We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of Ant Street Inn”
Review of Brenham Grill

Brenham Grill
Ranked #16 of 69 Restaurants in Brenham
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pasadena, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Part of Ant Street Inn”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Their mexican food options were great. The margaritas not so much. Breakfasts were excellent, and made to order.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ksmee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    21
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We were in Somerville for the weekend and decided to attend the Bluebonnet Festival in Chappell Hill. We were looking for a place to eat breakfast so decide to drive through the town of Brenham for a place to eat breakfast. This establishment had an "open" sign so we decided to try it. Cute place. Lots of stained glass. Very friendly staff. Nice breakfast. Nothing spectacular....just a nice, quiet breakfast.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank blakbimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average Food Nice Quiet Place to Meet Friends”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The food is very average but it's a nice quiet place to meet friends and have conversation. Service is not the greatest but staff is very friendly and try hard to accommodate. Just a nicer atmosphere than Chili's or Applebee's where it's always so noisy and food is no better in my opinion. If you're in downtown Brenham give them a try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Agmomkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Place”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

If you're looking for cheap, delicious food that is quick and not fast food, you are in the correct spot. Food is amazing and affordable. I always stop here if I am in town at dinnertime.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
560 reviews
375 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“Average Food, Terrible Service, Filthy Restroom Doors”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were in Brenham this past weekend and was looking for a nice place to eat downtown for dinner after the Uptown Swirl Event. Inside the Ant Street Inn was a nice looking restaurant...small but looked less "café/soda fountainish" than most places in Brenham.
There was a short wait and we were seated and were handed menus and our drink order was taken by a nice bus service girl who at first I assumed was the waitress. We decided on the Queso Appetizer and a couple of hamburgers. The actual waiter appeared and took our order...nice guy. The queso was brought to the table fairly quickly by the busser. The cheese was very watery and the chips I swear were Tostitos right from the bag! The salsa was actually pretty good, certainly didn't taste home made but it was tasty. What seemed like forever the burgers finally arrived and they weren't to bad, the steak fries were obviously from frozen and were just blah...no seasoning no nothing.
The worst thing about Brenham Grill was the service. The restaurant was not fine dining per se however they are certainly trying to appear higher end than any place we walked past in the downtown square area. The staff dresses very nicely and the tables are all set with double white linens. Its a small intimate setting with only 12-13 tables...it appears that the room was a=the hotel bar at one time. So with that being said I expected good service. Although our tea glasses were filled regularly they never picked up the used appetizer dishes even though it was obviously we were finished with them. They never even picked up the discarded "Sweet & Lo" packets. The table was a mess. No excuse for that in my opinion what so ever. We only saw the waiter twice...when he took the order and when he dropped them off. He never came to check on us, never came to see if we needed anything, never even asked us if the meal was prepared correctly. No excuse...
After dinner I went to the restroom that is located in the lobby of The Ant Street Inn. I was appalled, if not sickened by how filthy the doors entering the rest room was (see pics)! Both the outer door and inner door looked like I was at a nasty roadside bathroom. Horrible that a place as nice as The Ant Street Inn appeared to be would not clean the doors...it would have to take a long time to get this bad, not just a couple of days of neglect. Honestly makes me personally question the cleanliness of the rest of the place...
It took me four times of making eye contact with him and doing the "signature in the air" symbol for the check...in fact he still didn't bring it over the same young bus person did and she even took our cc to ring up the tab and return it.
We loved Brenham and plan to go back regularly since it is so close to Houston but will never return to The Brenham Grill.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Montecore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brenham Grill also viewed

 

Been to Brenham Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing