We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we've ever stayed in”
Review of Hidden Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hidden Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best hotel we've ever stayed in”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We loved our stay at Hidden Valley Inn and were able to achieve our goal while traveling in Belize: experience the adventure of the jungle and spend plenty of time relaxing. The inn's location is far from the Belize airport, and we chose to take a cab from the airport. The ride was about 2 hours, and we wished we would have booked transportation through the hotel instead (The hotel has vans that are better equipped to handle the unpaved roads vs. the smaller cabs which have to drive very slowly. They're the same price, either one you choose). We were greeted by the staff and given a tour of the main lodge of the inn where the dining room, bar, and pool were located. Our room was clean and spacious. Though the inn doesn't have air conditioning, the ceiling fan and breeze were more than adequate for us. Because we had chosen not to rent a car, we spent all of our evenings at the inn and had our dinners and drinks there. The inn is in a secluded area, so we bonded with the other travelers and staff and shared our experiences of the day/ tour recommendations. The food was prepared on site, often with ingredients grown on the property. We were very satisfied with the meal selections. During the day, we booked tours through Hidden Valley which were affordable and came equipped with your own tour guide. We chose to do ziplining at Calico Jack's. Our driver, William, joined us for the experience, which made it even better. He took photos for us and provided us with information about Belize during the drive and at Calico Jack's. We also did the tour of Rio Frio Cave/Caracol/Rio on Pools with Freddie, which was excellent. Freddie is a very experienced tour guide and was knowledgeable about the history and wildlife of Belize. He spotted a toucan high in a random tree while driving down the road and stopped to give us binoculars so we could also see it. He was able to answer all of our questions. Both of the tours were comprehensive and affordable. I felt like we accomplished a lot in the days without getting to the point of exhaustion. Lastly, the grounds themselves deserve some time for touring. The inn has a countless amount of trails leading to waterfalls, natural pools, and other scenic sites. They give you a 2 way radio to take with you in case you get lost or need help, but the trails are well-labeled. You need to be in pretty good physical shape to take on many of these trails, but the staff lets you know how difficult they are. Our favorite part about this hotel was the opportunity to talk with the other travelers in the lodge and interact with the staff. Everyone who works there is so friendly and accomodating.They will create the perfect experience for you, as they did for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny and Jorge H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    39
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
228
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

First I'll say that the location of this hotel is beautiful. The butterfly falls alone are worth it to stay here! It's an amazing, secluded waterfall on the grounds that can be hiked to for a nice cool swim. The hiking trails and stunning mountain views were great and the staff was overly friendly (almost a little awkward for us since we're not used to being waiting on hand and foot) I'd say this place would be deserving of an excellent rating if it weren't for one thing... all of the "extras." First, if you don't have a car you'll need to arrange a shuttle with the hotel for around $70 as it is about an hours drive from San Ignacio. Also if you don't have a car you'll have to eat at the hotel since there is nothing else around. Prices for the meals range from $10 (cheapest breakfast option) to $45 (4 course dinner) per person. They serve High Tea from 3-6pm where there are a few snacks if you don't want to spend money for lunch. So this place is great to stay... for a night or two as the cost of meals, drinks, and transportation can really add up!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Napoleonjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We just returned from a 5-day stay at Hidden Valley Inn.....it was our honeymoon!! We LOVED our time at Hidden Valley Inn. Everything exceeded our expectations and we highly recommend this resort to any travelers. The staff (Rose, Miseal, William [Bill], Stacy, Pamela, Freddie, Rick, Miguel, Rudy) were attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. You can tell they really want you to enjoy your stay. All the little touches were wonderful. = ) We definitely plan to return one day. THANK YOU!!

Room Tip: Cottage #8 is AMAZING!!! We had it for our honeymoon suite. Request an extra floor fan for comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler4Lyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Hidden Valley Inn last March, and we would have to rate it as the most special vacation we have spent together to date. We have travelled fairly extensively in the Caribbean, and this was not our first visit to Belize. The gentleman who met us at the airport was great. Our luggage having been delayed, he took us shopping for some essentials in Belize City, which was an interesting excursion in itself. Then off for the 2 hours drive to Hidden Valley, through scenic central Belize and then up into the highlands. The staff at Hidden Valley were exceptionally helpful, always willing to answer questions and make suggestions. They were very flexible in terms of customizing whatever we asked for. We had all our meals on site. The food was excellent and creative (OK – so the steak was mediocre one night), and it was obvious that a great deal of personal care was put into service generally. We drank a lot of lemon grass tea – in fact, took the recipe and started boiling up our own version at home. We went zip-lining at a nearby (1/2 hour drive) facility, and visited a local butterfly farm. Apart from that, we did not leave the resort area or go on any tours. I would however recommend the tours if you have not been to Belize or seen Mayan ruins before.
My wife said that the pedicure was the best she had ever had, due largely to the extent and quality of personal attention. Very often spas and other ancilliary services at hotels and resorts are tacked on as relatively low quality money spinners – not in this case. We did some personalized pilates and yoga stretching classes, and the visiting instructor was very good – you can tell when someone is adjusting exercises to an individual’s capacity.
We ran, walked, biked and canoed for several days, and really did not see any one else except on the service roads. Felt perfectly safe. You do have to be prepared to interact with nature. In many cases, you are walking through the forest, over and around logs and trees etc. The forest trails are obviously designed to be as minimally invasive and as eco-friendly as possible – which means a somewhat reduced comfort level. Not being professional hikers, we used sticks for support on the steeper trails. We used Off as a standard insect repellent – no problems noted. We were not really looking for wildlife, but we did spot a river-otter that splashed off the path next to a stream and swam away as we approached. Similarly, we were not bird watching, but there were numerous birds to hear and see, and the serious bird-watchers at the lodge seemed quite happy. The views were exceptional, for example of Vulture Falls. We did rent Secret Falls for the day, and the experience was well worth it (did I say “amazing”?). The pine trees are in recovery mode from the beetle infestation about 10-12 years ago – I can only imagine how they looked in full growth. The resort area has two main eco-systems – tropical pine forest, and tropical rain forest, so there is a lot of variation in vegetation and wildlife.
Great fun lighting the fire in the room at night – not something we get to do regularly. Not air conditioned, but the temperature was fine for us. Little or no light pollution, so the star views at night were dramatic, as expected. No problems noted with internet or phone access. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Amenities reasonable for the price point, especially given that you are a long way from urban areas and you are trying to minimize ecological impact. I think also that some or all of the profits are used to maintain the nature preserve. All in all, would highly recommend this for couples, particularly if you are reasonably active and looking for an opportunity to relax and reconnect in a quiet, natural environment. Probably not bad for families as well, if you are bringing the kids to see nature.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyleR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is amazing. The customer service is the best I have ever experienced at a hotel. Every staff member comes up and introduces themselves and they remember your names for the whole visit. The attention to details is fantastic. The cottages are clean, airy, & lovely and the fresh flowers in the room and in the main lodge are such a nice touch. The property is stunning. 900 miles of hiking trails- The hike to Butterfly Falls is strenuous but so worth it! We had the gorgeous falls all to ourselves and went swimming in the ice cold water- one of the most amazing things we've ever done. The hiking trails are perfectly maintained (which is amazing with the amount of property they have!) and there are so many things to see! The pool area is quiet and beautiful (although the hot tub was barely warm).
The staff was just spectacular! Rick was our driver and he was fantastic! He gave us a wonderful tour and lesson on Belize on the ride to the hotel- what a wonderful, kind, and fun person he was! Tito was our dear bartender and he did such a great job with always using our names and remembering which drinks we liked. Keedan (I think this was his name) was also very kind and friendly. And thanks to Marvin, for waking up extra early to have coffee ready for us and breakfast made since we were leaving for a very early tour to Tikal. Truly a 5 star staff.
A few things to know before you go.....
*Food is outrageously priced at this place. Around $45 per person for dinner unless you ask for the main course only, which is still $24! Breakfast and lunch were $20 per person (and the breakfast spread was pretty much what you get for free at other hotels). You are isolated out in nature and you really feel like the owners are taking advantage of you with these crazy prices. Dinner was very delicious though!
*Tours are VERY overpriced for this hotel. Look into BZM tours (Belize Magnificant Tours). Albert was the most amazing tour guide...we went to Tikal with their tour. They charge about $100 less than the hotel per person and pick you up right at the hotel, so you will save lots of money and also support a local business/guide. I highly recommend looking into them for your tours rather than the hotel, who really seems to take advantage of your isolation with the dinner & tour pricing.

Overall- I would gladly return for their gorgeous property and warm, welcoming staff who provided top notch customer service!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sidra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I came to Hidden Valley Inn for a fun vacation with my brother and sister-in-law and our expectations were far exceeded!

Hidden Valley is located in the Mountain Pine Ridge area on a 7000+ acre private reserve, and every square inch is stunningly beautiful (the online photos just don't do any of it justice). There is roughly a three hour car ride from the airport to the resort but with the fantastic and knowledgable guides (and when I say "knowledgable", I mean they know everything about anything to do with Belize as they take their jobs as guides very seriously), it barely feels like 20 minutes.

You are greeted at the resort to hand massages and lemongrass juice, followed by a tour, and then shown to your room where someone has already brought your bags.

The rooms are clean, screened-in for protection from bugs, and beautifully decorated. However, we didn't spend much time in our rooms as we spent most of our time outdoors hiking on one of their many trails, swimming in the waterfalls, doing the yoga class that was offered by the guest instructor, going on a local excursion (horseback riding at the Mountain Equestrian Trails farm, snapping photos as butterflies landed on us at the butterfly farm, cave touring, eating a traditional Mayan lunch with a Mayan family, visiting Caracol, the Mayan ruins, etc.), hanging out at the pool, or eating the delicious food (seriously, we didn't eat one bad meal) that the resort offers. I read another review where someone complained about the cost of the food, but we have steak houses here in Cincinnati that are more expensive and aren't as good as what we ate at Hidden Valley ($70 a day evens out to about $17.50 per meal if you count the "high tea" portion of the day that they offer in the afternoon (tea/on-site-grown-coffee and snacks between lunch and dinner) and in my opinion, that's cheap!). I also received a deep tissue massage one day while there, and it was phenomenal! They have a great list of massages to choose from at their spa, as well as mani/pedis and facials.

The staff treats you like family and does everything they can to make you feel at home. I've gotten good service at hotels and resorts on previous vacations, but the staff at Hidden Valley actually care about whether or not you're comfortable and having a good time and a good stay while there.

This was the best vacation, by far, that we have been on, and we will definitely be returning to Belize to stay at Hidden Valley!! Highly recommend them!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaleighAnne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

First of all let me say this is a lovely venue, and the quality of the rooms and spa products in the bathrooms are of 5 star quality rather than their alloted 3 star rating. Its also very reasonably priced. You arrive to lemongrass iced tea and handmassages. You're acquainted with the property by the manager. Dinner is served by the pool at night. The staff are friendly and gracious and remember you by name, which is a personal and caring touch. The coffee is grown on the property, as are many of the ingredients used in the dining room. The chef also uses lots of ingredients from local markets and the local mennonite farms.

We were on our honeymoon and our bedroom was covered in beautiful arrangements of melon & peach coloured hibiscus flowers. Complimentary afternoon tea is served everyday between 3pm and 6pm. I was enchanted.

However, there is something that doesn't sit right. You can't shake the feeling that you're being taken for a ride when it comes to the extras on the bill and it leaves a bit of a sour taste in the mouth. Which is a shame.

The food is just too expensive for what you expect to pay at a three star venue. It is very nice food and I am very supportive of how it is grown and the efforts put into how it is prepared. The chef visits the guests during the evening and that is a very nice touch as you dine poolside by the light of a kerosene lantern. But even given the remote location, it should not be cheaper to eat here in London at a Gordon Ramsay restaurant, than at a three star hotel in a Central American country. And I'm afraid that it is pretty comparable in price. And as you are so far from any other towns or villages, the inn is the only option, so you feel a bit held to ransom. Even if you go with a car, be aware that it will take some time to get to the nearest town.

The excursions are obviously going to cost above the odds, given the remote location of the hotel, but they are just ridiculously expensive. Just to engage in local activites and see local archaeological sites. We just laughed when they quoted us the prices of 270 USD pp to see a local ruin.

Don't get me wrong - it was a wonderful experience in many ways, but there should be a mechanism for warning guests that they will need to budget 70 USD per person per day for food. Not what you expect in a Central American country. We were spending far less at our five star hotel in Belize, also in a remote location, the following week.

On the plus side, the yoga classes are a nice touch and are very good value at 15 USD per class. There are a number of platforms on the property where you can do yoga and mats are provided by the hotel, so you can go solo and do some yoga without lugging along your yoga mat. Also, the hotel provides you with two way radios, so you feel secure as you hike throughout the immense property and numerous trails. Budget in some 'taxi' money if you get exhausted at the end of the walk and need to request a pick up. Its 10 USD pp, which is okay if you're at the far end of the property and it saves a couple of hours walk back!

We stayed for four nights and saw very little wildlife during our stay, so if you're after seeing lots of wildlife, you might be better off spending a little time at the Jungle Lodge in Tikal where toucans, spider monkeys, howler monkeys, etc run riot!

Oh yeah, and take bug repellent. Lots of it. I looked like I had chicken pox by the time I left, I was so covered in bites.

Don't rule Hidden Valley Inn out, because you'll sleep like a baby, love the yoga and eat like you know you should. Just...pad your wallet a bit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrsHarris3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
3.7 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
427 reviews
16.0 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
614 reviews
14.2 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
243 reviews
11.9 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
624 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Inn

Property: Hidden Valley Inn
Address: 4 Miles Cooma Cairn Road, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hidden Valley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Valley Inn, a Luxury Life Style Boutique Hotel with only 12 rooms, is located on a 7200 acres private reserve in the Mountain Pine Ridge, Cayo District in Belize. This intimate eco resort offers quality accommodation, fine gourmet food and attentive service in a natural environment. The flora, wildlife and bird watching here are truly unique in the region. Guests staying at this Intimate Luxury Boutique Hotel enjoy exclusive access to over 90 miles of hiking and mountain biking trails as well as many secluded Crystal Pools and Waterfalls set in a tropical rainforest. For those seeking romance, one of the waterfalls may be reserved exclusively for the day.Situated in the Maya mountains, also serves as a convenient base for visiting the various scenic and historical attractions of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hidden Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Hotel San Ignacio
Hidden Valley San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing