We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”
Review of Hidden Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hidden Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I came here for part of our honeymoon and stayed in one of the two suites March 2-6. This resort was perfect for us because it was the perfect mixture of peace and tranquility mixed in with adventure (ie tours). Our suite could be connected to the adjoining suite to make it one giant living area (2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, etc). Luckily, the couple next to us left the second day that we were there. I highly recommend the suite because you get a wonderfully comfortable hammock that hangs in a screened porch that looks out at the trees and birds. There is also a large tub that can fit two people and an outdoor shower that looks like a waterfall. I loved the tub! The suite is also towards the back, so there is no foot traffic in and around it. We had daily maid service as well as nightly turn down service.

The staff were extremely courteous and polite and always referred to us as "Mr. Such and Such" or "Mrs. Such and Such." HVI also has high tea, which was fabulous because I am a tea drinker! The food was phenomenal, especially breakfast (they juice just about every fruit)! When you sit down at a table to eat, your "waitress" brings you a menu and ALWAYS says "excuse me" whenever she hands you anything or removes anything from the table.

We toured Caracol and Barton Creek Caves and our tour guides were excellent. They were engaging, knowledgeable, and friendly. I highly recommend going on the tours that HVI offers because it allows you to learn more about Belize by learning about their culture and seeing their landscape as you drive past it.

We also rented our own private waterfall for the afternoon. If you are honeymooners or a couple, do it and you will not regret it. You can either do the 2 hour hike out to the falls or get taken their in a truck. We hiked out, which made the cool dip feel so refreshing when we finally got there. HVI staff set up a picnic with champagne and you can stay down there as long as you like because they give you a walky talky to use to call for a ride on. There is also a hammock at the falls and we took a nap in it.

The only negatives were the no see um flies and hot tub. You can't see those flies so we had to stay bathed in bug spray. The hot tub was not working too, so that was a disappointment. But overall, if you're looking for a good mixture of relaxation/ adventure...go to HVI! We would do it all over again in a minute.

Room Tip: If you enjoy being outside and the outdoors, then splurge on a suite. You'll have a beautiful s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mecooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 410 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

We spent four wonderful nights at this property, set in the middle of the Pine Ridge preservation area. The rooms are good, the food good & the staff so attentive, caring and friendly. It was like being a special guest in someone's home. There are 90 mile of trails to walk or drive & excellent guides for wildlife watching. You are given a two way radio when you go out on a trek so feel utterly safe in spite of the very remote situation of the Inn. All the tracks are well marked, so it would be difficult to get lost. There is a swimming pool on site. The gardens are wonderful & full of birds to watch. It really is a little piece of heaven in a wonderful country.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham_hyland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

As a Belizean living abroad it is always a pleasure to go home and enjoy the amazing beauty Belize has to offer. We spent three days at this resort, I was in love with the cottages and all the luxury to be had in the middle of the pine ridge. Our staff was wonderful and all the service we received was above and beyond. Hiking the falls was awesome, but just sitting in a hammock on our porch was equally as relaxing. Lets not forget the outdoor shower, and stars that shine so bright you want to just keep looking up all night. Thanks to Misael at the front desk and Andy our waiter for your amazing service. If you really want to enjoy Belize and a wonderful inn own and operated by Belizeans I suggest you try Hidden Valley Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatalinaH4407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights/days in January 2014 and I must say that I was thoroughly satisfied with every aspect of the resort. Fabulous cottages right up to the outdoor waterfall shower. Total luxury. Clean rooms. Outstanding food. Excellent service. Very polite staff who went above and beyond the call of duty to help us in any way. Loved it! Special kudos to Mihael who even emailed home to let them know I was okay when my hotmail account would not let me access the Internet.

Room Tip: Go for the additional expense and get the one with it all! Cottage #8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winterrelief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

They pamper you with their fresh flowers on bed, linen tablecloths and napkins. We stayed at Hidden Valley with a birding group and got to see lots of squirrel cuckoos, tropical kingbirds, green jays, acorn woodpeckers, orioles and a shy ferruginous pygmy owl on the hotel grounds. And there is a wonderful guide by the name of Rick.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Welcoming staff. Ella, our waitress was pleasant, helpful, courteous...made us feel like we mattered/were special. Misael at the desk helped us with contacting our families; good at answering our questions and helping to teach us tend our fireplace. Tito was friendly and helpful at the bar. Fabulous accommodation (estate suite). Waterfalls shower was spectacular. Room was clean and had everything we could want. Superior food. Something for everyone on the menu. Stayed three nights but should have stayed longer to hike the trails. We were visiting Xuanantunich, Cahal Pech and Caracol so didn't have that much time actually on the property. A real treat! Thank you for the fabulous memories! Even though it was rainy, we had a great time here and hated to move on. Liked this lodge more than our new condo on Ambergris Caye!

Room Tip: Go the extra and get an estate suite. The waterfalls shower was spectacular, even in the rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank explorer1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

there is no doubt that this lodge is exellent,the facilities good, the staff helpfull and friendly (1st name termes immeadiatly). the food is good if expensive and the setting is fantastic. people couldn't do enough to help.
However the downside is the number of bitting insects that await you. There is a particular small black bug that is particularly visious. The staff refer to them as "noseeums". After 3 days I stoped counting my bites when i got to 100. I am still iching after 3 weeks. IF YOU REACT BADLY TO BITES DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE. otherwise it's great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
16 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
660 reviews
14.2 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
851 reviews
3.7 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,244 reviews
5.7 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
248 reviews
11.9 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Inn

Address: 4 Miles Cooma Cairn Road, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Price Range: $210 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hidden Valley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Valley Inn, a Luxury Life Style Boutique Hotel with only 12 rooms, is located on a 7200 acres private reserve in the Mountain Pine Ridge, Cayo District in Belize. This intimate eco resort offers quality accommodation, fine gourmet food and attentive service in a natural environment. The flora, wildlife and bird watching here are truly unique in the region. Guests staying at this Intimate Luxury Boutique Hotel enjoy exclusive access to over 90 miles of hiking and mountain biking trails as well as many secluded Crystal Pools and Waterfalls set in a tropical rainforest. For those seeking romance, one of the waterfalls may be reserved exclusively for the day.Situated in the Maya mountains, also serves as a convenient base for visiting the various scenic and historical attractions of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hidden Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Hotel San Ignacio
Hidden Valley San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing