We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveler rating
270
31
6
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
31
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waterfall view five sisters zip lining sister resort the river our honeymoon big rock banana bread reef rainforest swimming area mayan ruins organic garden the main lodge nature hike lounge chairs an adventure chef troy
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 309 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

It’s horrible to travel so far and get so excited about your vacation only to be so disappointed.

The ride from the airport to Gaia is about 3 hours. The last hour being uphill up an unpaved and very bumpy road.

Once you arrive you are greeted by the only great thing about Gaia, the staff. Javier and Nigel in particular were lovely and welcoming.

The rooms are pretty but very basic. Which given what they charge is very disappointing. I have paid considerably less for far superior rooms all over the world.

The lack of air conditioning isn't so much of an issue for the heat as it is for the humidity that is trapped in the rooms. The sheets are actually moist and some of the furniture was wet.

Again at this price range this is unacceptable. There is also the issue of the bugs. Lots of bugs of varying sizes and appetites. We were so afraid of attracting bugs that we didn't want to keep the light on at night for any amount of time.

But the biggest problem with Gaia is that there isn’t much to do. You can walk down to the waterfalls and walk around the property but once it gets dark there isn’t anything to do. This is it. You can eat and sit at the bar. And to top it off the food is bland, boring and expensive for Belize. The drinks are watered down and overpriced. For example, they sell the local beer for $7US, the same is sold elsewhere at three for $5US.

Gaia is a rip off. Save your money and go elsewhere.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eecp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matachica, Owner at Gaia Riverlodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

I was disappointed to learn that you didn't enjoy your experience at Gaia Riverlodge. It sounds as though the choice of a rainforest experience itself might not have been suitable for you. Indeed, Gaia is somewhat secluded, nestled on a sixteen acre property set upon a river in the mountains of the Belize Rainforest. As such, the initial effort to reach the property is indeed a bit of an adventure, but for most of our guests, that is the point! We celebrate our location rather than apologize for it.

Gaia is a quiet property surrounded by flowers, birds, butterflies and the subtle sound of the wonderful waterfalls below. We offer an opportunity to escape from life back home and settle in to a temporary home from which you are encouraged to take part in the many activities of the surrounding area.

Horseback riding, mountain biking, caving, canoeing, zip-lining, hiking and Mayan Ruin exploration are just some of the activities that we offer. While not all of these activities are available 'on site', they are accessible from Gaia with our own tour guides and new tour vehicles. We have our own canoes, bikes, land cruisers, van and experienced certified guides to ensure a great guest experience. For access to the onsite waterfalls, we even offer an electric tram in addition to the walking path.

While Gaia can be humid and the rainforest does indeed have insects as part of the habitat, we rarely receive complaints as guests expect those elements on a rainforest adventure.

We draw our energy exclusively from a hydro-electric plant on site supported with a battery back up system. As such air conditioning is not possible. Nor is it necessary as the evening is cool and our in room overhead fans do a fine job.

With respect to your comment on the price of beer, you are simply incorrect. The 7.00 quoted is in fact in BELIZE DOLLARS, and as such is actually 3.50USD for a beer. I would suggest that if you find that overpriced for a beer, you probably chose the wrong hotel.

Again, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us.

Most Sincerely,

Daniel Lighter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Amazing, peaceful location. Good food. The waterfalls are really pretty.
We did the zip lining and the nearby butterfly farm both of which were brilliant.

The place could do with a few more places to sit out, maybe a swing seat or 2 and more seating in the dining/ bar area.

We drove from Belize airport and while it was a nice drive, you could cut it down from 4 hours to 1.30 by flying to Maya flats which takes only half an hour or so and was an amazing experience.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

the hotel meet all my wife's expectations. " hard to do seeing that is shes a hotel manager herself"
we stayed 7 days and not one was unpleasant, the staff set up everything for us from guided trips to driving directions to the coast with the best sight seeing routes(2 hours away). the staff also was very interactive with the guests personally meeting us every night. the grounds are very well maintained and our room on occasion was cleaned twice in one day. some advice if you decide to chose this hotel is to have your own vehicle "to enhance your adventure" and to arrive before sunset, at least on the first day.

very nice, clean and friendly

thank you
Nigel, Silvia, Lucy, Herman and Oswald and all the other staff for the extraordinary visit
the frog lady and the guy who liked to drive

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

It was simply amazing! The gorgeous grounds and the natural surroundings were, well, amazing!! Warm days and perfectly cool nights, waking up to the mist over the falls, the pine forest, and the jungle, it was picturesque! We've been to some of the highest rated resorts in the world and we have never had service this incredible! The entire staff, including Nigel, Lucy, and Oswald went above and beyond everyday to provide our entire family their every request! From bringing snacks and beverages down to us at to the falls, to taking us on each excursion we requested, always accommodating and with a smile! We had a "roll away" for our son and oh-my-goodness, NOT a roll away, it was fit for a king! They educated us on the area, recommended the perfect excursions, and truly cared about making our visit magical! We considered these guys friends by the end of our stay and were so sad to go onto San Pedro, but we vow to return. I have never rated a hotel before today, but the people at Gaia inspired us to give just some of the kindness they showed us, in return, it was the least we could do! Be sure to ask Oswald (Ozzie) about the legend of Sasquatch and tell him his friends from Texas say hello! Go, you won't regret it!

Room tip: We stayed in the waterfall view rooms and it was incredible! The view of the pine forest, the falls, and the jungle along with total privacy, made these rooms a perfect choice for us, but the entire property is spectacular! You do hear the falls, so if you need quiet, this isn't for you, but its simply tranquil at night. The beds (and we're particular!) were some of the most comfortable ever! Go!
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Oh my god ! This place is incredible, first because the view from your room (River View) is incredible. No Windows, no air conditioning, simple life in a luxury room. First feeling when you arrive by the main entrance is incredible, this garden with tropical flowers, make you feel great. Arriving at the lobby, people take care of everything, with a real kindness not only a "sales" service. THey show you the view from the restaurant, I'll let you see by yourself when you will go there !
Rooms are great, decoration is very nice, it is just a room where you want to be the night to ear the birds and the falls. That's will be the only sound you will have in this resort, birds and falls !

We always have to find something not perfect: I believe they should work on the menu and may be have a special. If you stay there for a week, the menu is the same and not incredible. That the point they should change.

We went for a tour at CARACOL Mayas Temple with Elmo. Great guide, great explanation, great day. I recommend you the different tour with Gaia, it is very well organized. We stay 2 Full days but it was not enough, this place need more time, this part of the country id beautiful and people are just unbelievable.

GO GO GO 100%

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MathiasFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews