We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brenham Grill”
Review of Brenham Grill

Brenham Grill
Ranked #16 of 69 Restaurants in Brenham
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Eureka, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brenham Grill”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Everything! Even though the wonderful breakfasts are complimentary with your stay at the Inn, I would gladly eat there anytime. The food was amazing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mlow8407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    21
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Mexican Restaurant playing like it is a Grill...”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

In the heart of historic Brenham (home of Bluebell Icecream), is the old Capital Grill, now named the Brenham Grill. The owners do a pretty fair job with their Mexican food, and even have an inexpensive but limited wine list. The normal grill fare is pretty dull. We tried the fried Calamari, it was obviously pre-packaged, frozen and breaded stuff... almost inedible. One of our party tried the Tex-Mex food, and found it to be passable - but not great... I had the 'tenderloin' which was not bad, though I did order the Strip... Prices are reasonable, the room is unique, with a giant tiffany-style lighting fixture almost covering the restaurant ceiling. Service is OK, a small spot, with only about 12-15 tables. We would go back, simply because it is one of the few dinner spots in Brenham.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hunter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have been to the Brenham Grill in the past and thoroughly enjoyed the food. A bit disappointed this time. The salsa is still very good. My husband had the chicken fried steak with okra and mashed potatoes. Okra is just your normal frozen fried okra. I had the carne asada - not very good. If we go again - will go back to the hamburger to see if it's still good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryRandi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food; shame about the service”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Food and drinks were excellent; shame about the slightly grumpy waiter who tried to kick us out at 8.10pm. A lovely little spot in the Ant St Inn which continues the hotel's stained glass theme impressively.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thechintzfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice quality dinner”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our gluten free dietary needs were addressed and met with excellence. The salmon dinner was delicious. The beef filet we ordered medium but came rare (medium-rare). The host immediately remedied it and we were served a most delicious steak filet. The atmosphere is also very nice with a gorgeous chandelier in the middle. Definitely a must for a nice dinner stop!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BreezyBalmyPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brenham Grill also viewed

 

Been to Brenham Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing