After looking at the menu online and seeing some great reviews we decided to try Ernie's. The restaurant was empty when we got there around 8 p.m., the hostess was a little standoffish, but our waitress was great and friendly. My fiance had the trout, it was delicious! I had the meat loaf and it was a bit odd. The texture was almost like foie gras, not like traditional meatloaf. For the price and the quiet atmosphere, Ernie's was good, but not great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amc0039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernie's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing