We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice!”
Review of Old Sutphen's BBQ

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Old Sutphen's BBQ
Ranked #25 of 35 Restaurants in Borger
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Fredericksburg, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good choice!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We were looking for a locally owned restaurant instead of the usual chains we had seen on our 12-hour trip. We had planned to drive back to Amarillo but we’re glad we didn’t. One of us ordered the BBQ plate and the other the grilled chicken plate. They made a substitution for my husband's plate that was very good. The meals were excellent and very generous! My broccoli was not gray and soggy but crisp and lightly steamed to perfection. Since there was so much food we had to ask for a take-away box that increased the value because we actually had four meals for the price of two. The staff was very professional and the chef came out to chat with us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerrco41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
abq,nm
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“For Texas BBQ I was dissapointed the prices are high for what you get”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

There is no atmosphere the decor needs alot of work, I asked for some tri tip and my server thought it was a fish, no clue

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nmfallguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Best BBQ on earth”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

What else can I say? Unless you're an astronaut and end up on BBQ planet and somehow make your way to the best restaurant there, you want find better than Sutphen's!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Filmcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bad even for Borger, TX”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Brisket was like tough pot roast...sausage was OK...shredded pork was OK...ribs were not meaty at all...fries average...cole slaw was very good...service was OK

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank elkayandboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“It was scary.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

It was pricey with limited selection. I ordered an item off the menu and the waitress asked me "if I was sure that I wanted that item." She proceeded to tell me it looked gross and convinced me to change items. Some other customs in the restaurant were complaining about their food too. The service was slow but extremely friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whiteapple41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Sutphen's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Old Sutphen's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing