We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour could have been slightly better.”

Blue Bell Creameries
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Brenham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This ice cream has been a Texan treat since 1911.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tour could have been slightly better.”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We made it here just in time for the 10 AM tour. The ticket people were very nice and they have lots of exhibits to look through when waiting for the tour to start. The lady who did our tour seemed very nice and knowledgeable about the company, but my husband who has engineering background wished there was more info on the machines themselves. You get a free scoop of ice cream at the end. You can purchase extra scoops for $1, but they really are HUGE scoops.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GrizzFan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    124
    20
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great value for money but go early!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

A great place to spend an hour or two. The tour is fun and lasts around 35-40 minutes with the onus of ice cream at the end. Extra scoops are only $1! Tours get booked up early and only run Monday through Friday. Get there early and no later than lunch otherwise you may not be lucky. Tours were $6 each so not expensive and interesting for kids too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank GirlGuideHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Fun Factory Tour”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great tour and for ice cream lovers (like us) a don't miss. We went on a Wednesday and it was fairly busy so allow time for a delay in start of tour. Of course the bluebonnets are out now which may have been part of the reason for the crowd. It is so hard to pick a flavor for your free sample but lots of ideas on what to try in the future. There is a charge for the tour but they do have discounts for seniors. We didn't buy tickets online due to is a day trip for us and we wanted to go when weather was good and so we had to wait about a hour for tour but we spent time in little general store and the lobby museum.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James and Sandr... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The visitor's area is very nicely done. We had bought tickets online only to realize that we were not going to be able to make it at the time and day that we had purchased them for. We showed up a day early and they said no problem to switch. The tour was a bit sterile...as I am sure it has to be. I would love to have seen the mixing of flavors, etc. But you see, instead, lots of piping, machines and people. It was still fun. About an hour tour and a scoop of ice cream at the end!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank horsefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Blue Bell is heaven in Brenham”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

A must see stop for those traveling to Brenham. See where the best ice cream in the country is made and get a fresh taste at the end of your tour. Check out the gift shop for logo items and a memento of your trip to Brenham. Reservations are necessary for groups and individuals during spring break and peak season so call ahead so you won't be disappointed and get to go on a tour. Worse case scenario is that you'll only get to shop and taste the ice cream ~ not a bad deal !!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Agmomkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Bell Creameries also viewed

 

Been to Blue Bell Creameries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing