We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a Stop”

Big Daddy's Barbecue
Ranked #48 of 69 Restaurants in Brenham
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth a Stop”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

While waiting in line I saw several signed celebrity photos thanking "Big Daddy" but the signage on the highway invites you to stop at Nathans. I think Nathans is the new name. Stopped on my way to Austin on a Sunday afternoon. Folks were lined up about thirty to forty deep but the wait was no more than about 15 minutes. I ordered a sliced beef and a sliced pork sandwich. Both were very good. The sauce used here is a sweet sauce similar to a Kansas City style. I like it so no complaints. The sandwiches were good, the staff business like but not unfriendly, and the dining area very clean. Lots of happy kids and families. There is also an area for dining outside. I've made special trips or gone out of my way to eat at places I've really enjoyed. I wouldn't do that for Nathans but I would definitely stop again if it was on my way. Hint: If you want take out go directly to the register to order.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Solid Texas BBQ”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I decided to give Nathan's BBQ a try on my way from Austin to Houston. A few other people in front of me were also first timers to the restaurant so they gave us a sampling of all their meats: sausage, pork, beef, brisket, and chicken (which was surprisingly good). I ended up getting a brisket sandwich with a side of potato salad. The brisket was delicious and very well complimented by their BBQ sauce, which wasn't too watery and pretty flavorful. The potato salad was decent, but nothing to write home about and was very heavy on the mayo and no other flavoring. Overall, Nathan's BBQ was pretty good and the staff was friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Texas BBQ.....”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on a trip from Austin at a recommendation from a nearby store clerk. Restaurant was clean and good family atmosphere. It was connected to gas station/convenience store right off the expressway. I ordered a rib dinner. I was disappointed with the ribs. They were very tough and chewy. I think I got the ends from several slabs instead of center pieces. The sauce, beans, and cornbread were excellent. The potatoe salad a little to creamy for my taste. Next trip I will request fresh ribs cut from a slab instead of leftover pieces from other slabs. Staff was courteous and helpful. By the way my wife enjoyed her meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KidInfiniti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Also Nathan's Barbecue”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten at Nathan's twice. Both times had their brisket, but it was too grizzly. Maybe i just got a bad cut each time, but i was a little disappointed. The sausage is pretty good. Location is real convenient when traveling from Austin to Houston.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackson66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Q”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We liked the reviews we read so we decided to see for ourselves. We were not disappointed. While not a fancy place, after all it is barbeque, the food was great, I had the stuffed potato, and my husband had brisket and pork. It is a very casual place. While we were eating we got to enjoy "the piano man" who entertained us. The whole experience was great!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank joannakelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Daddy's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Big Daddy's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing