We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Find on a Fun Family Day”
Review of Southern Flyer Diner - CLOSED

Southern Flyer Diner
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
college station, tx
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun Find on a Fun Family Day”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Did a moms day for my wifes birthday with our daughters and drove to Brenham for a Blue Bell Creameries tour and a first trip to this airport diner we keep hearjng about! Wow! The food was fresh and hot and the ambiance was just great! We will go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brewsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    58
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good food and very neat place”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I overheard the owner saying that while they are famous for burgers, burgers are not the best thing on the menu. And while I only had a burger, I could definitely see that. The burger was certainly very good - very homemade - you can see and taste the spices in the meat just like making patties at home.

The fries were ok - battered frozen variety but still tasty.

And of course they serve Blue Bell milk shakes (and malts and floats). The chocolate shake is made with half vanilla ice cream and syrup and half chocolate ice cream. And the vanilla shake tasted like it may have had some vanilla syrup in it because it was very vanilla and very good. You do get the cup plus what is left in the tin, so that is a good value.

The location and building are fantastic - cute little airport terminal building, and they have an inside seating area which is classic diner with a jukebox and an outdoor screened in patio with swamp coolers overlooking a little lake next to the runway. So you will get a waitress in a poodle skirt either way but get a choice of a loud fun experience inside or a more relaxing one outside.

People fly and drive from all over to visit - there were people in planes (and a helicopter), classic cars, motorcycles, and regular automobiles from all walks of life enjoying this neat little diner.

They are only open for lunch (11-3) but 7 days a week (minus major holidays).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPC451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food nice view”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had been here before a few years ago. They are only open for lunch daily 11-3. We enjoy sitting on the screened in deck and watching the planes take off and land. Good burgers, chicken etc.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FunAggie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent grilled chicken sandwich”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

So you always take a chance when you order a grilled chicken sandwich because so many places overcook it until it's dry and gross. The Southern Flyer grilled the chicken perfectly. The fries were also quite nice and my son loved his cheeseburger. The parking lot was very small but the restaurant isn't that big so I guess it makes sense. There is a screened in porch with tables (each round table seats 4). 2 of the tables were under the roof of the building. The rest had umbrellas that could be used to block the sun. Service was fast and friendly (we arrived just past 11 with a group of 11 people). We stopped after a visit to the Bluebell Creamery so we skipped the milkshakes but I've heard they're wonderful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda77433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Date Place”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a nifty place with good food, but you have to go at the right time. It's a small place so if the Sons of Anarchy show up to eat, you'll be waiting a while. Get a milkshake. You won't regret it.

Helpful?
Thank Yorlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Flyer Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing