We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome accommodations & excellent staff!”
Review of Gaia Riverlodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gaia Riverlodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My boyfriend & I did the reef & rainforest package. We stayed 3 nights in the jungle at Gaia & 4 nights at Matachica on Ambergris Caye. Javier made sure that all of our travel & excursion arrangements went very smoothly. Yaser was an excellent waiter. He was very friendly and anticipated any need or request that we may have had before asking. Dining outside on the deck was such a treat. The view is amazing. I cannot say enough great things about our tour guide, Virgil. He took us to the Mayan ruins & had so much historical & cultural information to share with us. He also took us to a cave, a local swimming hole with waterfalls that was off the beaten path as well as zip lining. I would highly recommend zip lining in the jungle. It was a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livestrong44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 264 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I and another couple went here before spending 5 days on a catamaran with belize sailing vacations on the recommendation of Absolute Belize travel agents and we were amazed! From a prompt and easy pickup at the airport we arrived just after sunset and were very impressed with the staff who were friendly and happy and the grounds that were amazing and beautiful. Our cabana (mountain) was amazing and romantic with a place to spend our nights after exploring the Mayan ruins, the rio frio cave, the rio frio, zip-lining, the barton creek cave and the butterfly ranch. Calbert was extremely knowledgable and friendly. Oswald, Javier and the rest of the staff were always fun and delightful to talk to.
The food was great and the packed lunches on the excursions were awesome, and always different, not just sandwiches.

I would highly recommend the Gaia Riverlodge to anyone looking to explore more of Belize.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We drove for an hour and a half on unfinished roads wondering if we had gone the right way. The road was very bumpy, washed out in places and flooded in others. Don't go unless you have a 4x4. At the end of this adventure it is as if you have left the world behind. The grounds just open up and are so inviting, it truly looks like paradise, and as we found later, probably is.

The service was amazing, everyone called us by name. Yasser the bartender is amazing with the cocktails, Sylvia and Lucy could not have been better at serving us our meals. Our room looked like a grass hut from the outside, but inside was pure but simple luxury. We toured the Mayan ruins (a must do!) read books, sat down by the waterfall and took a nap in the hammok that was near the falls.

It is a really beautiful setting, great rooms and outstanding service. My only caution is that when you get there you are there. Not much at all around you, there is another resort next door, but we were there for such a short period of time we did not venture out other than our amazing trip to the ruins.

We loved the Gaia Riverlodge and will most certainly return.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the falls. It made for a very soothing soundtrack
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomad737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Words cannot express how amazing this place is! My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. The staff here is so friendly and extremely helpful. We were welcomed warmly and shown the gorgeous property. Our room was a beautiful thatch covered "hut" with a view of the falls. The food is incredible and the chef will make changes if you request it. We highly recommend asking for Virgil for all your excursions. He contracts out to Gaia Lodge and is very informative, friendly,and humorous as well.

Room Tip: we stayed in "Breeze". Loved the sound of the waterfalls. If you want total silence ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Gaia Lodge for 4 nights during our stay in Belize and enjoyed each day. We rented a car so were able to do a couple excursions on our own each day (1,000 ft. Falls, San Ignacio, Caracol, etc.) The dirt roads were very rough and made travel slow and long but the scenery along the way is stunning and worth it. A couple days we stayed close to the lodge hiking around the river and Big Rock. We stayed in the Sun room and were very pleased with how clean, welcoming and simple the accommodations were. Excellent array of birds, very helpful and friendly staff who gave us great recommendations along the way. Can't say enough about what a peaceful and beautiful place this is.

Room Tip: Sun room is close to the main lodge and trail to the river. Great sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Just left Gaia after my husband and i spent 3 nights. Breathtaking location in the mountains of a nature reserve. We wished we had a rental car but you can get by without if you are only staying 2-3 days. If you do rent, get a 4 wheel drive vehicle ( with insurance). The last hour leading up the mountain is very rocky. We did 1 excursion and it was nice but a little pricey for what it was.

Our room was beautiful, a little hot during the day (ceiling fan) but you didn't spend much time indoors during daylight anyways. There is wifi in the lodge but not in the rooms. No tv anywhere so you really become one with nature and disconnect which you are staying here. Much cooler at night which was a welcome relief after hiking all day. We mostly spent our time down at the waterfall and exploring the grounds (nature trail and big rock falls nearby).

We really enjoyed the food, 5 choices at every meal, also dinner always had a special : a new appetizer and entree to choose from. The staff was very attentive: Oswald and Yassar tool care of us at every meal. We did venture to Coppola's resort 10 minutes down the road, Blancanaeux's italian restaurant was wonderful. Nice change of scenery and They had delicious wine and brick oven pizzas.

Definitely a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ButtonGirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 2 week trip to Belize. We bounced around Belize. We spent 2 days at Gaia because I wanted some time at the waterfalls. However, because of the rain, we were unable to get to the 1000’ falls, we played around the 5 sister falls for 2 days and had a really great time. Gaia lodge was wonderful, the staff was outstanding and the service we received was top notch. It almost felt like we were the only guests they had. The sound of the falls lull you to sleep at night and the breathtaking views during the day are spectacular. We spent hours playing and exploring the falls and never came across another person.

The only drawback was no chairs to sit outside of our room. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkydiverIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
2.1 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
459 reviews
21.7 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
696 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,274 reviews
9.6 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
870 reviews
7.5 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Riverlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Riverlodge

Address: P.O. Box 173, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Price Range: $245 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaia Riverlodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Eco-Lodge is located in the Scenic Mountain Pine Ridge Forest Reserve. We offer earthy yet stylish thatch roofed cabanas with excellent views of our waterfalls or Mountain Range, amazingly comfortable beds, Frette and Matouk linens and towels and bathrooms with hand painted Mexican tiles. Among our amenities are our natural fresh water pools, waterfalls, authentic Belizean cuisine, nature trails, day tours to the many Maya archaeological sites and adventure trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Gaia Riverlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Sisters Hotel San Ignacio
5 Sisters Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing