We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully Unique Place!”
Review of Hidden Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hidden Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 19, 2009

Our stay at Hidden Valley began when we were picked up in Belize City after being on Ambergris Caye. We were picked up by a wonderful tour guide , Lloyd, who gave us tons of history and information on the drive to the resort. When we got there we found out that we had a room that had been recently renovated...it was great!!! The room had high vaulted ceilings, an outdoor room that was screened in with a large hammock and a wonderful rock outdoor shower!- That was a huge bonus! The room also had a fireplace and there was wood beside our door every morning.
We only had two days here to explore the grounds, which is a shame because the other guests there had seen lots of cool wildlife on the trails ( they have an animal sighting book that guests sign where and what animals they spot on the trails). One of the days was spent hiking around and then ended up at Butterfly Falls!WOW..it was like being on a movie set..it was so beautiful. We got to swim in the waterfall, which was freezing, but worth it! The other days were spent doing tours off the grounds--Tikal and Barton Creek canoe trip.
Every meal is on site, which was something i was not used too. It was fun and you really got to know the people staying there. The food was delicious! It was a bit expensive I thought though. I think the breakfast was like 18 dollars.
The people were what make this place wonderful! Beverly, who manages and runs the property, was wonderful and so friendly. EVeryone who worked there was so friendy and bent over backwards to give you want you wanted. Raul was wonderful as both bartender and tour guide!
Great stay

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gracie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 410 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2009

My husband and I visited HVI in early December for 4 nights. We rented a car and drove from the airport, which was absolutely no problem. From the moment we got there we couldn't believe how beautiful the grounds were and how friendly the people were! Our room was clean, comfortable and there was always fresh firewood stacked on the porch.

Meals were delicious, from the incredible granola in the morning and the special hot entrees, to the hiking lunches and wonderful dinners, and it was nice to sit at the bar beforehand, chatting with Raul or Flavian about our day, as well as getting to know the other guests.

We spent most of our time on the property, and hiked or drove around to much of the trails and lookouts. The Cascade Trail was our favorite, followed closely by Butterfly Falls and Mermaid Pool. We were incredibly impressed by how well-maintained the grounds were. We were also lucky enough to spend an afternoon at Secret Falls, rented for us by our family to celebrate our anniversary.

The only complaint that I had was that as we were settling our bill we found charges on there for pickups and dropoffs around the property. Nowhere in their literature our in conversation was it mentioned to us that we would be charged for them to take us out to a trail or bring us back. I believe that that is part of staying at the resort, especially since the resort has 7,200 acres to explore. You need transportation to get from place to place! We expressed our irritation and the charge was stricken from the bill.

All in all, it was a wonderful experience and we highly recommend HVI to anyone who is thinking of staying there.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank clsacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

We stayed at Hidden Valley Inn for 5 nights. There were six in our party and we all loved it. This is the perfect blend of outdoor adventure, exceptional personlized service, and the creature comforts of a first class resort. The individual cabanas with fireplaces kept the room warm on the those breezy nights. Inside the main house, there was attention to every detail. The food was 5 star with every meal and the coffee is the best. I would go back just for the coffee!

The resort property is to die for. You can spend the entire trip hiking the 7,000 + acres - yes - that is correct 7,000+ there too many water falls and swimming holes to name. Crystal clear water. Wildlife abounds and for bird watchers - bring your scopes. Photographers be ready as well.

This would also be an amazing place for a destination wedding.

The bottom line is PERSONALIZED ATTENTION in a very small - relaxed adventure enviroment. If you want to just sit by the pool and do nothing the entire time, go look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SURFnTURFrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2008

My husband and I recently returned from Hidden Valley Inn. We had an exceptional vacation there. We decided to take a private plane (Javiers) from Belize City to the resort which is well-worth it as it is only 1/2 hour away by plane.
The staff were wonderful: courteous, helpful and friendly. The food was good with some local dishes, but not oustanding. They had a full bar service every night where all the visitors to the Inn got together in the evenings before dinner to exchange stories. We met some very nice people staying there!
The hiking trails were outstanding: perfectly natural, not a scrap of garbage and not a human being in sight. We are looking forward to returning to see the new escarpment trail that is being built to bring tourists down to an area that hasn't seen human beings in 1500 years!
Don't miss the cascades trail (through dozens of waterfalls) and be sure to visit Secret Pools and Falls for a special treat and enjoy your packed lunch there.
We needed to use the radios for pickup on our longest hiking trail as we lost track of time and would have returned back in the dark, if they didn't come to pick us up! (very handy to have that service out in the forest)
We also tried out the mountain bikes and canoed in the local lake. The excursion to the Mayan ruins was also fun and educational. (there is a military escort for the last hour due to a problem years ago with some local thugs trying to rob the tourists.. but no problems now)
The room was wonderful and kept very clean. We really enjoyed the fireplace at night.
The only negative (which was expected) was that there are certainly biting blackfly-like bugs. (no mosquitoes). Covering up and some deet does the trick, though.
Visiting the jungle; however, is not for the squeamish who can't handle some not-so-welcome visitors. For instance, a scorpion got into our room that my husband speared with a walking stick (nothing can get under your bed, though). A couple guests said they also saw a viper on one of their hiking trails, but we didn't see any snakes at all. Common sense... staying out of these critters way is a good idea. I did get a few bites from some fire ants.. unpleasant, but they didn't leave any lasting welts.
The HVI certainly exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be back in the future, hopefully with friends to enjoy the pristine jungle & forest areas again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank paulandtoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We, 2 couples, spent 15-18 July 2008 at this wonderful mountain lodge in Belize. Elmer confirmed our airport pickup prior to our departure and we were met on time by Rick the Inn's guide. After about a 2.5 hour ride we received a gracious welcome by Elmer who greeted us by name, gave us cold moist towels and iced lemon grass tea for refreshment. Elmer explained the workings of the Inn and then we were escorted to our beautiful cottage which was spacious, comfortable and attractively furnished. During our stay we toured the Mayan Ruins at Caracol, canoed through caves with Mayan artifacts, swam in a natural pool by Hidden Valley Falls and spotted an orange breasted Falcon at King Vulture Falls. All of these excursions were led by Rick who is exceptionally knowledgeable and the most congenial of guides. We spent most of four days with Rick and he's the best! Meals and service at the Inn were great. The dining room was elegant, but not pretentious. The Inn grows and serves its own organic coffee which is marvelous. We also enjoyed gathering in the bar area before dinner to share our day's experiences with fellow travelers. Bruce the bartender took very good care of us. The Inn is ably managed by Beverly and Flavion Daguise. Their attention to detail is obvious and noteworthy as is the warm hospitality that every guest feels during their stay. Our principal reason for our travel to Belize was a sailing charter out of Placencia. Although we had a good week at sea, our most memorable experience in Belize was our stay at and excursions from the Hidden Valley Inn. We recommend it most highly and we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fairfax_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We came to this place after being recommended by Seaside Cabanas on Caye Caulker where we had stayed on the first week of our time in Belize. We were not disappointed. The place is stunning, staff are wonderful.
Remote waterfalls and great food, make this a must stay when you are thinking of a jungle stay in Belize.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JWalk2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

We stayed at Hidden Valley as a two part vacation with the first 4 nights here and the second four at San Pedro. The Resort, Staff, & Food are excellent! We would highly recommend taking the time to stay with Hidden Valley. All of the waterfalls on the property are gorgeous, and when we were hiking we felt as though we were the only ones there.

We did the Tekal tour in Guatemala but from what I hear you can enjoy Characol just as much without the extra two hours each way in a car. But it was an adventure to cross into Guatemala and get some of the traditional Guatemalan beer. We also did the cave canoe trip and butterfly farm package. Both were interesting. They have so many trails with wildlife that is was just a great time. They helped us schedule a hike and picked us up and dropped us off so that we could see as much of the property in the time we had. We spent some time in the Devil's fall top pool which was great with the ladder access.

The room and dinners were great. We didn't have a bad meal the whole time. Highly recommend and would return here in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pmulliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
16 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
660 reviews
14.2 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
851 reviews
3.7 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,244 reviews
5.7 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
248 reviews
11.9 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Inn

Address: 4 Miles Cooma Cairn Road, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Price Range: $210 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hidden Valley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Valley Inn, a Luxury Life Style Boutique Hotel with only 12 rooms, is located on a 7200 acres private reserve in the Mountain Pine Ridge, Cayo District in Belize. This intimate eco resort offers quality accommodation, fine gourmet food and attentive service in a natural environment. The flora, wildlife and bird watching here are truly unique in the region. Guests staying at this Intimate Luxury Boutique Hotel enjoy exclusive access to over 90 miles of hiking and mountain biking trails as well as many secluded Crystal Pools and Waterfalls set in a tropical rainforest. For those seeking romance, one of the waterfalls may be reserved exclusively for the day.Situated in the Maya mountains, also serves as a convenient base for visiting the various scenic and historical attractions of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hidden Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Hotel San Ignacio
Hidden Valley San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing