We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great typical Tex-Mex” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manuel's Mexican Restaurant

Manuel's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 68 Restaurants in Brenham
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
La Grange, Texas
Level Contributor
259 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great typical Tex-Mex”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

Always on the look out for a good Mexican Restaurant, we ran into this one in Brenham. Since our favorite place closed, we were happy to find this. The noon buffet was a good value, and very good. Seems like it changes daily, but has a nice variety.
The menu items are decently priced, but the buffet still is a much better value.

The tables were cleaned off promptly, and at first glance the place seemed clean. I didn't go to the ladies room, so can't comment on that. However, when we were leaving, I noticed a large clump,of dirt and crud next to the entry/exit door. Very unappetizing. Perhaps I'll go back and see if it's better next time, although it had obviously been there quite some time for there to be so much there. YUCK.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lggg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mexican breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We had breakfast there this morning. I am not a big Mexican- for -breakfast fan but I did enjoy my breakfast taco. I was able to order it the way I wanted it- potatoes, eggs, bacon, cheese, cilantro and onions. Had I known they were the smaller "street tacos" I would have ordered 2. It did take our food awhile to arrive though so I was hungry when it came. No chips and salsa were delivered... maybe they don't do that at breakfast.... or maybe theyvhave to be requested.... The parking was a mess. They have a small lot that was packed and people parking all over the street. That was a bit stressful. I will go back and order 2 tacos next time though!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not impressed much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Decided on Manuel's after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. Neither my husband nor I were impressed much. The place was cute, we were seated quickly, and our server was friendly enough, however, we both thought the food was less than delicious. I don't think I even ate half of mine. My husband cleaned his plate, but added everything he could find on the table to season his chile rellenos. Just no flavor. We love Mexican food and were looking forward to our dinner, just were less than thrilled with it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dawnlangl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
372 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Just like eating st your friend's house. ZMexicsn home cooking. The staff-Eric, Armando, Elizabeth, even Manuel himself, and others make you feel at home. Enchiladas, Quesadillas, and specials are fantastic. Best Mexican Restaurant in the region!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank albebuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
171 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Really Good Mexican Food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

What can I say, I love mexican food! This place had really good hot sauce and chips. I chose the fajita nachos as a meal, they were made with the melted nacho cheese and had plenty of meat and refried beans. My husband had the beef enchilada plate, he was just as happy, good refried beans, good rice! We will be going back when in the Brenham area!! Service was OK, a treat is the free ice cream cone after the meal!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank proudmarinemom06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manuel's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing